We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afandon't f you want real Greece”
Review of Golf View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golf View Hotel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Afandon't f you want real Greece”
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Spent 10 days at the Golf View. Budget holiday is what you get - meagre breakfast (not much fresh fruit), small pool and basic rooms. If you are looking for the real Greece don't go to Afandou as it seems to have lost it's soul. All of the restaurants were deserted and the waiting staff seemed to have given up hope. They all seem to serve the same greek/talian food (which includes tzatsiki from the wholesalers I suspect). You can't walk to the beach from Golf View as you need to walk down a dual carriageway to get there but they do offer a shuttle service 3 times a day - but they drop you at a stretch of beach where they must own the sunbeds as the best beach is 500 yards to the left towards the rocks as there is a taverna there. Tried to find fish tavernas on the beach using the mini tourist train - don't bother as they are all deserted and over priced.
Will be gong back or recommending to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveh502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    60
    61
    36
    98
See reviews for
57
125
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

My husband and I have recently returned from a two week holiday at this hotel and our daughter spent the first of our week with us. The 24hour reception is a nice touch when you are arriving at 6am nice to be greeted by a real person than an envelope with your key in. The golf view gave us all one of the mose relaxing holidays we have had and his hidden from the coast area to protect it from the pirates in the early day . We had been booked as a B&B but I spoke with the rep and she changed it to self catering for us as this then gave us kitchen facilities (i am a tea addict). the fridge was not working but as soon as I brought this to the attention of the owner it was changed. We only had one pillow each and used the blankets in the wardrobe which the maid noticed and gave us additional ones. The rooms although quite basic where clean and bedding and towels changed very regular. there is a computer set up in the main reception area for access at a small charge along with a very nice seated reception area with tv for the early morning departures. The pool area is like sitting in a garden and there was never a day you had to go out early to secure yourself a sunbed the pool was a nice size and was one of the warmest I have ever gotten into. My daughter and I had lunch a couple of times and had no complaints all of the staff where attentive and helpful. When possible you can pay to keep the room on 30euro until 7pm or another 10Euro until your departure, as ours was two in the morning this allowed us time to have a little sleep. My only bad comment probably be that there is a charge of 50 Euro per week for air con, cheaper to go to the supermarket and buy a fan, if you also like air con make sure the room you are allocated has air con as not all rooms worked. the little village was a twenty minute walk right as you come out of the golf view and was such a sweet little village with some lovely restaurants to eat in you must try Four Seasons, Sergios, Anna's and Michealanis to name a few there is a wonderful ice cream shop called Mikes as you come out of the village. A lovely bakery on the way to the village called Sweet Dreams open from 6am to 8pm every day except sunday. the large supermarket is on the main road which at the moment being extended to a dual carriageway and is very cheap for things like water, fresh milk compared to the mini market at the Golf View. there is easy access to the transport to Rhodes town, you just cross the road and pay 2euro and has a latish return at 10.40pm return. Rhodes town is a nice place to visit to see the yahts and the Collosis one of the seven wonders of the world. there are lots of restaurant to eat at the marina area, Rhodes has two towns the old and the new. The old has shops like M&S, Mango and many more of the usual shops where the old town had lots of little lanes which houses Greek people with plenty shops with the usual souvenier shops and in one of the square places to eat. the apartments have a Greek night on a Saturday although we did not attend people had good comments about it. My final comments about the Golf View would be that the mystery shopper who has left comments on the 18th to me doesn't sem to know what you get from Greece and to give comments about people in the apartments and village has nothing to do with the place of stay, would hate to see comments from them if the place was bad. Please take no notice of what they have said no one that I spoke to had a serious negative comment about the Golf View. We would return without any hesitation. Keep up the good work and continue to look after everyone the way you are doing

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy_to_be_on_hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We arrived at 12.30 p.m. to be told that we had a room on the ground floor facing the car park, as if that wasn't enough, we were told that we were not able to have air conditioning because we were self catering. We had to hire a fan for 15 euros ,it was impossible to sleep because of this and it ruined our holiday,there was a large concrete septic tank round the corner from our room and it smelled awful and a lot of guests were complaining about it.After 3 days we were looking for flights home; but could not find any. The owner was not interested in you unless you were spending all of your money in his overpricee bar/restaraunt. The food was below average and a lot dearer than the restaraunts in AfandouOn the plus side Afandou was a 15 minute walk away and it had some lovely restaraunts particularly the 4 seasons. It is also a short bus ride to Lindos or Rhodes Town.
This hotel is fine if you like the smell of sewage, light fittings in your room hanging from the wall, no bath plug, infested by ants, very dirty rooms I could go on and on Greece is a lovely place and we will be back; but not to this dump.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pigeonchested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Afandou hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

If you are on a budget this is the place but a car would be a must rooms are basic but fine. Pool area is fine no rushing for a sun bed as there is plenty to go round. Food is good value for money we ate all round the island we found food expensive.The food in the hotel is all cooked fresh by the owner who couldnt do enough for you as well as all her family. Greek nite is a must costing 10 euro per person and all you can eat buffet. We would recomend this hotel as a base just go and explore the island and you will have a great time.Yannis the owners son is great good sense of humour and again couldnt do enough for you thanks Yannis and all your family for a great holiday Room 114 Colin Lucy and Dan xxx

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannyfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Just got back from the Golf View after a very relaxing and enjotyable week.

On first impressions the hotel looked typically greek. The Taxi dropped us off at the door and the hotel owner (sorry cant remember his name, menikolos?) helped to get our cases to the room and would not let me help him with them. The reception area is spacious and clean, the rooms are kept very clean and the restaurant is spotless.

The hotel is family run and they cannot do enough to help you. They are fantastic with children - made a real fuss of our daughter, and we were made so welcome throughout our stay.

The greek night is an absolute must - fantastic food and dancing - we laughed so much, definatley the most entertaining greek night we have had in over 10 visits to various greek islands!!

The first day there we spent around the pool and continued this throughout the week as we did not feel the need to go anywhere else. We visited the beach which is mainly pebbles and a fine grit but once in the water it is crystal clear and warm. Also our three year old thought it was fantastic and it was much easier to cleah her up afterwards!!!!

The village is very nice with friendly people and we found it to be a 15 - 20 minute walk with a pushchair and a 3yr old...if anyone says it took longer than this then they must have been walking very very slowly.

Yanis worked the bar well and was very helpful - it was our wedding anniversary while we were there and he helped me to organise some flowers for my wife. We found they really could not do enough to help.

We ate out most nights and bought our own food into the hotel from the supermarket and never got any 'dirty looks'...not sure what that is about if the hotel has a self catering option...???

On the last few nights the restairant was doing an all you can eat buffet which was all traditional greek food including beef, pork, fish and greek salad which was 10 Euro and considering a greek salad in the village could cost 6 Euro this was excellent value...!!! And the food was absolutley delicious - had we tried it sooner in the holiday we would have eaten there every night!!

We have stayed in many hotels in Greece from all inclusive to a small room only and this rates as one of the better ones.
Yes there is a building yard in front of the hotel which you cant really hear unless you try and the main road (100 meters away) has got roadworks on it but then you cant blame the hotel owner or staff for that.

If you want a nice relaxing holiday then this is ideal. If you want kicking nightlife go to Falaraki and if you want 5* luxury for £300 then...you are not going to get it...we all payed cheap prices so dont complain there is not spa, personal butlers or the weather is too hot....!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilkinsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

If you are looking for quiet, peaceful place to stay this is perfect place.
I went there with my mum and we both enjoyed our stay. This is small hotel run by family, who are very friendly. Hotel is quite far away from night life, but if you are looking for fun you can always go to faliraki ( 5 min by bus). Hotel is quite far away from everything, but by hotel is a bus stop, and you can easily go every where.Ticket to faliraki 1.40 euro, lidos 2 euro and old town rhodes 2 euro.
Rooms are simple but clean. Food is good over there, but I would recommend restaurants in the little village afantou, about 20 min walk from the hotel. Really nice traditional food in good price. Near by hotel is a shop where you can always get fresh fruit.
Definitely I would go there once again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marlenak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We have just returned from Golf View and think that the very negative review of the 18th must be a prank from neighboring hotel. For the cheap prices you spend on this holiday you get excellent value for money. We found the home cooking excellent and Yanis (sorry dont know how this should be spelt) was definitely number 1 hotel manager. All friendly and family run made difference to our experience- including all locals too. Rooms clean and had all you need, people that were staying there all on similar wave length- wanting quiet, relaxing hoiday doing some exploring and then relax by pool. Have good memories of Rhodes. Thank you to all the staff at Golf View Hotel. Tom and Emma

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e_denby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Afandou hotels
0.4 mi away
Rodos Blue Resort
Rodos Blue Resort
#8 of 18 in Afandou
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rodos Star Hotel
Rodos Star Hotel
#4 of 18 in Afandou
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes
0.6 mi away
Afandou Sky Hotel
Afandou Sky Hotel
#12 of 18 in Afandou
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel

Property: Golf View Hotel
Address: Rodou - Lindou, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Golf View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Rhodes/Afandou, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing