We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basil faulty towers”
Review of Golf View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golf View Hotel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“basil faulty towers”
Reviewed 10 June 2009

do not go to this hotel - it is terrible service very poor and food unedible, to say that the hotel has a golf view it is an under statement. The view overlooks a builders yard which starts work at 8am until dark - the dust gets everywhere if you are lucky enough to get a balcony any complaints to the staff are ignored - and get up early for a shower, if not be prepared for a cold shower this hotel needs to be reviewed by travel agents. I would not even recommend this hotel to my enemy

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank hrhScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    60
    61
    36
    98
See reviews for
57
125
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

My husband and I stayed for one week in June 2008, and agin in September 2008 for a couple of days. The Hotel is a good value one, dont expect luxury for your money. It is worth asking for a room with air conditioning as it is not provided as standard and you pay the hotel a fee for it, however in the height of season you really need it, the rental fans only blow around the hot air. Rooms are basic but clean, the bathrooms are small. The Greek night at the hotel was good fun and the food served was very nice and plenty of it, although the night is sometimes organised at short notice dependant on interest. There is a pool table and plenty of seating in the lounge area, and the atmosphere is good, the bar generally stays open early into the morning according to how many peoplpe are there. A lot of the guests that stay here are frequent visitors. The swimming pool is fairly small and there are not a large amount of loungers in the garden. although we always found one. You can see the sea from the garden behind the golf course. The walk into Afandou centre is about 15 minutes uphill, there are taxis in the main square that will bring you back afterwards for 5euro - well worth it, especially as the final climb to reception is up a very steep hill. There is a supermarket on the main road 5 minutes away, although the hotel does have a little shop. Overall a good value hotel, which is highly reccomended for the money.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babybiffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2008

well not sure where to start to be honest after reading through some of the trip advisor reviews it seemed the good out weighed the bad so been keen golfers the golf view sounded perfect, BUT IM AMAZED AT HOW WRONG WE GOT THIS.

On arrival we were greeted by an empty reception area. eventually a surly Greek chap appeared behind the counter who we found out was actually the Manager we tried to check in but were told by this man that the hotel was full, after a short discussion and taking no details he led us to the second floor room with a sea view just what we had requested when booking. as we looked out over our balcony towards the sea there was a huge builders yard and the Greek equivilent of the M25 then the worst kept Golf Course we have ever seen then if you really looked hard behind that, the sea. we were informed on booking that this hotel was fully air conditioned when we couldnt get it working i enquired at the reception and was told it was a further 50 euros to get air con. we paid the 50 euros to find it would have been better to blow over ice yourself to get the room cool. the pillows were like a piece of cardboard, the bath room was so small you could wash your feet in the bath while on the toilet, the towels were like brilo pads and see through and there was no hot water and the toilet didnt flush, i again went to reception to ask if these basic plumbing facilities could be rectified and was waved away with a "yes yes" we then spent two further days without hot water or a flushing toilet. the pool and garden area of the hotel were dirty and over grown, it resembled an unkept back yard. we had booked bed and breakfast, breakfast consisted of processed cheese and ham, dry biscuits, yogurt and hard boiled eggs lack lustre cerials and when i asked for milk was thrown a look that would kill any hardend criminal. there was no tea making faciities in the room there was however a fridge but when we asked for a kettle at least was told no as they had nowhere to put it??? go figure. in summary Fawlty Towers is a paradise compared to this hotel. dont book !!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — too many to choose
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markandtrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Afandou hotels

Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

Arrived there, looked like the marie saleste in the reception..but it was mid afternoon,!!!!! then all of a sudden action!! Lift to the room(1st floor) room was big and spacious,double bed(all to myself!!) BATHroom, with hairdryer. big balconey. fridge,sink area,small ring cooker,but who cares food in restaurant tasty and a nice selection nice feeling to the place over looking the fab pool(being a chef,female,scottish,and there for my big 50!),Family are lovely,being a single traveller, very friendly.My friends were staying in a hotel other side of town and were well inpressed with my room.Large bar/lounge free transport to the beach. please go.. and give my love to them all!!!Sad to say I had to fly home 6th.june.2008.

  • Liked — big room,friendly
  • Disliked — the walk into town when hot
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scotnosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Myself and a friend visited this hotel in May. We had a brillaint time the hotel is nice and the staff are lovely. We were well looked after. It has a nice lazy pool or if you fancy the beach the hotel run a free bus to take you there. We will return again.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank K8N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2007

and towels like brillo pads - this is the hotel for you! On day three we complained about the lack of hot water - again! - only to be taken to the bar to have our fingers poked under the tap and to be told that 'that's as good as it gets'. The hotel needs money spending on it - the bathroom was in need of a good bleach and re-grout (on the plus side, the hair dryer was very efficient!), the swimming pool was very cloudy and grubby, electrical sockets weren't very securely attached to the walls. We had a fridge but no tea making facilities. To be fair, the staff were quite friendly and informative, and the location is OK - 15 minute walk to the town centre or a 5 Euro taxi ride. We may well return to Afandou but certainly not to this particular establishment.

  • Liked — Reflection in the rear view mirror!
  • Disliked — Grubby bathroom. No hot water available. No tea making facilities.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jules013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crete
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2007

Date 19th September -26th September.
The Hotel staff were very helpful & friendly.
The Hotel room was very clean, beds comfortable & the bedding was changed mid way through holiday. Towels changed every other day.
We had B/B & the breakfast was very good.
Cooked breakfast was excellent at a small cost.
Ate evening meal once & it was excellent.
Location qouted in brochure 500meters approx 15 mins, it took us 25mins. Also the Village of Afandou is approx 20mins.
Beach huge, not serviced enough, the one beach cantina was not very good, they were very unfriendly & did'nt care if they served you or not.
We found a car was essential & found some amazing beaches.
Overall we had a great holiday.

  • Liked — very comfortable & clean.
  • Disliked — To far from beach & village
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rubyCrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Afandou hotels
0.4 mi away
Rodos Blue Resort
Rodos Blue Resort
#8 of 18 in Afandou
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rodos Star Hotel
Rodos Star Hotel
#4 of 18 in Afandou
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes
0.6 mi away
Afandou Sky Hotel
Afandou Sky Hotel
#12 of 18 in Afandou
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel

Property: Golf View Hotel
Address: Rodou - Lindou, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Bookgreece.com and Cancelon so you can book your Golf View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Rhodes/Afandou, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing