We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel great people!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golf View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golf View Hotel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel great people!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Just returned home from golf view hotel! Didn't want to leave, the family run hotel is a brilliant place to stay, great crack! Don't know how some mysteryshoppers can say things they did! All unemployed and drunk?? Wind your neck in! Would defo go back and visit yiannis and his family such lovely people would go out of their way for you! Food is lush! And cocktails even lusher! Beach is easy gettin to as daddy manolis takes you down in the mini bus at certain times!............BACARDI TIME.....................

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chilaxers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    60
    61
    36
    98
See reviews for
57
125
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

I am not picky and I am not a brilliant housekeeper but the bathroom was FILTHY. Bath and sink needed a good scrub to remove all of the scum before i would even consider brushing my teeth or stepping in to shower - and there was enough fluff and muck behind the bin in there to stuff a pillow.
Staff nice and helpful until you come back with some food from the market - they give you dirty looks and then don't speak to you for the rest of your holiday. They would much prefer you to eat in their overpriced and poor quality "restaurant". Same applies if you go into the village to eat.
Talking of the village it is a 20 minute walk to get there - although very nice when you do, nice people, nice bars, all the food places were reasonable price and good quality.
The beach was nice and the sea wonderful - BUT you couldn't get there by walking (took over half an hour on main roads with no paths). The Golf View did have a minibus taking you down but last trip back was 4pm (they went down there at 10am 12.30 and 4pm)so yo had to be ready to leave then or it was a 7 euro taxi ride back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Afandou hotels

Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

Spent the last two weeks in May 2010 at the Golf View. Family run hotel, staff very friendly and will do anything to help you. The hotel is very clean and although we went self catering the towels and sheets were changed at least 3 times each week. The room was cleaned daily. The pool area was always quiet and bagging a sunbed was never a problem. The resort of Afandou was very limited. The square had a few bars and restuarants. The walk into Afandou was along a busy road which is not very picturesque. The resort picked us as it was a bargain getaway. The bus stops just outside the hotel which made it very easy to get to Rhodes Town and Lindos. It was a very relaxing holiday in a typical Greek hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole. Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

We were a bit nervous about staying here after we had booked it, as some of the reviews were a bit negotive. BUT all I can say is that we had a fantastic holiday, the food and people were great. Yes its a very quiet location, if you want night life go else where, but for a very pleasent relaxing holiday, with very friendly hotel staff then I would recommend it. Would definately visit again and stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynandash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

Stayed 19th may for a week very clean hotel staff excellent helpful and friendly. Excellent value for money good homecooking authentic greek food family run, afandou is very quiet if u like nice pool with shady trees in a quiet village this is perfect afandou is slow thirty mins walk and there are few shops and bars neon by town hall is lovely very friendly. You can see a building supply yard from hotel but it is quiet and we never heard anything from it, you can see sea from restaurant. We enjoyed our stay very good bus routes rhodes town is 2 euros on bus and lindos 4 euros both run regularly, to summarise friendly clean basic hotel in greek village with lovely authentic greek food we will be returning

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juholdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARNSLEY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

arrived in rhodes on the 8th july 2009 with my 12 year old daughter and 10 year son , i must admit after reading the reviews of which i did after i booked i was feeling a little nervous ,after a short 15 mins journey we arrived at golf view hotel we were greated at reception shown to our room which was clean and tidy ,pool area was clean pently of shade under trees as temps were in 40's pently off sun loungers everyone very friendly ,supermarket 10 mins away but was expensive was told about another but didnt go oursleves and yes there is a steep slope into the hotel most of greece is on hillsides but nothing as steep as described in the other reviews .anfandou town is a 20 mins slow walk which is pleasant there are pently of places to eat and drink but if you wanting serious partying then go into falaraki , would visit this hotel again no problem.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarnsleySlimline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

just returned from 2 weeks with my sister at the Golf View Hotel and found the place clean and towels were provided daily. The pool area was very nice and lots of trees to shade under (it was very hot). We did not eat there preferring to visit Afandu village, just a pleasant 20 minute slow stroll up the road, the villagers are lovely friendly people, and there are a few bars, cafe, restaurants, and shops to visit. Rhodes town is a great place to visit - only 2 euros on the bus. The buses are clean and reliable. We made our own way to the hotel, one bus from the airport, 2 euros, to Rhodes town and another from there to the hotel, another 2 euros. Great! Falaraki in only 5 mins away on the bus too and ok to visit for the day. The hotel is just off the main road, yes the entrance is on a small steep slope but only takes a few mins to walk up it ! There is a free bus from the hotel three times a day to a lovely quiet beach only 5 mins away. All in all a great place to chill out and relax. I would recommend it for a cheap and cheerful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slimlineLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
19.8 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Rodos Blue Resort
Rodos Blue Resort
#9 of 18 in Afandou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dessole Lippia Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Afandou Sky Hotel
Afandou Sky Hotel
#12 of 18 in Afandou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rodos Star Hotel
Rodos Star Hotel
#4 of 18 in Afandou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel

Property: Golf View Hotel
Address: Rodou - Lindou, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, LoveHolidays and Superbreak UK so you can book your Golf View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Rhodes/Afandou, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing