We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Flora Choriatiki Taverna
Ranked #8 of 24 Restaurants in Afandou
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$29
Cuisines: European, Greek
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

my wife and myself were staying at the oasis hotel , next to the flora , after a few days of the all inclusive grub at the hotel we decided to give the flora a go . From the outside the place is stunning very clean and very well maintained . we were met at the door and shown to our seats by a big grumpy Greek waiter who as it turned out was a really nice bloke . Our order was taken by a lovely Greek waitress who basicly let us order and change the menu to suit ourselves . When the food started to arrive we were stunned , there was so much . all of which was beautiful , the mixed grill is something to behold . the waitress was very attentive and made our evening very enjoyable even offering to give us some of her recipes . the flora is a modern family run establishment with a very relaxed atmosphere and the prices are very very good , about half what you would expect to pay in the UK.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    13
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We ate here several times in September 2012 and we always found the food to be good quality at a very good price. We were welcomed and looked after by the family in a very friendly way and we liked the stylish look inside the restaurant. My wife has to be gluten free, Emanuela understood this perfectly and so my wife had no problem with the food. The food was delicious and good value, we would certainly eat there again, and we would recommend Flora to anyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sterodos, Owner at Flora Choriatiki Taverna, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you so much for your very nice review!
we will try all our best to have happy guests...
Hope to see you an other time, now we have lot of changes in our gardens... try to see us
Best warm greetings from all the family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food poor service!”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This looks quite a modern restaurant, they serve traditional Greek food. The bread with the tadziki starter was hard and dry,
The main meals were large, filling and very tasty but the service was no better than a truck stop cafe! Good luck with that.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sterodos, Owner at Flora Choriatiki Taverna, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
The main meals were large, filling and very tasty but the service was no better than a truck stop cafe! Good luck with that.

Hello! thank you for your review. We have renovated our restaurand few year ago, so now we are a modern one with traditional Greek food. The bread is hard and dry, because this is our real healthy traditional bread. It is without preservatives, and it is our Rhodian and Greek bread. All the people like so much to taste it... because it is something different!
Tzatziki is hand made too, also our aubergines salad and all our menu is hand made from our mothers....
Yes, you are right for 2012, that we are like a truck stop, because of the new road conditions... Try to see us this year 2013, we are brand new style and all is much much better. See our new pictures...
Hope to see you an other time, and we will try all our best for you!
Greetings from Afandou village and Rhodes island!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“OK but nothing special”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

As with the Golfer and La Piatakia you are sitting next to the main road, but this is worse as they only have 4 tables outside and no plants to make the atmosphere any better. The food was OK but for the food we ate this was the most we paid for a meal so not such good value

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jongleurgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sterodos, Owner at Flora Choriatiki Taverna, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for writing this review. Apologize that we are not ready for the season of 2012, but we were under consturction, because of the new road conditions.
So, we have not change our outside taverna... But season 2013 is ready to welcome you in a new friendly taverna with lot of plans, and gardens and of course with our great meals...
All our food is fresh made from our mothers, in traditional way... You can see some new fotos which we already add in tripadvisor..

Try to visit Flora traditional restaurant in Afandou Village - Φλώρα and us guide you through the traditional culinary art of the island!
Hope to see you again in a brand new style, because our focus is to have happy guests!... Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, great family ran business”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I visited flora with my partner whilst our stay in oasis hotel and the food we were served was fab, steak is beautiful as is the spagetti bolognaise and garlic mushroom starter. It were that good we went hack for a full english breakfast and again later in the week for more garlic mushrooms and garlic chicken which were also delightful. Easily the best meal we had all week. Free grapes (freshly picked) and jelly on our second occasions were a treat as it saved spending money on a desert. Prices are very cheap and the family that runs it are very pleasant. Definately worth a visit to if you are visiting afandou or anywhere round about :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leighanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sterodos, Owner at Flora Choriatiki Taverna, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Hi!
thank you so much for your very nice truth review!! Honestly this is our best paymend for our service!! thank you once again! Hope to see you again, in our new gardens.
Of course with our best Greek traditional food.
Greetings from Flora restaurant... XXX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flora Choriatiki Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Flora Choriatiki Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing