We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an excellent return trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Afandou
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mythos Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We returned from our second trip to Mythos Beach a week ago, and what can I say, it didn't dissapoint.
We traveled there for a week last year and liked it that much that this year we were there for two weeks.
The hotel is clean and fresh, the ladies that clean the rooms do a fantastic job every day the rooms are made up and washed.
The food is great with a choice of three restaurants to choose from. The buffet hall has a huge selection of warm and cold dishes. The pool bar diner is open from 12 till 3 where Dora will make you feel very welcome , and the a la carte restaurant overlooking the beach serves mouthwatering dishes.
Then you have the animation team, Going around every day apart from Sunday (everyone has to have a day off now and then) entertaining the guests, taking the kids on activities, and persuading even the laziest English guy to play beach volleyball :-) Also taking their time to get to know the guests so thanks to you all Jesper, Per, Camilla, Fredrick, Albin and not forgetting Balu Balazs, Great team which worked together so well there was always a great atmophere.
Thanks to you all for making a great holiday and see some of you next time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for Mythos Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

I loved this hotel. The service is very high and the staff is very friendly. Overall the place is well kept, clean and with a variety of things to do.

The hotel is remotely located in Afantou. The beach of the hotel is pretty good but there are many pools to relax in the hotel. I particularly enjoyed the pool for adults only, near the beach. The food and cocktails there are very good.

The rooms were very spacious with a modern, clean design.

The food served at the hotel is very good and there is a different theme every night. The best one is the BBQ night.

Will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Mythos Beach are a hotel made primarily for families. And it works! All new, built in 2011, and with a well thought through design.
Had a three room apartment there for a week and it were one of the most relaxing weeks so far this year.
Situated on the beach, you get a lovely view from most rooms and the sea-breeze to cool one of in the sun.
Enough bars and restaurants so you won't have to walk far for that. Food are good, and the staff very helpful.

Recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
8  Thank Hoiturson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Based on last year's great experience with this place we wanted to try it out again.

This time we were unfortunately placed in a location close to the air condition and the entertainment system of the hotel, which ruined a lot of the outright ambience we enjoyed the last time. As the entertainment is over 22 sharp in the evening, it did not ruin our sleep.

But as a whole, Mythos Beach did not disappoint. My main focus this time was to find out if the food had gotten any better than last time, and the simple answer is: Yes!

Taken into consideration that up to 700 people are served for each seating, the main restaurant seem to have taken considerable steps to avoid last year's mistakes. Gone was the schtick of making food appear like something else, gone was the massive variety of bland, over-cooked food. Instead, there was a much greater effort put into each theme night, like Asian night, Barbeque night and Greek night.

There are three other noteworthy things:

* The animators are now fully trained to service the entertainment needs of everyone. There are now a lot more activites for the children to partake in, including table tennis, darts, a daily disco and other activities suitable mainly in the age range of 4-12.

* The garden and outdoor works are now completed. No more loose tiles, no more sand / dirt and handyworkers all over the place.

* There is now an inhouse, daily medical service from 0900-1000 and 1800-1900, also on call 24/7 for emergency. This added greatly to our comfort and safety during our stay.

On the negative side, the place is constantly crowded. Not cramped, but for instance the sunbeds are mainly more occupied than before, many in violation of Apollo rules of leaving the towel behind for hours.

Another thing mentionable is that the Spa seems to have lost some of its original qualities (mainly due to change of manager?), but we were heavily discounted due to our feedback.

Neither the noise issue nor the people issue was enough hassle to make this anything but a care-free, all-inclusive, five star experience.

The swimming pools and the ocean were barely in use, to the great joy of myself and my children which are crazy for water regardless of temperature.

We also got to try out the in-house car rental service which cannot be recommended enough.

Cheaper, more flexible and a hell of a lot of easier rent than the Sixt collaboration with Apollo.

We are throughly pleased with our stay yet again and recommend it to all families which wants to live in a quieter place of Rhodes than your standard Faliraki / Lindos stay.

Room Tip: Go for the suites down towards the ocean. People (and any small children) which are noise sensitive...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank VertigOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Me and my two friends had a wonderful week at Mythos. Everything was great. I loved the food and the service at the hotel. The animation team did a awesome work. They were kind and committed in what they did. The rooms were absolutely gorgeous, especially the beds! This hotel is well suited to families with children. Everyone who worked there were nice and did everything for us who stayed at the hotel. Thanks for a great week! I will certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Emelie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

If i should write down all the good things about Mythos Beach Resort i have to write until tomorrow morning!
But i can tell everyone that my last two weeks in on Mythos Baech resort has been totally awesome!

All the staff that working at the hotel is very service minded,nice and great!
I felt very welcomed and thanks to Simon and Jesper i had very fun evenings! I also think that they do a great job, walking around and smiling all the time and want people to have fun and get activated. Great job! I can not forget the girls Lina and Camilla who take great care of all the children. I think it is very great for all the familys that visit the hotell. The hotel is very child friendly!

The food,the beds,the pools and everything is really great! I want to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank stina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Usually we don't go to resorts like this, but to small pensions with 8 or 10 rooms, but i must admit, that Mythos Beach Resort with Apollo was great. Everything top notch. The staff - plenty of them by the way - was so kind and helpful.

The Resort is placed between to villages 1 and 5 km away. The road to those are not interesting to walk, so take a taxi. 8 € to Afandou Twon square (not muche there though) and 5 € to Kolimbia (10 if you take the horse carriage!!)

The pool area is divided, so the families with kids occupy the upper pools where there are activities all day and playgrounds. The "elderly" or those who just want a more quiet atmosphere go to the pool near the beach. Ah, so good. Free sunbeds and towels.

The beach is no good. Stone on land and in the water. You can take a taxi to nearby sandy beaches in Tsambika or Faliraki or Affandou.

The restaurants in the Resort are 1st class. We tried the buffet every morning and loved it. Tried the lunch buffet twice and loved it and the evening buffet twice and loved it! Especially when there was a Mexican Theme Night!

The restaurant by the pool are also 1st class. You will meet the nicest two waitresses you have ever met. Vasilia and Kaliope. The food is just as fine.

If you want to eat outside the Resort, the nearby village of Kolimbia has a restaurant called "Carrusel" on the mainstreet. A greek restaunt does not come better than this.

A giant a la carte menu but so fresh and well done, no matter what you order. Personally I can recommend the lamb chops!

Back at the Resort the double room we had was very fine and big enough. Flat screen TV with among others Scandinavian channels!

There is a bus to Akropolis Lindos or Rhodos city with the Old Town. If you haven't been any of these places you must go.

The Resort offers "all inclusive" if you like that. We didn't take that, because we love to go out in a village and find good tavernas.

We didn't try roomservice (don't really know if there is a roomservice!) or spa (too expensive).

Room Tip: Ask for a room "high up" with a balcony. The more you will pay, the better room you get. T...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Discographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
1.2 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.9 mi away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
11.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
7.7 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,686 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rodos Star Hotel
Rodos Star Hotel
#4 of 18 in Afandou
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mythos Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mythos Beach Resort

Address: Afandou, P.C. 85103, Rhodes, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Afandou
#1 Green Hotel in Afandou
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Afandou
#2 Family Hotel in Afandou
#2 Spa Hotel in Afandou
#3 Romantic Hotel in Afandou
Price Range: £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mythos Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Mythos Beach Resort is perfectly situated on the sandy beach of Afandou, on the eastern coast of Rhodes just 20 minutes drive from both the Airport and the Town of Rhodes. This delightful family resort offers a luxurious holiday experience with comfortable rooms, sports activities including indoor and outdoor gym, 2 tennis courts, mini golf, beach volley, basketball and 5 x 5 football court, entertainment and wonderful children facilities including mini club and playground, all within spacious grounds. There are 201 luxuriously decorated rooms, self catering Apts and suites, all with modern features and facilities. The professional team organises activities for both adults and children. There are several swimming pools, including an indoor heated pool and an outdoor half Olympic size heated swimming pool and a children's pool with water features and Snack bar at the hotel's lovely pool area. The hotel has four dining areas, including an A-la-carte restaurant overlooking the sea. The restaurant serves mouth-watering traditional Greek and Mediterranean cuisine in an al fresco setting. Bicycles can be • hired at reception • Hotel has its own herb and spice garden • Locally produced food is used where possible • Solar Panels heat water • Environmentally friendly operation • Great facilities for families ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mythos Beach Hotel Afandou
Mythos Beach Resort Rhodes/Afandou, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing