We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away for your own safety”
Review of Golf View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golf View Hotel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stay Away for your own safety”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My Friend and I arrived in the late hours of saturday night, early hours of sunday. we got to the Golf View at 5.00 am and the manager took our Passports and told us to sit and wait. another couple who had arrived were giving a key and they went to their room. 25 minutes later the manage called me over to say we where not on his list and to sit and wait. we waited around for another hour and then i asked the manager when we would be getting our room. he told me again to sit down and wait that we would not be getting a room until 12.00. after for sitting around for over 4 hours without even as much as a coffee or a glass of water, i again approached the manager to ask why we had to wait when the other couple had been given a room. Again i was told to sit down and wait with an angry tone. i sat down again and 35 minutes later he shouted over " you come here, his is keys, go to room upstairs" we went up to the room and were greeted with 2 dead cockroaches on the floor in our room, we had a shower which you had to hold because it did not have a hook in the wall. we had to pay 50 euros for air con, which the manager could turn off from reception. when we went for breakfast, it was cold sausages from a tin, no toast, cold beans and eggs that were like bricks. the orange juice out of the machine came out as water and the coffee came out as a cup of foam. later that day when we went for lunch, it was the same sausages and beans from breakfast and round things that looked liked burgers in breadcrumbs. salad that had been out from breakfast and meatballs that were cold with pasta. dinner that night was meatballs, pasta and burgers that had been out at lunch time and greek salad. we then went to the bar and ordered beers, we got half a small glass of beer and half foam. they had no Bacardi and we were only allowed one drink at a time. at 10.50 they closed the bar and removed drinks from your table if you had not finished them. the doors to the bar where closed and you had to walk around the hotel in the dark to get in the front. this hotel is not fit for for anyone to stay in, let alone people with families. we paid for All Inclusive and did not get it. there were no snacks, the tennis court is a building site, the rooms are disgusting, the pool table doesn't work, there is no music and if you complain to the manager which i did, he gets very aggressive, or throws you out. As a former Travel agent for 2 major companies, i strongly urge you NOT TO STAY AT THE GOLF VIEW HOTEL.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Annette6662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    60
    61
    36
    98
See reviews for
57
125
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Right let's get some things ironed out. We arrived on a early morning flight had breakfast then was shown to our room. Room was clean and fresh towels and bed linen given each day. We stayed for 7 nights and to be fair it was ok. We paid just short of £300 each and we were fed 3 times a day, food was repetitive & not recycled like some insinuate, as a regular user of all inclusive holidays it is the same style where ever you go. The people running the hotel are new to the business and are learning day by day like we all do with new experiences. The owner was quick to resolve issues regarding others in the hotel, and yes some were asked to leave, but their behaviour was appalling and he was right to do so.
The things you come to expect with all inclusive holidays such as air con and wifi are not. There is a charge of either €50 for a week for air con or €80 for a fortnight, the wifi is limited and is charged at €12 a week and is only accessible in the lobby or bar area.
There is a village at the top of the hill (I would strongly advise you take the taxi €5) and there are some lovely bars and restaurants we went to 'Danielle's' and got medium pizza, fries, garlic bread and 4 drinks all for €19, bargain and was lovely.
When we booked all we wanted was a quiet week in the sun and that's what we got. If you decide to go enjoy we certainly did, I feel a week is just right length of time. The owner was always polite to ourselves and although his wife's English was limited she was pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annie1974Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Arrived 10.30pm Wednesday night. Checked in and went to the bar for a drink to served half a pint of Greek lager, half head, half beer, which I referred to as my quarter pint of beer. We sat down and watched two staff members being sacked and thrown off the premises. Then at 11pm that we could not even buy a drink and we were told to finish the ones we had immediately, then we were told to go to our room or leave the hotel. Nice welcome. The following day we went down for breakfast which was inedible, stale and not fresh. We had to pay €50 for air con and €12 for wifi. That night five families got thrown out for waiting in the lobby for their friends. The manager was rude abrupt and had clear dislike for guests. The all inclusive drinks consisted of local spirits and ouzo(moonshine) out of a plastic water bottle. There was only red/white wine and lager available until 5pm, no long drinks. One night the manger turned of our air conditioning and I had to go downstairs to get it reinstated. When I struck up a conversation with the new barman, the manager took him to one side and it seems told him not to talk to guests. Everyone else we came across outside of this hotel were friendly and hospitable. One of the bars in the village when they found out we were staying at the golf view they gave us hot and cold appetisers and snacks for free. He even gave us a lift back to the hotel. The hotel across the road the Georgia offered us the use of their pool free and free wifi which didn't drop out. Because of the awful food at the hotel we had to eat out a lot which does not seem fair when you have paid for all inclusive. Never never go there try the hotel Georgia instead or another part of the island.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Afandou hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Well what can I say was dropped off in dark told to walk up the hill with cases that was the start the room basic but ok no hot water in morning and shower you had to hold no plugs in bath or hand basin we went all inclusive but managers wife tried charging us for breakfast first morning great start and as for the food well would not have given it to a dog let alone humans drinks if we wanted spirits before 5pm you had to pay air con you had to pay for to Internet also 12euros per wk but only worked on 1 device so if you had iPad and phone you had to pay twice have been on all inclusive holidays before and never seen anything like this would not go again but on plus side all the Greek people outside the hotel were friendly and made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IronvilleStudmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having just returned from a week at The Golf View,I really do not know where to start!
The otherwise clean and well situated hotel was totally ruined by the despotic management couple who became known as Basil and Cybil! and the inedible and often unrecognisable fodder dished up
The staff were told not to talk to anyone,infact in the first 4 days,3 were sacked for conversing with the guests one poor girl had to work with a scarf around her neck to cover bruising inflicted by the managers hands
The bar closed at 11pm and all drinks had to be drunk by then and everyone had to either go to bed or go out. The patio doors onto the outside area were locked and lights turned off too!
The beer,although drinkable was served in half pint glasses which all staff were strictly told "half beer half foam" thus making the serving about a quarter of a pint
The worst thing to happen was on Friday morning 5 families were evicted without warning for being out too late on the outdoor area and being loud. I have to say that our room was in very close proximity and we heard nothing.these weren't kids by the way! One of the families was a mum and young daughter,put out with no where to go

I have never in my life come across a more horrible management couple who openly verbally abused both staff and guests alike and also admitted to not liking English people!
We all work hard for our holidays do not deserve treatment like this
Take this lead and spread the word around Do Not Go To The Golf View in Afandou

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My 3 year old Daughter arrived 26th June 14. The room was fine, lovely balcony but you had to pay for air con. Started off as 6 euro's a day. Then the manger put it up to 10.
The food was satisfactory & not that great. Little variety & not as fresh as you would like. Breakfast started at 7.30am until 10am. Then if u were all inclusive you could not get another drink until 11am, unless you paid. Drinks were from 11am until 11pm. The pint glasses were small & frothy. The hotel manager & his wife were funny & you were only allowed 1 drink when the other had been finished. At 10.50pm they would stop serving & ask u to drink up & close the outside pool area. Bar would shut & even if u paid for drinks you were not able too.
The young staff were students who told us they had been told to not talk or smile.
The male manager also slept in the sofa in the Lobby as the younger residents would get in & see him in the early hours.
The baths were half size. No plug & taps wouldn't work only shower. The shower was not fitted on to the wall you would have to hold it. Not ideal if you have a large bottom or Children to care for.
The rooms are pleasant & clean. Also come with a small fridge & the balcony is a fair size.
The pool is great, but only open 10am until 7pm although you could go in earlier.
Not much variety at meal times & not that great to it.
You could only have ice cream with your evening meal & would have to use a small plastic tub not a bowl.
My Daughter & I made the most of it but I would not go again & wouldn't class it as a proper all inclusive holiday!! It's worth paying that little bit extra & going somewhere else!!
Happy Holidays!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Nothing about this place is as advertised! No free wifi and when you have paid for it it cuts out and when you can log on it is very slow! You have to pay for air-con 50euros a week and they cut that off early! Food is shocking! Got food poisoning... lights out at eleven if not before and no pool after 7. Pool table does not work. Management are argumentative and agressive and the staff are not aloud to talk to you. Snack bar is non existant and the barbecue is rusted to the ground. This place makes faulty towers look like the ritz! No music aloud and if you get caught playing cards after lights out your kicked out! (If you're lucky)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kezzalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Afandou hotels
0.4 mi away
Rodos Blue Resort
Rodos Blue Resort
#9 of 18 in Afandou
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
339 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rodos Star Hotel
Rodos Star Hotel
#4 of 18 in Afandou
933 reviews
0.8 mi away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
0.2 mi away
Dessole Lippia Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel

Property: Golf View Hotel
Address: Rodou - Lindou, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK and Cancelon so you can book your Golf View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Rhodes/Afandou, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing