We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, perfect family friendly hotel where the staff and management can't do enough to make sure you enjoy your stay!”
Review of Golden Days Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Days Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow, perfect family friendly hotel where the staff and management can't do enough to make sure you enjoy your stay!”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

My Fiance' and I have been to Afandou a couple of times over the last 4 years, but had always managed to stay outside of the village proper.
After reading some of the earlier reviews on here, my fiance', my two step-daughters and I faced the prospect of going to this hotel with a certain level of trepidation.
We really shouldn't have worried at all.
We decided to book the Golden Days Hotel as it was close to the village and we were taking our girls with us this time ( our girls are 17 and 15 years old).
We arrived at 01h30 and George was around to help us check in, making our arrival supremely easy, carrying my girl's bags to their rooms for them, demonstrating how to lock the doors, making sure they'd all got everything that they needed and requesting that if were up for it, joining him in the bar for a drink to chill prior to crashing out after our journey, of course we took him up on the drink!
George used to work in the Diva Bar (where the supermarket is now) in the naughties, Viva la Diva!
The following morning, we met Yiannis, Maria and Carol and to be honest, there was absolutely nothing that they wouldn't do for us to help make our stay in their hotel as enjoyable as possible.
Carol's made a map of the village of Afandou (a small village with about 6000 people) showing the local restaurants, supermarkets, ATMs, etc. which if you're not familar with the village, you'll find really useful.
If you want air-conditioning in your room, you have to pay for the remote control and to have it switched on, at a very reasonable €6 a day, we found this a necessity as it was regularly over 40 degrees in the daytime.
The hotel has a bar and a small local food restaurant, although the menu is limited, we managed to eat our evening meals there a few times, and the food was excellent. Club sandwiches and chips at €5, which is enough to share between two of you for lunch.
One of the most appealling elements to the hotel was how safe it was for my girls, My Fiance' and I could leave them lying around the pool, working on their tan, all day long while we went out on our hired motorbike, certain in the knowledge that they could go to the bar and order any drinks (they particularly enjoyed the milkshakes) and food they'd want and still have access to their room to chill out in and siesta should they want to, leaving me with the bill for their purchases on my return.
Entertainment is relatively low key, with a quiz & bingo night and a karaoke night, tying up 2 nights a week only.
The nights of entertainment are great fun though, with everyone feeling welcome and able to get as involved as they want to.
The rooms are basic, with everything that you need for a good night's sleep, cleaned everyday with fresh towels, with showers that have a good supply of hot water, dependant upon when you go for your shower.
Don't forget though, this is Greece, so you have to use the bin in your room for disposing of toilet paper! something that takes a bit of getting used to as well as forgetting when you get back home afterwards.
My girls used the internet machines in the lobby everyday to stay in touch with their friends in the UK, giving them updates as the holiday progressed.
The terrace at the front of the hotel is a recent addition and is truly an excellent area to chill out in, get some respite from the blazing sun, have a drink, still pop in and out of the pool while getting a bit of a breeze blowing through to keep you a little cooler.
There are lots of restuarants and bars in the village and there's been a few mentioned in reviews before; Top of these is certainly "Sergio's" a pizzeria restaurant with a difference, a la carte meals, per excellence! and Sergio & Heather are such nice people too.
Minos' bar in the town square is a great place to chill out in the evening.
If anyone wants to know more about the Golden Days Hotel or Afandou, just ask me a question.
To sum up, we'd definitely and happily recommend a visit to the Golden Days Hotel.
Thanks to everyone there for making our holiday such a great experience for us all and we'll see you next year, although it will be for 3 weeks as opposed to the 2 weeks we had this year!

Room Tip: Rear rooms, quiet, sun from16h00, Pool facing rooms, sun till 16h00, Garden facing rooms quiet sun t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Greece-aholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    55
    26
    18
    18
See reviews for
85
153
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I have stayed here from time to time and I have to say that it is THE best holiday hotel I have ever had the pleasure to stay at. the staff are the best in the business and make your stay such a pleasure, carol is the best receptionist i have ever had the pleasure to meet and will become a best friend i am sure, yanni and maria are also two of the best people you will ever meet and as for george well you will just have to wait and see :-) the hotel is the cleanest one i have stayed at in rhodes and it puts on the best entertainment too, if you are thinking about having a great holiday in the sun then this is the place to go, you will have the best time i am sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jamesdarrenjohson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We've just returned from our first stay at the Golden Days and would recommend it to families looking for a friendly place to stay. Yannis Maria Carol and the unforgettable George make the hotel a fun place to stay. The friendly welcome we had from George the night we arrived was lovely, showing us to our room and serving us a much needed drink after our travels. The hotel is a bit basic, but that's Greece and the Greek islands which is what we love, however the rooms are clean (cleaners are there every day) leaving clean towels daily the bedding is changed regularly too. If you are expecting to go self-catering it doesn't have particularly good facilities for this but I'm sure in time this will improve, that's the one negative thing I can say about this lovely family run hotel!! As it is aimed at families it is nice and quiet in the evenings with the bar being open for anyone who wants the holiday fun but the noise is minimal to allow others to catch up on their sleep. The pool area and throughout the hotel is kept clean and tidy and very comfortable. The food is cheap, cheerful and very well cooked. Yanni and Maria have been running the hotel for one year now and have made a good start nothing is too much trouble for either of them or the rest of the staff they are a good team. Carol greets you every morning and joins in the fun of Karioki along with the fun loving George (it wasn't me!!!!). Afandu is a lovely little village unspoilt with not too many tourists and very welcoming. It has lots of places to eat within a good walk from the hotel our two favourites being The Four Seasons and Neon good food at both and a welcome atmosphere to enjoy your meal. Lots of bars dotted around the village to have a quiet or noisy drink/cocktail as your fancy takes you. The buses run from the square to go to Lindos, Falaraki and Rhodes for a reasonable price. The hotel is within about 20 min walk from the beach which is pebbly but nice, you can have a "little train" ride to and from there if you find it too far or hot to walk it. All in all we had a great holiday, met some lovely local people as well as other guests can't wait to return again very soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are the best they have nice view of the pool area not too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Just had a lovely holiday at Golden Days, Maria, Yannis, George ( it was'nt me!!) & Carol were all really nice & helpful. Rooms basic but clean, typically greek & what we expected of a 2 star hotel. The hotel has a beautiful small garden with sunloungers which is well kept were you can go if you want a change from the pool. They do a very good breakfast which is well worth a try. For a really nice meal of a night try the Four Seasons or Sergio's. The location is ideal, at the beginning of the village so not far to walk to any of the bars or restaurant's just be careful of the motorbikes!! that go in & out of the village as they go too fast sometimes. But 'motorbikes' aside, If you're wanting a holiday were you can relax this is ideal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank howlyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The Golden Days Hotel in Afandou - what a pleasant surprise. The hotel itself is 2 star and fairly basic (anyone who has been to Greece before will know that Greece in general is basic), but clean, tidy and extremely welcoming. The lovely couple that run the hotel (Yani and Maria) couldn't be more obliging and helpfull - it was almost like home from home - nothing was too much trouble. Carol, another staff member was also charming and available most days for advise on what's on and where to go. This review wouldn't be complete without a mention of George - what a character !!! everyone - young and old seemed to love him and what an entertainer !!! There was the usual Karaoke, quiz, bingo etc - which you could join in with if you wanted, nothing was forced on you. I have to say that I am generally not one for that type of entertainment - but I would definatly recommend the quiz night - hilarious !! The village of Afandou is a short stroll away with plenty of cars and restaurants to choose from along with shops, chemist, post office, supermarket etc. Our favourtie restaurant and in fact, the one we visited 6 nights out of 7 was Neon - located on the corner of the square. The MOST fabulous food ( even managed to get a prized recipe fropm the owner). It is a complete family run restaurant with the Mum doing the cooking and the daughters, front of house - DEFINATELY recommend going there for their Greek specialities. I hope that anyone reading this will find it useful - I have used Trip Advisor many times in the past and found it fairly accurate in general - although sometimes there is just no pleasing some people. I think I have given a genuine and honest review. Be warned - August is extremely hot !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mjen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hotel has seen many improvments since yiannies and maria have taken over,food selection is much better and prepared to a very high standared and very reasenble price.Rooms are cleaned every day with fresh towels.Staff go out of their way to help you and make you feel like you are at home and part of a happy family nothing was too much trouble for them.Entertainment was excellent thanks Crazy george and Carol.We loved it so much we are trying to book for September

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lynsnowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This was our 7th visit to Golden Days - what can we say apart from thing have only got better. As other reviewers have said the hotel has improved so much. It has been taken over by Yiannis who has worked there for many years and his wife Maria. They have added a brand new patio roof - very impressive, new furniture , a new improved menu but above all a new breath of air into the hotel - it was good before but now it is so much better.
The new menu offers fresh Greek food at good prices, other food such as salads, pizza, pasta etc all fresh and very good with very good prices in these tough times.
Drink prices all very reasonable too.
But tthe staff make the hotel - the hotel itself is very clean and well looked after with daily room cleaning - but the staff - Carol, George, Yiannis and Maria combine to make you welcome and feel included. Nothing is too much trouble and you even get to learn many Greek words.
By day it is great to sit by the pool or in the garden area and relax. By night the bar is lively with George and his friendly and lively manner never failing to make us laugh (Pippa George?!!) - a great holiday - thanks everybody!! Ian and Linz.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rhodoslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
0.1 mi away
Afandou Sky Hotel
Afandou Sky Hotel
#12 of 18 in Afandou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodos Star Hotel
Rodos Star Hotel
#4 of 18 in Afandou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Achousa Hotel
Achousa Hotel
#32 of 70 in Faliraki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#6 of 15 in Lardos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
6.8 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pastida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Days Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Days Hotel

Property: Golden Days Hotel
Address: Pernou, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Afandou
#5 Family Hotel in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Days Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Days Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Days
Golden Days Afandou
Golden Days Hotel Rhodes/Afandou, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing