We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”
Review of Sivila Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sivila Hotel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a nice hotel, the rooms a re comfortable and clean, most of the staff are friendly and very helpful. Air conditioning is extra and I was charged 70 euros for the ten days I was there. I did not rate the hotel bar very highly, the barman in my opinion was rude and lazy and spent much to much time making cocktails for the younger girls, one day he would stick by the hotel rules the next he would ignore them, so you may find that you need to go to the bar several times to get a round, as it is only one drink per person There is not a lot in the immediate area but about 20 minutes walk away along the beach is a small beach bar (it is just known as the canteen on the beach) and the beaches by it are used by the locals, so it gives a nice holiday feel and you don't feel you're in a resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Popi Z, Manager at Sivila Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Mr. mick G,

Thank you for your time and effort to write this review for our hotel and we deeply appreciate your good comments!

We apologize for any non-professionalism actions coming from our stuff, we investigate the behavior of our employees and our policy is hospitality, politeness and personal services for every visitor of our property.

We hope that you will visit our property again and you will find us even more improved and efficient!

Kind Regards,
The Sivila All-Inclusive Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Having just come back from a ten day stay at the Sivila, I can happily say i had a good experience. Arrived in the middle of the night and the night staff gave my partner and I a sandwich each and we where given the information about the hotel (times for breakfast, lunch etc.). Taken to our room and I was happy with the cleanliness, the size of the bed and please to see a good sized balcony. Air conditioning is not part of the all inclusive deal and we paid 70 euro's for the 10 days (which was needed). It is a ten minute walk to the beach and not built up yet, which I like. A short bus ride in falaraki if you needed a more lively time. I suggest you hire a car and discover the whole island, Lindos is picturesque and we also visited the most southern tip of the island where the Med meets the Aegean sea. The staff at the Sivila are all helpful and friendly.Pool was clean,drinks are not readily available, Ouzo and brandy only served after 6pm. Beer and wine on tap all day. I have come back relaxed and would happily return to the Sivila, I also enjoyed the food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank EmandM365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 19-26 July 2014 and had a fab holiday. We booked 6 weeks ago but only paid £350 each (flight and all inclusive) so did wonder what we would find!!

We arrived at 8am to find a very modern reception, with very friendly staff, we had our room keys within 5 minutes and dropped bags before heading for breakfast in an equally attractive dinning room.

We found the pool clean, as was the surrounding area and although we always found a sun bed, I think the pool could easily find room for a few more.

We found our room a great base for the week, it was cleaned and changed regularly. We did pay 42€ for air con (we knew this was to be paid locally so not a problem) and it was a must as very hot.

The food was great, breakfast was a mixture of continental and hot, lunch was salads and a choice of hot and the evening meal was always a choice of meat, fish and vegetarian plus veg or salad

There were not unlimited snacks but this was fine for us, we had 3 good meals a day ( no limit on how much you had) so I would call it "full board with drinks"

The staff were always friendly and helpful, the hotel is 10 min walk to beach. We walked to Kolumpia but it took a while, so recommend 5€ taxi, we went to Falariki one night €12 and took the bus to the water park. We also caught the local bus to Rhodes Town for €2 each which was great.

The hotel could benefit by putting a mini bus service on to allow guests to visit Kolumpia or Afandou a couple of times a day.

I think this hotel more than met it's obligation and provided us with a great holiday with lots of lovely memories

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
8  Thank mandapandafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very good hotel The staff very polite and always with a smileThe food is lovely and fresh, delicious and enoughI do not understand why they write bad reviews. If you want something rather more than that offered by the hotel we went to a 4 or 5 * Obviously these people that make negative comments about the hotel went with him purpose. They disturb everything except the air we breathe.If want cheap holidays should expect the corresponding services. Well so do not consider useful comments because their evil sounds 10 times more of everything good!SIVYLLA staff did everything to keep us happy Nick Alexandra Spyros Litsa George was amazing helpful and always with good mood.I recommend this hotel if you want to spend nice and remember forever Greece.Thank hotel n all the good staff who gave us an unforgettable holiday in GREECE.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank roar t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel needs closing down. The rooms are inadequate, the bathrooms dirty. The food is disgusting and INEDIBLE. Do not go here, be warned.It was suppose to be all inclusive but wasn't. Had to pay extra for air con as which should have been free. This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The staff were also very rude.

Room Tip: No tips. After chatting with other residents all rooms seemed to be as poor as one another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank callie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Popi Z, General Manager at Sivila Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Mr./Ms. Callie13,

Thank you for your time to write this review.

Regarding the food: our cuisine is composed of Greek traditional recipies. It has come to our attention that not all the visitors prefer the Greek food. That is a mostly a matter of taste and we do consider your opinion in order to change some of the dishes we serve but this cannot happen in a moment.

Regarding your dissatisfaction with our “All-Iclusive Rate Plan”: It is clear at every contract/terms of use/amenities at every online tour operator and travel agency where is the location of the hotel and what every rate plan provides.

Finally let us mention that our hospitality and personnel’s behavior are one of our strong aspects (as anyone can find out, even from the very negative comments), it surprise us that you are one from the 2-3 visitors that found someone rude and we take complains like this very seriously. We’ll investigate more on our personnel’s behavior to our visitors and figure out who gets out of the line.

We apologize for all the bad experience you got, we’ll honestly try to improve our services in the near future.

Best Regards,
The Sivila All-Inclusive Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here from 1st - 8th July on what was supposed to be our honeymoon! It was the worst hotel experience we have ever had. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere - literally a good 35 minute walk to the nearest town. The beach is a 10 minute walk from the hotel, but there is nothing around - no beach bar, no toilets, nothing.
We paid for an ALL INCLUSIVE holiday here which was supposed to include a DOUBLE room - we got a twin room with two single beds that you couldn't even push together because they had a frame around the base so the beds had a big gap between them (romantic!).
We had to pay 49 euros for air con (which on the website, under 'rooms' says it's "available free of charge") and when I enquired at reception about this, the man just said "no, not our fault!".
The FOOD was vile - hence why we spent the total amount of the holiday again on taxis and meals out to escape the hotel! Everyone we spoke to there had the same views and 3 couples we saw there ended up going to reception to order take away (incl. ourselves) as the food was shockingly bad. As well as eating with stray cats under the table! The breakfast was always cold, the food was recycled from the day before and turned into other awful meals, nothing was labelled so you always had to ask what something was and the choice was very poor.
The DRINKS were poor and the cups weren't even washed properly - lipstick marks around the cups, muck in the bottom of the cups, finger prints all over them.
You have to pay for EVERYTHING - if you want some water (that's not from a tap) you have to pay at reception. If you want a snack because the food is so bad - you have to pay at reception over the odds. There was a Mini-Market in the hotel which you have to figure out for yourself as no one bothered to tell us, however - if you want something from here: it's locked, so you have to go to reception to get someone to open it and then they will stand there and watch you while you choose what you'd like, then take you back to reception to pay for it. If you want to use the w-fi, you can but only in the lobby and it doesn't work very well and if you want it in your room - you have to pay (surprise surprise!). The computers in the reception are also painfully slow.
We ended up sharing taxi's with a couple we met there to get out of the hotel to some kind of town/village where there was more humans than stray dogs/cats. We even looked into paying for another hotel after the first day just to go somewhere that genuinely was a three star, but it turned out to be too expensive - so we were stuck there and had to make the most of a VERY bad situation.
The ROOM was extremely basic and it was clean. However, the shower was grotty and the water ran cold after 5 minutes.
The STAFF were really nice and helpful, so I cannot fault them.
The ENTERTAINMENT was non-existent! The staff said they cannot get anyone to do it!!! There wasn't one single act, there was no music by the pool and if there was - it was in the bar, in Greek and very quiet.
The POOL was clean and there were plenty of sunbeds so that was good.

OVERALL, we were absolutely heartbroken to realise that the holiday we had saved up for as a honeymoon was the worst holiday we have ever had. We wanted to fly back home on our first day at this hotel, until we faced facts that if we wanted to make the most of the holiday - we would need to go out to Rhodes, Faliraki and Afandou every day for some civilisation and edible food!

WORD OF ADVISE: if you have children - do not come here, there is literally NOTHING for them to do.

Room Tip: If you stay here - do NOT book all inclusive (because it isn't!) you may as well book B&B, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Kayt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Popi Z, General Manager at Sivila Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Ms. Kayt C,

Thank you for your time to make this review.

It is clear at every contract/terms of use/amenities at every online tour operator and travel agency where is the location of the hotel and what every rate plan provides.

The extra cost for the air conditioning is clearly written at your contract with your travel agent. Visitors who had booked from online tour operators have free air-conditioning because they have paid different price for the room. So we’re not responsible for the financial arrangement you’ve made with your travel agent.

Regarding the food: our cuisine is composed of Greek traditional recipies. It has come to our attention that not all the visitors prefer the Greek food. That is a mostly a matter of taste and we do consider your opinion in order to change some of the dishes we serve but this cannot happen in a moment.

Regarding the location: The hotel’s location is preferred for visitors who want a quiet, non-crowded environment and plan to rent a car/moto to make exhibitions around Rhodes Island.

Regarding the hot water: The hotel use solar panels to have affordable and constant supply of hot water. The lack of hot water at certain times were many visitors use the bathroom is possible even at a 5-star hotel. In such case the solar panels automatically replenish the hot water after 5-10 minutes maximum. We are certain that there is hot water accessible to anyone at any time and at worst case a few minutes patience are enough to have hot water again.

Thank you for highlighting the problems with our property. We do want to improve but there are limits that come from the fully booked season we faced and didn’t expect. Thank you for your appreciation and kind words on our stuff, pool and that you liked our rooms and cleaning service.

We apologize for all the bad experience you’ve got, we’ll honestly try to improve our entertainment facilities and our services in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Sivila All-Inclusive Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Where to start with this holiday...transfers said it would be 60mins it was 2 and a half hours!!! We arrived at the hotel had to pay for air conditioning 49euros, staff were rude, don'the get me started with the food..I mean not a complainer but I didn't eat for 3 days because the food was over cooked soggy and was cooked hours before actaully being served breakfast,lunch and dinner, meals time were dictated and there was absolutely no snacks available at all .very noisy at night...It in the middle of nowhere!!!!!! Takes 30 mins to walk to afandou, taxis are cheap enough which was a good thing..It wasn't value for money at all..I understand it was a 3 star hotel but it really was disgraceful. .I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay in this hotel it has nothing for children and entertainment in general is none existent..its classed as all inclusive but there is very little included it's like fat camp/prison

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank razmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Popi Z, General Manager at Sivila Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Mr./Ms. Razm,

Thank you for your time you’ve devoted on this review.

We apologize for your inconvenience, all transportations in Rhodes during the summer season are very possible to get jammed in traffic.

The extra cost for the air conditioning is clearly written at your contract with your travel agent. Visitors who had booked from online tour operators have free air-conditioning because they have paid different price for the room. So we’re not responsible for the financial arrangement you’ve made with your travel agent.

Regarding the food: our cuisine is composed of Greek traditional recipies. It has come to our attention that not all the visitors prefer the Greek food. That is a mostly a matter of taste and we do consider your opinion in order to change some of the dishes we serve but this cannot happen in a moment.

Also most hotels serve breakfast, dinner & supper in specific times. We also have a mini market if any visitor want a snack between the meals.

Regarding the location: The hotel’s location is preferred for visitors who want a quiet, non-crowded environment and plan to rent a car/moto to make exhibitions around Rhodes Island.

Best Regards,
The Sivila All-Inclusive Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
8.6 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#17 of 20 in Kallithea
706 reviews
9.7 mi away
Rhodian Sun Hotel
Rhodian Sun Hotel
#1 of 2 in Paradisi
350 reviews
8.9 mi away
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#5 of 5 in Koskinou
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Margaret Studios
Margaret Studios
#7 of 7 in Kremasti
124 reviews
2.2 mi away
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
#11 of 34 in Kolimbia
812 reviews
10.0 mi away
Summer Dream Hotel
Summer Dream Hotel
#9 of 9 in Tholos
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sivila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sivila Hotel

Address: Afandou Beach, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Afandou
Price Range: £29 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sivila Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers a total of 55 comfortable rooms, which can accommodate between 2 and 4 people (depending on the type of room booked). Fridges are available on request (with a local charge) and all the rooms have a telephone, air-conditioning (with a local charge), daily house-keeping and either a private balcony or shared terrace.Please note that free air conditioning is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sivila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sivila Hotel Rhodes/Afandou, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing