We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic action packed family holiday with great facilities and an awesome team”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Afandou
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Levante Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2013

First time doing the summer 'thing' with Mark Warner although we use them for our family ski trip every new year and was great to see some familiar faces this time in the sun. Just spent a truly fabulous week at Levante Beach (29 May-5 June '13) with our 3 children, 10, 8 & 6, they had a great time under the guided supervision of the Mark Warner team enjoying kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, SUP boarding, team games, evening activities and lots more....too many fab staff to give special praise to. Evening supervision works very well in that Mum & Dad get to have a peaceful dinner alone knowing they're in safe hands and having fun and the dining/bar facilities are very good with a nice choice for dinner however good luck with the Greek wine, we usually drink red but found the rose to be a bit more palatable. Hotel facilities and accommodation first class, however I would describe this more as a low key five star apartment/hotel complex but this is not a critism, it's not walk around bar service around the pool (although there is a bar) they just don't offer the service or have different entertainment every evening (although there was a quiz and a Greek themed dancing night), it's a little more laid back with the emphasis on the day's events and things sort of run out of steam come 10.30pm when everyone is exhausted from such a fab day and ready for bed. Our interconnecting rooms were in the main hotel block and of excellent standard with tea/coffee/fridge. The tennis centre is also excellent and Sam deserves a special mention for being a star with our 3 children who enjoyed 3 group lessons then a one to one. Tank (the barman) also deserves praise for making a cracking Pimms! We both used Rich & Hannah's fitness classes and my husband did the morning run, they keep the classes varied, with some great circuits and beach boot camp. My husband and eldest son (10) took advantage of PADI dive centre on site and completed their diving qualification whilst there under the brilliant guide of Laura. It's a very spacious beach resort and can take 10 mins to walk from main hotel to the beach/watersports area but once you're in the swing and worked it all out, a week just isn't enough, could've easily filled another few days. My husband did Waterskiing and we all went on the 'sofa' on the last morning pulled by George in his speedboat who cannot be praised enough on his tips for cracking waterskiing. We hired a car for the day and easily covered Lindos and Rhodes Town with a stop for lunch at a sandy beach but there really is no need to leave the hotel if you don't want to and plenty don't. Good massage at the Spa and they do manicures and little treats for the little ladies. If you're thinking of booking, then please do, you won't be disappointed, it's everything you need and we would have no hesitation in returning. One thing to say about the return flight tho, it's not the first time Jet 2 have run out of sandwiches so be prepared.

Room Tip: If you like your sunbed to face the sea (which we did and based ourselves at the bottom pool nearest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsHutson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

Mark Warner must have got their formula right if so many couples return without their offspring! Mid-May the resort was split between fit and active over 50s and families with under 5s. All ages well catered for whatever the weather – three days of thunderstorms meant we discovered the basement spa, gym and indoor aerobics area.
Waterfront team look after you very well with many courses on offer and charming young people ready to help you on and off the water. There are loungers and parasols overlooking the sea but the beach itself is a mixture of sand and stones. The sea is pebbly and gets deep quickly but is very clear. Children are probably best to keep to the superb large freeform pool for swimming. Several pools for different purposes.
Tennis courts are fast astroturf and floodlit. Very good Sunday morning intro session, socials each night and lots of coaching sessions.
Bikes good and Pete – must be the fittest guy in the resort – led different level groups morning and afternoon. Highpoint of the week was the trip to Rhodes – by all roads! Bring water bottles but good helmets provided.
Loads of aerobics classes. The week we went there was no pilates class. Outdoor and indoor aerobics areas. Morning walks and runs we never made it to!
Massage very good and if you have a treatment the sauna and hamman are free – otherwise charged. Large spa area which was empty when I visited but very nice. Shuts rather early at 7pm.
Buffet breakfast and dinner with waiter service for drinks. Greek staff who were very efficient and loved children. Usual good selection of salads or hot food and fruit or puddings for dessert. Lunch was available either included if full board or pay extra in pool bar or Pan Asian. Cheaper to pay as you go but rather busy. Restaurants down the beach in Kolymbia you could bike or walk to. Good shop on site for snacks and water – and water pistols!
Large communal area with lots of seating and tables came into their own during the thunderstorms. Two bars for pre and post dinner drinks. No riotous evening entertainment – background music from Greek band or piano player. Quiz night. Wi-fi very slow but available free in reception area.
Rooms large and beds comfortable, plus bath and shower cubicle. Rooms cleaned and towels changed every day. Towels, beach towels, robes, slippers, toiletries included. Hairdryer and kettle and cups. Starter tea, coffee and milk pack provided but good shop to purchase extra milk and teabags.
Childcare must have been good as we only saw happy children.
BA flights from Terminal 5 a joy. Very good inflight meals too. Remember these are family holidays so bring headphones if you don’t want to hear screaming children after take-off!
A great active holiday, made special by the people we met.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the generator at end of main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsClearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We visited Levante Beach for the first time in May 2013, although it was our 10th Mark Warner holiday. We had a really marvellous 2 weeks. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, the restaurant staff are efficient and friendly, especially Mika and William. The Mark Warner staff are, as always, keen to help and very polite. Sue the manager is friendly, approachable and runs a tight ship! There are mountain bikes available on organised tours or for your own trips. We used the bikes every day and found Pete really helpful and great entertainment when we invited him for dinner! He will take you on a quiet route to see the peacocks at a peaceful taverna with an amazing climb up to the most breathtaking views! Hannah and Richard are worth a mention on the fitness front as they are both very good at what they do - the abs class is a must. We can't comment on the water sports as we don't sail but the feedback from other guests was excellent.

The hotel is very clean, the rooms immaculate with tea and coffee making facilities, bathrobes and slippers provided. The main restaurant food is plentiful with loads to choose from. The wine list was adequate for our needs. There are several lovely big swimming pools and a smaller indoor heated pool. There is also a beauty/hair salon at the hotel. The facilities are excellent.

The bus service runs like clockwork and we visited Lindos and Rhodes Town by bus (they do use every available space including standing room!). The bus stop is conveniently situated just left of the front of the hotel.

All in all our holiday experience at Levante Beach was wonderful and we can thoroughly recommend it. Our one moan was that the indoor pool was cold during our stay although it was very warm on the day we left! We will definitely be returning there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We went to the Mark Warner Levante resort for seven days on the 11th of May. One of the main reasons why we chose our holiday was the child friendly aspect of it. Although this was our third time travelling with Mark Warner, this was our first using their childcare service. The childcare facility is brand new and is nicely furnished with lots of toys, kids furniture and arts and crafts tools. Our son is 2 years and 7 months old and was placed in the toddlers group. The Mark Warner staff took him around the resort, to the swimming pool, beach and playground which he seemed to enjoy. They also scheduled some toddler sailing but we had two days of a terrible bad weather, and they gave the sailing a miss. The general impression we got was that the older kids had a more structured set of activities, it is probably down to the fact kids between 2 and 3 years old can have different levels of mobility and hand coordination skills. In the evening there was a children's film club that he enjoyed going to as well. Especially because there is no kids television option in the rooms. But there was night that he nearly fall sleep and woken up with a sense of confusion. When we picked him up he was very tearful and unsurprisingly after that he didn't want to go to the film club anymore. Our son is allergic to dairy products, eggs and peanuts, and intolerant to gluten and soya. We informed Mark Warner about it, asking them to accommodate for his special dietary needs. We had a disastrous experience on our BA flight from London to Rhodes, as they served us scrambled eggs, cereal with milk and bread with butter. Our flight back we had another terrible experience this time mitigated by a BA flight attendant. If you have any food allergies and intolerance concerns or are a bit conscious about your diet and want to know all about our food experience during our holiday in Levante, please read the post on our blog. http://www.incrediblebakerycompany.co.uk/index.php/blog My husband is a keen amateur sportsman and really enjoyed his tennis lessons and mountain bike rides. He particularly enjoyed the ride from the hotel to Rhodes. It was a 50km bike ride with the reward of biking through the cobbled streets of Rhodes. I suffer from ME and have been steadily regaining my health back, so not to compromise my recovery, I took it very easy, just relaxing and swimming, or to be more honest with myself, floating. In the resort they have three adult pools, one being 18+ exclusive and the other two being their family pools. There is also a children's swimming pool near to the main building which is nicely located. We also found it was one the warmest spots on the very windy days. There is also an indoor swimming pool that is described as a heated swimming pool. However as we had two days of a terrible weather, the full monty: rain, windy, lighting and thunder, everyone headed to the indoor swimming pool just to find it was cold as the artic. It was quite disappointing. We understand the place is built to offer a great summer experience, but still there will be rainy days and although we also understand it does take four days to warm up the indoor pool, there should have been a bit more of forecast and organization. Despite the promises, it did not got warmed up during our stay. The beach is nice and the sun loungers with a parasol offers a perfect relaxing experience. Also the fact the hotel provides you with beach towels, makes the whole experience even more pleasant. Our room service was spotless, everyday the room would be cleaned, towels would be exchanged. The resort is not completely finished. We could see in the map describing the site and the missing pieces they are still building. Although the construction is taking place in the adjacent site of the resort, it did not disturb us, but I suppose for those in rooms facing it, it could be an eyesore. We think the highlight of the holiday was the staff treatment. They are very courteous and polite. They all went that extra mile to make our holiday more enjoyable. It certainly did impress us and helped us to have a great time. Once completely finished, Levante may be the best of Mark Warner resorts. We have been trying to remember our previous experience to compare, and we got into a consensus that Praia da Luz offers the best beach experience but the quality of the food was not as good as in Levante. In Levante they have magnificent chefs. The dessert buffet was very tempting, everyday they would put out different types of cakes, pastries and creamy creations. Although I had none because of my foods intolerance, my husband tried them and absolutely love them. Our son couldn't have enough of the juiciest and sweeter strawberries we have ever tried. In Algarve, although we did not use the childcare, we spoke to other parents that did and they were not impressed with it. But in Portugal the accommodation was great. It is a sort of villa with all the normal house appliances, cooker, microwave, washing machine etc, and it is nicely decorated. On the minus side, our "villa" was cleaned every other day and pushing the pushchair in the hilly town of praia da luz was very tiresome. Turkey resort is very similar to Levante, with a bigger complex that offers various onsite restaurants and facilities, even a cash machine. We had the impression that the water sports were their stronger offering, but the site is very big and probably we haven't seen it all. Also in Turkey there was a bit more of hilly terrain that made it not very friendly for our pushchair and the playground was a bit dated. Just to conclude, we really enjoyed our holiday, we hoped the in flight meal could had been more appropriate to our requirements, it caused us unncessary stress and heartache. It tainted a bit our experience. But apart from that I would recommend it, specially for those without any special dietary needs. For those with a special dietary needs to go but to ensure with Mark Warner they clearly understand your requirements and dont lose faith the resort staff are wonderful, specially Chef Ashley.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IncredibleBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We don't usually do resort holidays. Having 3 children (9, 7 and 4), we have tended to book villas for the last few years. We booked Mark Warner for our summer holiday in August 2012 on the recommendation of a friend and went along not knowing whether it would really be for us.

All that I can say is that Mark Warner get the family holiday right! The resort at Levante, with the exception of a couple of small niggles, was fantastic. We had a superior suite in the main hotel building which had views of the pool and sea. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and met our needs well.

The main pool was huge but never over-crowded. We always managed to find sunbeds. The gentle slope into the pool works well for small children, though as a few reviews have said, the entry is VERY slippery so we felt as if we were having to constantly remind the kids to be careful. I hope that they have fixed this for their second season. There were a lot of cases of ear infections too while we were there. All three of our kids were sick. We were told that this was nothing to do with the pool but you have to wonder! It was great to have a doctor on site, though the cost of medical treatment was quite high so take an E11 and travel insurance!

The kids club was amazing. Our kids were able to pick and choose from the wide range of activities on offer during the day and evening and we could sign them in and out whenever we liked. The schedule for the day was published every evening for the following day so it was easy to plan and make the most of the activities on offer. Our kids particularly enjoyed sailing, pool games, show performances and the cinema club. The staff in the kids club were brilliant and very accommodating in ensuring that kids had a good time.

The food in the buffet restaurant was generally good. Some nights were fantastic, some a little disappointing. I think that sometimes they went for quantity of dishes rather than quality but that did mean that there was always something that you could choose. The menu did become a bit samey after two weeks. Drinks were reasonably priced for a 4star resort.

The beach was disappointing. It is pebble and the sea is quite rough so not really suitable for small children. Our kids did prefer the pool anyway so was not too much of an issue for us.

Transfers from the hotel were well handled and efficient. The BA flights from Heathrow were fantastic.

Overall, we enjoyed our first Mark Warner experience and would definitely consider going again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed in Levante Beach in June 12, I think we were one of the first massive groups that stayed there. So whatever, teething problems they had got ironed out and I'm sure got better. I've been meaning to write this since last year, so you know it's going to be good.

Transport
BA flights from Heathrow. All very slick at the Greek end escorted to our air con coaches and a relatively short drive to the hotel. At the hotel our bags were brought to our rooms, easy check-in and a glimpse at the wonderful blue swimming pools.

Room
The room was basic, I don't mean that in a bad way, but perfect. Comfortable beds, great shower, we had a porch and sliding door to the pool what more could we want?

Food
It was buffet service, but there was a large array of it and you had a lot of roast-spit and BBQ food also. I'd have liked to see more Greek food on, but saying that I missed my daily intake of Greek Salad when I got home.

Special mention to Ash who was the chef at the Asian Fusion restaurant, great guy and chef. He went out of his way to accommodate the tastes of a 2 1/2 year old. If you don't go there you're missing out. For a special night out its definitely worth going there for a meal, if only to take a break from the buffet. My advise is go in the first 2-3 days, otherwise you'll kick yourself for only giving yourself for one visit in the week. we enjoyed our lunch at the Asian restaurant 4 days out of our week, the other days we had a buffet and the English pool bar.

I hope they have thought how they can subsidise the Asian restaurant, as it's definitely a worth upgrading. Also could do with a kiddies menu at the Asian restaurant and I'd have loved to have seen a BBQ one night.

Childcare
All I can say is it was first class. This was the first time we've even been to a MW holiday. We couldn't get over that you could drop your dearest ones and have adult time. What bliss over dinner!

As for staff, our daughter Alice still asks after Beth, her Childminder, when we're going on holiday or to a sandy beach. They were all great, and you almost felt bad when you were tucking into your food, drinking your glass of wine as you gazed upon one of the carers pushing the babies in their prams around the pools trying to get them to sleep.

Amenities
Great swimming pools for all ages. Main pool, kiddie pool, Adult only pool, Bar pool beside the beach and over in the French side they had a water activity pool.

All the sailing boats were brand new as were the mountain bikes. There was plenty of fitness classes and an indoor spa/gym. I heard the Tennis courts were very good. They also had a playground for the kids. The only downside was the beach, it was very gritty and not a sandy beach, so we stayed by the pools.

Summary
We didn't venture outside the hotel all week and we have already rebooked to go on another MW holiday this year. I would recommend Levante Beach to anyone with small children, likes sailing and tennis or just wants to get away from it all. Our daughter has already asked if Beth will be there.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank gtmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed here in August 12 and only just got round to putting in this review - remembered as we are currently again looking at Mark Warner Holidays. We booked a suite instead of the standard room - it was a few hundred pounds extra - but having a 13 year old didnt feel like shed want to share with mum and dad. So may pools, you could always find one that wasnt too busy and always find a sunbed with shade - our accomodation had bathroom with shower and bath lounge with had a sofa that was made up at night for the teen bed through a sliding door to our bedroom with was large and modern - huge balcony outside and Tvs in both rooms. The meals were brilliant - lots of variation - you could either eat inside (bit canteeny really) our outside on the paio, which was really beautiful - although slightly crowded - struggled to pull out your chair without distrubing your neighbour.
Plenty of activiites for kids of all ages and even for my teenager - every day there was a varied programme - all free and in addition there were activites you could pay for that provided expert tuition - she is now a level one diver - We didnt go any of the night activites so I cant comment - we were up at the crack of dawn to get the most of the sun and after dinner would retire on our balcony and play cards with the evening sun setting -
Would I go again? well I have never been to any one place twice - until now! yes without a doubt I will def return here - the staff are all polite and well organised - the only one thing I could possibly pull back on - we were on the first floor apartments - lovely views but the stairs leading down had no handrail and being marble and mopped daily by the cleaners made it a death trap - I found this out to my misfortune as I did slip and as there was nothing to grab hold of - badly bruised my back - and had physio on my return - I did write to Mark Warner - they actually werent much help at all - but if anything I hope they have at least had the sense to put up a handrail - as it could have been a lot worse - this is the only fault I have and although disappointed with the lack of response I will def go back and will let you know again, if this had changed -
Would I recommend it - yes def -maybe book a ground floor apartment tho lol

Room Tip: Worth the extra if you have teenagers to upgrade - try and book the apartments overlooking the adult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northwestlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
8.1 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,743 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes
11.3 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
1 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
18.5 mi away
Rodos Princess Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Levante Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Levante Beach Resort

Address: Afandou Beach, Afandou 85301, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Afandou
#1 Romantic Hotel in Afandou
#1 Spa Hotel in Afandou
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star Hotel ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Levante Beach Resort Rhodes/Afandou, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing