We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roadworks & on junction of 2 main roads - infront of a builders yard!!”
Review of Georgia Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Georgia Apartments
Ranked #1 of 5 Afandou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Roadworks & on junction of 2 main roads - infront of a builders yard!!”
Reviewed 26 September 2010

This holiday was cheap - we don't expect alot from Greek accomodation - I have to say the accomdation was better than expected. As we drove up to the hotel, all we saw was the builders yard - what had we let ourselves into - It was Cheap!!. Check in was Ok, we wer shown to where our rooms were and when we got in we were pleasantly surprised. The room was bigger than expected and had 3 proper beds in and a table ( neva had that before in Greece). The chairs were kitchen chairs and they were amazingly uncomfortable - there were no comfy chairs on the balcony. Having read some of the reviews about the hard beds I was dreading them = they were NOT hard and were so comfy I wanted to bring one home!!. The Air Con is a disgusting price and there is a notice in the room that if you buy a fan it will be removed. The supermarket on site was basic but enough to tide you over - the kitchen facility in the room was very poor. you could not cook a meal. The first day we walked into the village, it is a good 20 mins - go out of the back of the hotel and turn left. The bus stop for Lindos and Rhodes are out on the road behind the hotel they were regular and mainly on time. The bars and tavernas were quite good - Life Taverna ( behind Life bar) was brill, also the taverna in an alley way - Apokto???? was really good - on the esxpensive side compared to the rest of the village, but worht every penny. Food was cheap compared to other islands. The Noddy train picks up outside the apartements at 9.30 - 9.45 each morning and takes you to the beach for 2 E each - and picks up from the beach at 4.30ish and drops back at the apartments - other than that the train only runs from town to beach. A word of warning there is a sign in the aprtments that P20, P10 and Bizbuin can not be used - if you stain the towels you will be charged. Thomsons did not tell us the apratments were at the junction of the main road into the village and a half finished dual carraige way. Work started at 7.30 each morning and continued all day - this was annoying but did not spoil the hol. Alot of people are repeat customers who book through Sarah, Some were very clicky and liked to make sure you knew they keep coming back - However she was a fab rep for them and made sure she spoke to all of them. The weather was hot 42 on a couple of days and most nights were 27 - this we hear is unusual.
Would I go back - Yes - considerieng the price the place was very clean and we had no problems, it wouldn't be my first choice, but like I said it was cheap and it is greece

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJGCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    107
    60
    12
    13
See reviews for
146
186
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

I travelled with a friend through Thompson, whom I've always felt secure booking with before. However, although they promote this place, there is no rep - because she's based miles away in another village and doesn't even drive. So after we were bundled off the coach in the early hours of the morning and almost got run down crossing the road with all our luggage, we were greeted at reception and given our room key. We dragged our luggage up 2 of the most uneven flights of steps imaginable and collapsed in our rooms for some sleep.
The apartments are clean and tidy, the beds in apartment 206 are harder than the floor, but the room had everything we needed.
The pool is lovely, if a little small for the number of rooms - although we never had trouble getting a sunbed, or some shade when required.
The bar is fine with a good selection of drinks, although the pricing is odd with soft drinks as expensive as alcoholic ones. The food was good although the restaurants in the village are better - also George's next door is lovely.
Although the holiday was good on the whole, as the week went on it became apparent that the overly friendly men who appear to be hangers on of the family who run the hotel, are just predators. By the time Greek Night came around we regretted ever being there. George (who just seems to hang around staring and annoying all the single girls), and Johnny (the Dutch one who skips around the pool in skin tight trousers), were horrendous. At one point George decided to slam 2 shot glasses in front of us and filled them with an unidentifiable liquid taken from a newly opened bottle which he then placed under the table for us to "take to our room"! He then sat on my friends lap. After being almost dragged to the dancefloor to participate we managed to escape to the room and stayed there until our flight back the next day. Not a pleasant experience at all.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

wonderful quiet ,large ,very clean apartments.the family who own the hotel were very helpful and polite.Would return again great weather and relaxing, enjoy rhodes island main town is just amazing place..It can be a bit of a walk to nearest beach but there are buses or walk to afandou main town and get taxie from there. Many thanks to family for calling a taxie price in (euros was 30.00) to take us to rhodes airport to collect rental car.Would advise anyone to get this delivered/collection to hotel as is cheaper and less hassle.Thanks to the georgia family ,will be back for some more that good times.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cas605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We booked the holiday through Thompson and although it was not that cheap, we knew the flights to Rhodes were expensive and so did not have high hopes. I did research the apartments on Trip Advsior so we had a fairly good idea of what to expect.
We arrived on the Saturday night and were welcomed eventually and told where our room was. There are no lifts so be prepared to carry you luggage yourself. The steps are painted grey and are very uneven so you need to take care even if you are fit and active. The rooms are very basic with the minimum utensils provided and one pot and one frying pan.Although it seemed clean enough, I did not use anything until it had been rewashed(probably a me thing).I dont think you can really cook there,and why would that be encouraged when there have a restaurant on site. The Bathroom does flood and the beds are rock hard...I wont miss them at all. You get one pillow but I did ask for anotherwhich was almost hurled at me by the old lady there. Not sure if she was busy or rude but prepared to overlook that one. There were also a couple of blankets but they were not that clean. There are lovely big patios but no comfy chairs to sit in and relax...just upright kitchen/bar chairs so we never bothered.
The food was ok, we had a couple of meals there and the men servinge were friendly enough even if after every order it was followed up with the question 'you pay now??'. The women were quite rude and when we checked out, there were no niceties there, not even a thankyou, goodbye...no eye contact either.We never stayed by the pool as did not feel inclined to spend our time or money there.The location is poor, 20 min walk to either the beach or town unless you have a car which thankfully we did.Afandou itself is charming and Rhodes is afabulous island, we went to a different place and beach every day and would have stayed longer if we could have changed our flights. We would have moved from the Georgio apartments. I think the funniest part of the holiday was being dropped off by the Thompson coach and the looks on peoples faces after seeing people being dropped off at lush hotels and then seeing our accomodation......absolutely priceless.....the pity on the faces....says it all really!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bedfordbaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We had a nasty shock on arrival as the 70 euro price per week often quoted on other reviews refers to the studios. For a 2 bed apt for 2 weeks we were charged 224 EUR with 56 EUR credit for their shop. Quite a lot of money to say goodbye to on your first night. Had I known the price it may well have influenced the choice of apartments.
We only ate there on arrival and not again - it wasn't horrible but all the restaurants in Afandou are much better. Staff were friendly enough - I'm happy not to be bothered on my holidays - only on one day was I upset when they put the chlorine in the pool while we were all still in it!!!
It's a shame about the aircon because in lots of ways these apts have got it right - they play music during the day but you can't hear it until you open the doors, the staff are not intrusive and don't bother you except to try to drum up interest for their events nights 3 times a week, the apts are well maintained and clean, the pool is fine, plenty of sunbeds and shade which is often not the case. It's easy enough to get the bus or walk into town and there is meant to be a land train to take you to the beach but it keeps to its own schedule - we waited fruitlessly for it several times.
Afandou really feels like Greece rather than tourist Greece - although I would have felt nervous with younger children as there aren't always pavements and the cars and mopeds seem to whizz past very fast.
For supermarkets head out of the apts and turn left and follow signs for G&S supermarket - much more choice and better prices. We also walked down the main road about 10 mins to a big supermarket when we needed more choice as we cooked in a bit (very off road as there is no pavement and they are digging up the road)
I walked to the beach twice which is a mission in the heat - better to pay 1.40 EUR each to go to Faliraki for this - lovely sandy beach (that's all I'd recommend about Faliraki) Waterpark is 20 EUR and well worth it - brilliant day out, Rhodes Town was also a great place to visit - the old town is fabulous, we went to the museum there to escape the heat and all enjoyed it..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahdebank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2010

..from the staff / family, most certainly.
The rooms were okay size- wise, and kept clean by the maids, though towels and sheets / overs must have been at a premium from time - to - time, as they were sometimes short in number or not left at all. As has been said previously, it seemed to us that if you weren't spending every euro in the place, then you were somehow not worth giving the time of day. Even though we spent a good few 'bob' whenever we were around. This isn't such a bad thing anyway, if you're just looking to lounge around, have a dip, a drink and read a book, so it didn't really bother us too much. The snacks we had around the bar / pool were generally frozen, (pizzas, chips etc.), so not too good, and the pricing of the soft drinks, (2 euro a can) and the imported grog, (bottle of magners / can John Smith's 4.5 euro), could do with a ook at. Saying that, it was pretty much the same elsewhere, and why would you bother when the local Magnus does the job at 2 euro a pint? We dodged the 'theme' nights having heard first-hand reviews from some of the guests we'd met and It sounded as though the'Greek night' especially was a bit of a 'toe-curler'. And now we'll never know if the 'Donkey Dance' is authentic fare, or not? To be fair, we met some really good people that were up for a grin and also got out-and about a fair bit, so their opinions and company were good for picking - up on where to go / what to do?
Eating - out / going for a drink in the village, (15m ins. walk), was always a good 'do'. Yanni at Life bar is always up for a bit of banter , and plays a mix of 60's/70's/80's rock / chart music that doesn't drown-out the conversation. He doesn't do food, but you can always order - in from wherever, as we did. Oh! and there's always the odd free shot of black sambuca or Jagermeister on the horizon, usually as you're about to pay-up and go!
Mimi's is worth a visit if you just want good food in unfussy, spotlessly clean, pleasant surroundings. Giorgios is good company and looks after people well without being too much. Acapulco and Zefferis (?), are also good watering holes, though neither of these do food also. Like Life Bar I'm sure you can bring food in from around the door, where there's plenty of good places to choose from. Anna's bar and Grill was another place worth a visit, especially for a breakfast, and the prices matched the service by family members by being spot-on. The favourites seemed to be The Four Seasons and Sergio's, but we can't pass comment on the latter, as we didn't make it there. The Four Seasons is very good for food, drink and hospitality in a good setting towards the edge of the village. In all honesty, I'd be back to the village tomorrow and would hope to stay there in the future, as opposed to Georgia Appts. purely down to the attitude of the family and some of there more 'colourful' / bonkers lady friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toptoffees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

like most others have said the place is clean and tidy and could always get a bed round the pool. the down sides were the soft drinks in the bar 2 euros for a can when a bottle of beer was the same you need to look into this as we found with most other families they were going to local supermarket and buying 4 cans for the same price!!! storing them in room then going to fetch them as needed. the walk to village was pleasant about 25 mins and the four seasons mixed grill was to die for 9 euros and a pint 2 euros my 15 year old daughter thought it was great food as well the beach is a nightmare to get to as the main short cut through the golf course is blocked of due to new road being built locals say its been 3 years lol but faliriki beach was great and beach bar does the best kebabs the bus service was great always managed to get a seat!!!! bus stop right outside hotel. overall enjoyed this break but would not go back to this resort to quite but the swansea boys and girls made it a great holiday see you in 6 weeks terry when we beat you swans

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiltzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
1.1 mi away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
0.7 mi away
Rodos Star Hotel
Rodos Star Hotel
#4 of 18 in Afandou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zoes Hotel
Zoes Hotel
#9 of 70 in Faliraki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes
0.7 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
9.4 mi away
Georgia Hotel
Georgia Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tholos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgia Apartments

Property: Georgia Apartments
Address: 20th km Rodou-Lindou Ave., Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgia Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 800 metres from Afandou Beach, Georgia Apartments features an outdoor pool with sunbeds and umbrellas. Its accommodation offers free Wi-Fi and opens out to a balcony with garden, pool views. Each spacious unit comes with a mini fridge. Air conditioning and a safety deposit box are also available upon extra charge. The restaurant at Georgia Apartments prepares traditional Greek dishes. The pool-side snack bar serves refreshing drinks and light snacks throughout the day. The younger guests can enjoy the paddling pool and playground. Shuttle service is provided from hotel to beach and back from 15/06-15/09. Georgia Apartments is 5 km from the lively town of Faliraki and 30 km from the picturesque village of Lindos. The Afandou Golf Course is located right across from the property. Rhodes Town is at a distance of 19 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Georgia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgia Apartments Afandou
Georgia Apartments Hotel Afandou
Georgia Apartments Rhodes/Afandou, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing