We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 star hotel ..5 star staff”
Review of Golden Days Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Days Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“2 star hotel ..5 star staff”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed 26/7/14 --3/8/14. It was our 1st visit to Golden Days Hotel but it will not be the last.. The staff Yiannis, Maria, George (YNWA) & Mikey are brilliant...nothing is too much trouble they all work extremely hard to ensure you have a pleasant stay, ...rooms are very clean and cleaned everyday, towels changed every day..if you want quiet you have the well looked after garden area..if you want fun you got the pool....the food is very good and a bit cheaper than most places around the village. there is entertainment about 4 nights karaoke, bingo, rock night, and a quiz night, on the couple of nights there isn't any, George keeps you entertained.. the bar closes when the last guest goes to bed..Brilliant holiday thanks to all the staff....we will be back...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clifford R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    55
    26
    19
    20
See reviews for
87
160
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Have just returned from yet another fantastic 2 week holiday at Golden days and we will be returning for many more years to come.

We travelled as a family there were 7 of us staying on a half board basis. The half board is excellent the food was delicious and all freshly prepared. One family member had special eating requirements and Yannis and Maria went out of there way to accommodate this and for this we can't thank them enough.

Golden days is a warm welcoming fun run hotel and nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. Upon arrival you are made to feel welcome and the check in process is very quick. Our rooms were spotless and clean to the back of the hotel. I have noticed people complain about not being able to leave the air con on whilst not in the room. I've stayed at 5 star hotels and you can't do that either therefore feel that comment is very unfair! Plus when you put your air con on it only takes a matter of mins to cool the room down.

Our boys had a great time in the pool and we also enjoyed the relaxing garden setting. The hotel grounds are spotless and well maintained.

The enterinment is fantastic. They offer band night, karaoke and bingo. We enjoyed all of these and George is great and gets really involved to ensure everyone is enjoying themselves whilst Yannis and Maria work extremely hard in the bar.

Yiannis, Maria, George and Mackie work very hard at ensuring all guest are made to feel welcome and are having an enjoying, relaxing holiday.

We made many new friends this year who will also be returning because of how welcome they are made to feel.

See you next year!

Bernard, Vicki and family xx

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our first time in Afandou and Rhodes. We have stayed at other Greek Islands but never stayed 2 star before. It was what we expected of a 2 star hotel, no frills but everything you needed and welcoming. We often stay all inclusive at 4 star hotels but chose this one as we like to try various places to eat when in Greece and wanted a feel of the real Greece rather than a run of the mill large chain hotel.
We ate at the Hotel a couple of times and the food quality and price is similar to others in Afandou, as are the drinks.
Maria, Yiannis and George all put long hours in and work really hard to keep this a successful business and as far as I can make out they are doing a good job.
Afandou itself is a rather quaint little village, just a nice size with a few bars, restaurants and a fantastic cake shop at the end of the road.
It's a ten minute walk to Afandou beach and a five to 10 minute walk in the other direction for the main square and the bus service to most destinations. Only 2.20 euros for the bus to Rhodes town and less if you fancy a trip into Faliraki or 10 euros in a taxi.
The only thing I can complain about is the amount of mopeds and bikes up and down the road outside all hours of day and night with their noisy engines. It was something that drove me mad but didn't seem to bother anybody else so must just have been me.
All in all we had a fantastic fun holiday and met some wonderful people whom hopefully we will remain good friends with.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clarem2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Golden Days is hard to review as it's listed as a 2* so do you rate against that, or against all hotel classes ? The average clientele is northern UK, scouse, geordie - or Glaswegian, looking for a low budget holiday, and for this market it delivers excellent value for money.

+ Spotlessly clean, a real credit - rooms, beds made up daily. We saw no bugs
+ Very good value for what it is
+ Nice, if busy, pool area, quieter garden area with loungers
+ Well stocked bar with very attentive service
+ Varied menu, not expensive, tho many customers just seem happy with their burgers.
+ Air-con available at 6e per day, it's common in Greece, perhaps they will all catch up one
day to providing such necessities, but it all has to be priced in somewhere
+ Family team + George make a real effort to say 'hello' and see you have what you want
+ Nice quiet fridge in the room, you don't need to turn off to sleep !
+ If you wanted late drink and owners gone, night boy would serve and you can pay in the
morning, very civilizied!

- Rooms are small and contents very basic. We had exactly 2 cups, 2 glasses, 2 knives, 2 forks etc, and none of the cutlery remotely matched! But relax! - you're in Greece, it's 2*, and you can get by. The kettle works, just take your own tea as the local Lipton's is v. weak.
- Can attract the lower end of the market holiday makers, but everyone seemed pleasant
- Stifado on a bed of soggy chips wasn't quite the Greek meal we planned, but other choices
worked out better. Next time we were given rice no problems.

= Entertainment, rock band, karaoke night not for us, but many others enjoyed them. Rather
"working man's club" - nothing wrong with that if it's your thing.
= Wi-Fi available at 12e for the week a little irritating in modern world, but it's free in many of
bars and restaurants. It didn't extend to my room though and cut out if too many users,
so at least the 12e cost kept the signal stronger !!
= Beds single and basic, not the ideal for romance, shall we say ! But we slept fine, it's
quieter with REAR room if you want that, and we got a distant view of sea.

Many people seem to love this hotel and I would not want to criticize people who work so hard to look after their customers, but others have commented on the management being chain smokers - and I know they have replied to say it's legal in Greece - and whilst many won't mind, it doesn't look great to non-smoking guests, and they will need to address this at some time.

Golden Days caters for a particular market, and does that well.
Travel tip - get a tax transfer, it's 25 minutes across land c.35e instead of 90 minutes in coach going everywhere, you can leave 2 hrs before flight as airport is well organized, instead of 4 hours before with coach.

Room Tip: Rear for quiet away from late bar and road, upstairs better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OvsiyenkoMyronova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had a great week. Lovely friendly welcome from Maria and Yannis and they couldn't be better hosts nothing was too much trouble. George always had a smile on his face and was wonderful at keeping you entertained.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moira911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I have been going now for three years now and me and my family have always had a warm welcome from all the golden days staff.
Not only do we get a warm welcome from Yiannis and Maria but so do all the other guests who are at the hotel.
I have noticed that people from other hotels come to use the pool and although not everyone purchases food or drink, they are still made to feel very welcome.
In all the times that i have visited, and even on a very busy evening, i have never seen anyone neglected or ignored.
Golden Days is a 2 star hotel, personally i think that they deserve 3 stars. All the hard work that they put into the hotel to make it feel family friendly is unbelievable.
I am looking forward to my next holiday there with Yiannis, Maria, George and Sitiris!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnaThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We enjoyed a very relaxing week in July. Everyone is friendly and there to ensure you enjoy your holiday in a relaxed and welcoming way. The hotel was well situated for what we wanted. A short walk into the main square and 20 minutes to the beach. The hotel was happy to order taxis if you wanted to venture farther afield or for the main towns you could catch a bus.
We enjoyed relaxing evenings on the terrace enjoying the entertainment and drinking cocktails. The garden was perfect for sunbathing and the pool area was ideal for all ages. Golden Days was the ideal place for our family holiday.

Room Tip: We had a side room which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
0.3 mi away
Rodos Star Hotel
Rodos Star Hotel
#4 of 18 in Afandou
937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Achousa Hotel
Achousa Hotel
#31 of 72 in Faliraki
321 reviews
6.8 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pastida
453 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rodos Blue Resort
Rodos Blue Resort
#8 of 18 in Afandou
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Days Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Days Hotel

Property: Golden Days Hotel
Address: Pernou, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Afandou
#5 Family Hotel in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Days Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Days Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Days
Golden Days Afandou
Golden Days Hotel Rhodes/Afandou, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing