We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAD A GREAT HOLIDAY!!!!”
Review of Golf View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golf View Hotel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
North West
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“HAD A GREAT HOLIDAY!!!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

First of all i would like to say the staff at the hotel are nice and friendly especially rachel, danielle and manager mikellos. The staff made us feel really welcome, got to know them very well, felt very comfortable. If we ever had an issue or problem the staff would go out of there way to try to solve the problem for us which was more than we expected. Mikellos did take people to the beach 3 times daily, which is great as it is a long walk to the beach, he will also bring you back to the hotel. Mikellos is lovely and will drive you to other places as well if you ask him, he high fived us every day.

Check in - On arrival we were greeted by rachel and mikellos, we were shown to our room which was on the bottom floor after a few minutes we decided to ask for air conditioning which cost us 80 euro's for 2 weeks, we had to move to another room because the air con wasnt working in the first room but this was the only issue we had for the whole 2 weeks. The room was basic with a balcony, they were cleaned everyday with fresh towels. We found the room adequate for 2 weeks but remember it is only a 3 star so do not expect to much, you pay for what you get and air con is a must as it gets far too hot, its lovely to walk into a nice cold room after a hot day in the sun. Rachel was the first member of staff we met and we had a laugh with her straight away, so easy to get on with, very easy going person.

All Inclusive - The hotel had 1 bar open from 10am till 11pm which was run by rachel and danielle, one doing the morning and one doing the evening shifts, the alcohol was local spirits and beer and the food had minimal choice but was nice enough for a 3 star. The girls behind the bar did a great job serving customers, they never stopped or had a break, they even had to put up with rude customers who never said please or thank you.
In between breakfast, lunch and dinner there was snacks available but you did have to be quick if you wanted any as certain guests were grabbing handfuls and stuffing them in there bags leaving other guests hungry although if you was feeling peckish late on you could ask one of the staff to order food to be delivered from a nearby takeaway.

Pool area - The pool area was a nice size, big enough for the size of the hotel, adequate seating area outside, the sunbeds though were not very comfortable unless you got one with a cushion, not all beds had cushions, and you would be lucky to get one. It also had a garden with a play area for children but also big enough if you wanted some space away from the pool area. We had some good times around the pool after meeting allison & graham, kerry & lee, Gill, Kenny & shirley, Paul the plod, shan, tish & family, and many more....

If you ever needed any information or directions then gill aka shirley valentine would probably know the answer.

On the whole the hotel has a great atmosphere and the staff and most of the guests are friendly dont come to the hotel expecting 5 star quality come here if you want a fun holiday with plenty of laughs to last you a lifetime. Thanks again to rachel who always amused us with a variety of different acts including the chicken leg dance "haha happy days", also the horrible danielle (lol whateverrrr) who also speaks fluent greek and helped us out (the show off haha) and mikellos who couldnt speak a word of english but always had a smile on his face.!!!!

Room Tip: Alfa bar in afandou village very good with entertainment karaoke on fridays. Might be good to hire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathrine1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    60
    61
    36
    98
See reviews for
57
125
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Me and my friend went here for a week and planned on chilling out the entire time. The staff were really really friendly and helpful!
The hotel may have been a bit up the way but the hotel put on a free mini bus to the local beach which is stunning! And the bus stop to other places is 2 minutes walk. So easy access to anywhere you want to go.
Of course the weather was beautiful!!! The pool in the hotel was bigger than I imagined and loads of sun loungers to choose from!
I would definitely stay there again, had a lush time! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjvw15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Hi everyone.pretty much agree with what everyone has said here.hotel is what you would expect for this star rating in greece.my biggest bug bear as mentioned is the staff.Danielle was good but one women who was on holiday called Rachel was given a job behind the bar was disastrous. She was drunk from morning to night and rather scary to look at in all honesty.several times I tried to get a drink but she was too busy getting 'hammered' with a red headed women who's daily role was to make an utter fool of herself drunk. Really not my cup of tea and will kot be returning

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnsleyterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

With our sons now grown up my husband and I decided to have a holiday on our own and booked last minute via icelolly.com. The reviews for this hotel were not good and we were a bit worried that we had made a mistake but we were on a budget and thought we would give it a go. Two weeks after the booking we arrived at 1.30 in the morning and were shown to our room by Rachel who worked behind the bar and she gave us a complimentary drink each. We came down to breakfast and there was quite a good choice of cereal, toast and if you wanted to have a cooked breakfast that was available too. The pool was lovely and the weather was so hot we made good use of this. The food available for lunch and dinner perhaps could have been more varied but was very nice although if you don't like water melon there was no other choice of fruit. The beach was lovely and the water very clear, the manager would drive you down to the beach 3 times during the day if you did not want to walk. Also the village was about a 20 minute walk and was very pleasant. We took the bus into other towns on the island and the island itself is very beautiful.

As for the staff at the hotel all I can say is Rachel and Danielle were absolutely fantastic. What can I say about Rachel, she is hilarious, everyday she made me laugh with her antics, what you see is what you get and she is a straight talking girl with a brilliant sense of humour. I would roar when she was working behind the bar and when she had a quiet spot and she was so hot she would run and jump in the pool to cool down saying Happy Days, then back behind the bar carrying on serving, hilarious. Danielle always had a smile for you no matter how busy she was and would take the time to chat when not too busy. These 2 girls ran the bar on their own in shifts and worked really hard to keep everyone happy but also did not stand any nonsense. I on more than one occasion saw how rude some people could be to them but they handled people brilliantly.

This hotel is what it is, a quiet, relaxing and friendly hotel. The rooms are cleaned daily with new towels and sheets, the shower/bath are small but adequate, food is fine but not varied, there is no entertainment although travel agents need to be aware of this as we looked at various ones and some say there is and some say there isn't so they need to get this sorted.

Would we go back there again? We certainly would especially if Rachel and Danielle were still there to entertain us.

Room Tip: Would recommend air con (there is a fee of 40euros)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

In my assessment of this hotel, I would draw definite comparisons with much loved TV shows such as "Loose women, Jerry Springer, Shameless, the above mentioned Jezza, Benidorm and, I have probably missed some!!
I will be both fair and honest however.

The check-in / Reception..............Quick enough, room allocated quickly, they give you a very basic synopsis of how things work and that's about all. The daughter of the owner is named Valecia. Rarely have I ever met someone with such rudeness, arrogance and poor customer service skills. If she wasn't related to the owner, she would not be in employment there. BE WARNED about her. "Front of house" is often an accurate reflection of any establishment . There are too many occasions where we had problems with her to list. She makes you feel very unwelcome. The air-conditioning cost us £65 and often, it didn't work. I paid $4 to use T'internet and when it didn't work she wasn't interested and walked off at the end of her shift. ignoring our query. The relationship with her broke down so irretrievably, we had to get other members of staff to assist us with what should have been Valecia's responsibility. Mikalos (The hotel owner) please dismiss her she is ruining your hotel and upsetting guests and not just one but several.

The room............It was basic, but clean, tidy and cleaned every day with fresh towels. Good shower. TV had only the Islamic channel in English

The hotel "Lobby"......had a pool table (Which the staff have to open for you) it's also ripped. There is little else in there despite the hotels website claiming games room Etc. Nothing for kids to do there.

The pool area.......Very small and basic but nice enough. There was a small garden area to it's rear where you could get some privacy. There was a child's swing, see-saw and a slide there. I didn't see many kids using it. They got more use from Russian adult guests and, in particular one weird Russian women who would use the swing for 2 hours at a time. It badly needs oiling and if you hear it, you will know what I mean!! The pool was a bit mirky at first but, they cleaned it up and I am not aware of anyone getting an ear-infection. The sunbeds were not very comfortable unless you could get the blue covers but, there were only about 10% of them in ratio to sunbeds. There are some nice benches that are shaded and, in general, the pool area is OK.

The food and the dining area................In general, I found the food to be acceptable for a budget hotel. It was fairly varied with the exception of breakfast. You could get tea and coffee and juice.
The problem was at meal times, it was very difficult to get access to the buffet area because of how it is set up. You have to be quick, in fact VERY QUICK or, all the food would soon go. Some of the Russians I do not believe have ever experienced social conduct and behaviour and the concept of sharing, as their plates demonstrated once filled. I could hear the sound of a H.G.V lorry backing up to their sun-beds!!!! Pure unadulterated greed. The hotel claims (On it's own literature) that the in-between meal snack times run from 10.30-11.30 am and then 15.00-17.00. This is utter nonsense. They bring out one platter of sandwiches about 11.15 am and another about 15.45 with approx 20 filled rolls on to feed all the guests and that's all. You need to be quick because once they're gone. they're gone. The catering staff spoke little English but, on the whole, I have no real complaints here.

There is a daily bus service from the hotel to Afandou beach which is very useful. Although the beach is very pebbly it's beautiful nonetheless. This runs from 10.00 and they will pick you up at 12 and then from 12 to 16.00 hrs similarly.

"The bar and the drinks"............English staff working it. I found Danielle to be friendly and efficient.. Rachel had holidayed at the hotel and got a job there and she put her i-pod on the audio system to entertain guests.
The whole bar area had a "clique" that I have never before experienced at a hotel. If your face didn't fit there, you would struggle to be accepted. There were little pockets of people who thought that they were the owners/ managers of the entire hotel. You know who you are!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Because the owner spoke poor English as did his daughter, they rely on English staff to liaise and communicate with the guests. This in itself is fine and perfectly acceptable but this is, where I think, things break-down. The bar staff could often implement orders and rules that were nothing to do with them. Things became a bit like "HAVING A BBQ IN YOUR MATES BACK GARDEN" it was their party and you weren't invited. All of us are paying guests equally but, it didn't feel like that. Bar staff over familiar with guests, sitting round BEFORE AND AFTER their shifts getting drunk with guests as if they were still on their holidays and not to serve. You really really have to make your own mind up but, you will see what I mean, I promise you will.

Despite the problems, we made our own fun and, made some great friends. Gill, we miss you. Kerry and Lee you too. Kathryn and Phil, Paul the plod, Kenny and Shirley, Tina.. Excellent times loads of fun and ton's of laughs.

This is my 5th time to Rhodes. Would I return to this hotel? No. I have NEVER witnessed a hotel like this before. Total and utter madhouse!! It was like a club 30-90 holiday. The left hand didn't know what the right hand was doing. They made the rules up as they went along.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrayG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I'm just returned after spending a week at this hotel in Rhodes - It is a quite place run by a very decent Greek man - Matakisis. But what makes the place, what gives it, its heart and soul and what made the holiday for me was the wonderful staff. Danielle who's smiling, helpful and pleasant self kept the beer flowing and who spoke Greek like a native managed to helped us all navigate all our interactions with our Greek hosts. But at the very centre of the stage is the ever present Rachel who's wit and humour stole the show with her constant iPod supply of sloppy 80s songs her infectious laugh and her firm Northern authority.Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Hotel is on nice place with nice view, just 15min wolk to Afandou village where you can met lovely local people,nice small restaruants and taverns.Best pizza in Danielle restaraunt.No big clubs.Just 30 min bus to Rhodos town and similar distance to Lindos.Very close to sandy Tsambika beach witch cristal water.

Hotel is clean,nice sweaming pool area,food ok.Greek stuff working hard and always try to help, but they speak english very little.

Bar stuff is terrible,Rachel mayby try to help you, but she is always drunk from the morning and look scary.Danielle is one of most nasty person what we ever met.Never try help,ignorance.Simply question she even don't try answer.Just rude no or yes.They have a good feedback from people who drink with them.Few reviews simply lie,we back uk 27/07 i dont know how they can have last few good feedbacks,was no people in there from the review.They will treat you like unwanted quest.All inclusive mean small lager and few coctails for rest you have to pay.After 11pm is no free drink.couple times was no lager,some problem have girls in bar,so 9 pm you ask for a lager ,answer - not now is broken ,later they fix this but after 11pm and charge you, propably bar stuff drunk too much!!!

After all we spend good time,lovely quaite place if you want rest.No for young people.We will back there with friedns if bar stuff will change.

Room Tip: air condition room,and keep light on when you go sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Afandou hotels
0.4 mi away
Rodos Blue Resort
Rodos Blue Resort
#8 of 18 in Afandou
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rodos Star Hotel
Rodos Star Hotel
#4 of 18 in Afandou
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes
0.8 mi away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
0.2 mi away
Dessole Lippia Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel

Property: Golf View Hotel
Address: Rodou - Lindou, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays and Cancelon so you can book your Golf View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Rhodes/Afandou, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing