We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the worst”
Review of Golf View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golf View Hotel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Reviewed 26 August 2012

just back after 2wks spent at the golf view with my partner and our 2 boys (aged 13 and 12), first off, its basic, clean, n cheap. the food was edable, although not much of a choice, especially for the boys, most nites we had to take them out for something to eat. theres no entertainment at the hotel, and nothing for the kids to do except air hock, pool, or internet, all which had to be paid for, not even wi-fi for the kids to connect their ipods. the drink was very weak, we sat chatting 1 day and drank vodka from half 2 in the afternoon till 8 that nite, felt as if we had been drinking coke all day. we weren't the only 1s to comment on this. dannielle the barmaid was lovely, however, george was worse than a man short! a young girl needed an ambulance whilst he was on nite duty and he didnt no the number to call, i dread to think wot would have happened if it was life or death. i wouldnt book this if you have older kids as ours were bored, however younger children are happy enough as there is swings and a chute and seesaw. book any excursions outwith the hotel as 1 trip we saved over 100 euros by going into falaraki and booking with the agents there. if you go dont expect 5 star, coz you wont have paid for that, its basic and clean, and cheap, just wot u need to cheer u up after our rotten summer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhagzmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

Me and two friends stayed here in August after getting a late deal. We paid £450 for flights/hotel for a week all inclusive so weren't expecting too much for the relatively cheap price. The hotel is situated about 10 minutes taxi ride (10 euros) from Falaraki and about half an hour from Rhodes Town (2 euros on the bus outside the hotel). The beach is also only a ten minute walk away so a great location.

We found the staff to be friendly and attentive and although we missed a couple of room cleans due to still being in bed ha, when we asked they cleaned and provided new towels for us straight away. The food was just as expected: average with a selection of pasta, meat and chips on offer along with fresh salad. The drinks on offer included local lager, selection of cocktails, a few spirits and wine. Our drink of choice was ouzo and lemon - really refreshing if you haven't tried it. Free drinks stopped at 11pm but you can still buy drinks after that time until early morning and they were really cheap at about 2-3 euros.

The pool was great and there was always plenty of sun loungers, even after getting up and strolling down after 12pm most days ;-) All in all, a fantastic hotel made even better by the people staying at the hotel the week we were there. I can't complain at all because there was really nothing wrong with it at the price we paid.

I would try and see Rhodes Town one night and have a meal there as it has some lovely bars and restaurants and the old town is great. Falaraki is lively too and we went there most nights after the free drinks stopped. There is a hotel across the road called the Georgia too if you fancy getting out for a change but don't want to go too far. Afandou has a couple of bars but there isn't really much there but it's a nice walk if you fancy a stroll on an afternoon and only takes about 15 mins to walk there.

One complaint...there were no clouds all week! :-(

Room Tip: We paid 50 euros for A/C for the week and it was a must in August temperatures. Get's very hot a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jonathon-Monkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

weve just returned from golf view hotel and found it filthy staff were very un helpful especially the barman george we were told it was an all inclusive that was a joke the drinks u got were watered down and such small glasses as for the food for breakfast was hard rolls and beans there was no fruit or any other selection our second morn we were there the cat had vomited up in the restraunt and even that was a big chore for them to clean the lunch and dinner menu was a bit alterd but repitive theres no air condition in hotel anywere but the rooms which u pay 50 euros for i mean in august it gets so warm and ur trying to eat its not acceptable.the bedrooms r basic but dirty the maids need to clean up bit better we never got r beds changed or giving fresh towels u had to keep asking for them htis hotel was a 3 star stayed in a lot better ones should b a one star minus will never stay here again will go back to rhodes but never golf view hotel

Room Tip: al rooms r the same filthy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank emanuel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We had a lovely week and met some lovely people. Clean towels every day were provided and enough choice of food. Danielle behind the bar was ver accommodating and friendly. Not much choice of fruit but if you like melon you are laughing. Cold showers most days but if you have a shower before 6pm again you are laughing. 50 euros for air conditioning for the week which is a lot to pay if you are not prepared for it or if you have young familiy, also no entertainment at all although there is a bar over the road which is air conditioned and provides good entertainment. The beach is a long walk but there is a bus on 3 times a day.At the end of the day you cant expect 5 star treatment when you pay 3 star prices overall a very enjoyable relaxing holiday

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moira g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This hotel is basic. We stayed here 9-16 August 2012. We had to pay 50euros extra for air con for the whole week, and we needed it! The pool is small and beyond the concreted area is poor condition grass. There were plenty of sun beds but only 6 cushions. We had a cockroach in our bath, but we were lucky as next door to us had lots of them! The sheets and towels were in very poor condition (one lot of towels left with us had brown stains on them!!). Hot water was only available between 6-7pm. Our room was 'cleaned' (and I use the term loosely) at about 6pm each day ( I won't even describe the condition of the toilet brush). The food was very basic (my daughter lived on chip butties for lunch and dinner). The only fruit was watermelon (everyday). Breakfast was ok if you wanted beans,eggs,very fatty bacon and hot dogs every day and I mean every day. You have to ask the chef for a fried egg (if you could see him) and they came with a 'crispy frilly edge' to them! We asked for an omlette but this was not possible. Tables were not laid with cutlery and you had to clear your own table. There was not enough salt & pepper for every table. Vegetables, as we know them, were not offered (only as a brown stir fried mush). There was a chiller with a small selection of salad (but after seeing a dead wasp in there we didn't fancy it anymore). The one day they offered small tartlets (as opposed to a small polystyrene cup of 'dream topping type of stuff' that was there every day) there were flies sitting on them. There is no air con in the dining area or the reception. They don't have any 'diet' drinks, only full fat fizzies in very small glasses. We hired a car for 3 days and was glad we did as we couldn't bear to spend a whole 7 days here.
There is 1 supermarket and 1 restaurant about 100 metres away alongside the dual carriageway. There is nothing else within walking distance, you will need a taxi or a car or even take a bus. The golf course (over which the hotel has a view) is in very poor condition (our golf experts laughed and we never saw anyone playing on it, despite the sprinklers being turned on each night), but between the hotel and the golf course is the builders yard.
There is 2 pool tables and 1 air hockey table in the reception area. Also there is a very slow internet computer charged at 1 euro for 20mins. I agree with other holidaymakers, that you get what you pay for, and I wish we had paid a little more. Won't be going back to this hotel (ever).

Room Tip: Room 117 was the last room to be serviced (very late in the afternoon) but had a good air con unit a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ankh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Returned two days ago from a week at this hotel. I have to say that I have seen better accomodation. The sheets and towels were clean but "tired", there was a hole in the curtain there were only 6 cushions for the sunbeds which were uncomfortable without, and the hot water for showers was only available after 11am and ran out by 6pm.

It was extremely hot while we were there and we gladly forked out the 50 euros for air con, however there was none in the rest of the building and it was very uncomfortable to eat inside.

Having said all this, the food was good. Not a huge selection but it was a small hotel and there were not enough guests to justify a huge range. The deserts were somewhat lacking - melon or jelly in polystyrene cups.

It was not a long walk to the beach but too far in the heat for us. The hotel run a free shuttle service which we took advantage of, however they forgot to pick us up and we had to ask someone in the nearby golf club to phone them for us. They were very apologetic, however.

The staff could not have been more helpful, and a special thank you to George. We arrived tired and hungry after dinner had finished. He insisted on giving us the tuna rolls that the cook had prepared for his supper and also found us a couple of souvlaki from the barbecue that they had laid on for a guests anniversary.

All in all think we got good value for the very reasonable price we paid. I would go again but not in August as it was too hot to enjoy all the beauty of Rhodes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maz47-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

hotel was clean bit of a rip off for air con they charge 50 euros a week, all inclusive it was not the drinks were like pop and you could have 50 vodkas and still not be tipsy, food rubbish good job i didnt take kids as they would not have eaten all week, pool lovely and plenty of sunbeds and shade, the bar staff george (greek) and danielle (english) were fab and had a great laugh with them but poor danielle the owners were horrible to her, this hotel is a little far out and you would need a car to visit other places 20 minute walk to afandou found a great pizza place danielles which was awesome, do not expect much from this hotel apart from it been clean and friendly, if you just want to chill for a week which we did it is ideal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank toria_727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
0.0 mi away
Rodos Blue Resort
Rodos Blue Resort
#10 of 18 in Afandou
144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodos Star Hotel
Rodos Star Hotel
#4 of 18 in Afandou
1,053 reviews
9.0 mi away
Rhodian Sun Hotel
Rhodian Sun Hotel
#1 of 2 in Paradisi
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Afandou Sky Hotel
Afandou Sky Hotel
#12 of 18 in Afandou
138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dessole Lippia Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel

Address: Rodou - Lindou, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Afandou
Price Range: £23 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golf View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Rhodes/Afandou, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing