We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Days Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Days Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just read review named 'triton' areactually staying at same time and have to say my views are complete opposite, yannis,Maria and George are amazing people, and always aim to please you,the hotel is lovely and they have worked very hard to get it up to this standard,the food is delicious, and service is excellent, and entertainment is great, we have had great fun,and met some amazing friends,we have returned to this hotel for a number of years we love it and are heading back to golden days in a few weeks time,we love the place and all our friends we have made over the years,would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    55
    26
    18
    18
See reviews for
85
153
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

myself and my family and friends went to afandou last summer for a week, we stayed in the golden days and were made feel so welcome! There is such a family feel to this hotel and it is beautiful. This hotel deserves 5 stars in my own personal opinion as yamos, maria and george couldnt have been better hosts if they tried! There was always something fun to do from the greek night, to the bingo night and also to the karaoke night(my favorite one) - It was just great!! For shopping I would reccomend Faliraki which is just 10 minutes away in a taxi, or even better- Rhodes town! which is about half an hour away but is just so beautiful and traditionally greek with the gorgeous old, medieval town and the more modern new town, there is something for everyone! Faliraki beach is also by far the nicest beach I have ever been to in my life and I've been to about 17 different countries! Go to rhodes (particularly afandou-golden days!) - You wont regret it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I was quite upset to read the rant against the Golden Days as my friend and I had a lovely holiday there in September. Even though we had asked for a quiet first floor room our holiday organiser had requested a ground floor poolside room. As soon as we mentioned this to Maria she very quickly sorted out a first floor room at the back with no problems. It is a two star hotel but was clean and Maria, yianni and Yiorgos were 5 star people. Nothing was too much trouble for them and even though working very long hours they were always helpful and friendly. There was a real family atmosphere and many of the quests had been going for years.On our last evening we were hugged and kissed goodbye and it felt like we were leaving family behind and that is much more important than a missing sink plug!
So thank you to everyone at Golden Days and please don't let one person get you down.
Dot

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter with a view over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DOT V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

this place is just awful beyond beliefe it needs lifting into the 20th century. the rooms are just dropping to bits. sinks falling off walls. no sink plugs. fridges with no no handles on. if you ask for a sink plug you get shouted at. the owner needs to sell his audi tt and put the money into repairing the rooms. TRULY AWFULL!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank terry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIANNIS - MARIA T, Owner at Golden Days Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Terry D,

Since this place is awfull why you told us you had an amazing time here??????
Since this place is awfull and you had so many problems why you didn't ask from your tour operator to change you in a 5 star hotel?????
Couse as we read what you wrote in your mind oviesly Golden Days Hotel is a 5 star hotel.

Dear Terry D Golden Days Hotel is a 2 star hotel and this the hotel you paid for.
A cheap and clean hotel with a family atmosphere.

Now as about the things you wrote....you were checked in a room at the back and as you told us you didn't like to see the trees couse it is like a jungle for you although many people prefer the rooms at the back couse they love the view.
Anyway we had a departure that day and we saw you the room and you said this room is amazing and you changed rooms.

The afternoon of the same day you changed room and you said that this oom was amazing you come at the bar with a very aggresive and not polite way and said to yiannis come in my room.

So yiannis didn't say anything just followed you in the room.
And then you start being very rude to yiannis telling him what is this and what is that.
You have to know dear Terry D , that when you saw the room in order to change and you said it was amazing nothing was wrong with it and sudenly all the things in there were broken??????

So yiannis haven't said anything to you and after you went out he went into the room and fix everything as you said and he put also a sink plug which you never ask from us.
But you have to know dear Terry D, that all these things you say they were broken earlier that day didn't exist and between 3 hours time everything were broken.....??????

Now as about the audi TT, since you have such a big complex with Yiannis couse he owns it, next time you come to rhodes, book first a 5 star hotel to stay and then come in Golden Days for a visit and yiannis will give you the audi TT for a drive.

Golden Days Audi TT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Just back from our second holiday here this year. As usual we had a great holiday thanks to Yiannis, Maria, George and all the staff. It feels like going home when we arrive and are welcomed by them. The number of visitors who return year after year after year just proves what a wonderful hotel it is. It is only a very basic typical Greek hotel but is so clean and has all you could want for a wonderful holiday. We will be back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geraldine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

me and my wife stayed at golden days hotel in june and september we would like to thank yanni, maria and george for making us feel very welcome and the whole atmosphere in the hotel with all the other guests was second to none.great entertainment, quality food we will definetely be going back next june and september.look forward to seeing you all again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel may only be 2 star on paper, but in reality it is far higher. Yianni, Maria, and George put a great amount of effort into the daily running of the hotel.
The cleanliness is amazing, the food is good, and the bar is value.
There is a some organised entertainment, but if you don't want to be involved then that is ok too.
The village has many good restaurants and bars, and if you want to walk 20 mins it has a beach that is empty every day but Sunday.
All in all, a great hotel, in a good location

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinGrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
0.1 mi away
Afandou Sky Hotel
Afandou Sky Hotel
#12 of 18 in Afandou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodos Star Hotel
Rodos Star Hotel
#4 of 18 in Afandou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Achousa Hotel
Achousa Hotel
#33 of 72 in Faliraki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#6 of 15 in Lardos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
6.8 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pastida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Days Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Days Hotel

Property: Golden Days Hotel
Address: Pernou, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Afandou
#5 Family Hotel in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Days Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Days Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Days
Golden Days Afandou
Golden Days Hotel Rhodes/Afandou, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing