We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No place like home :):) ”
Review of Rodos Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodos Star Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from an amazing holiday in this lovely hotel. From the very beginning we were treated fantastically from all the staff including mauch, minas, mimi, demritria, nick, Nicholas, the lovely chefs and cleaning staff thank you all so much! The food and drinks available were amazing and I couldn't say a bad word about either of them :) if it wasn't for this lovely hotel the 6 of us Irish girls wouldn't have had the chance to meet our new friends for life from Wales and have an unbelievably unforgettable holiday thank you so so so much!!!!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Julz122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 1,062 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
16
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Unreal holiday I'm so sad to be home. A group of us 6 Irish girls were welcomed by the amazing staff from the start! So friendly and helpful. Special shout out to minas at the pool, nick in the bar, mimi and demitra, The chefs amazing food and the entire rodos star family especially Mosh the manageress. Do not listen to negative reviews this holiday could not have been better. Us Irish and our welsh friends we met for life will be back! Thank you so much! Yamas!!! Woooooopaaaaa!!!! :)

Stayed: July 2014
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

June July 2014
We booked this hotel because of the reviews on trip advisor (most great a few bad) but we cannot understand the great reviews !
We went for 2 weeks and a party of 20 Armenians hogged all of the main pool beds for most of the time and the kids were very loud but we just went to the side garden which was quieter
We are not fussy but our first room 206 was above the restaurant noise so moved to 209 but bathroom grubby and dated so moved to 313 which had been somewhat updated but was very hot
Good
The price Rodos star all inclusive for 2 weeks was the same price for Cyprus self catering for 2 weeks
Bad
Bathrooms we saw on the ground and 1st floor were not very clean and dated the second floor 300s were cleaner but you need aircon which you have to pay for (crafty)
Good
Tassos Mosch and 99% of the staff are happy and helpful and very friendly 5*
Bad
Nick the barman, he only smiles when children, females or his friends are getting served and moans too much ! States Rodos rules to you ! Bring your glasses back or you don't get served Do not pour a bit of left over drink into another glass to top it up !
In 2 weeks we used this bar very little
Tip for nick Cheer up, smile more and stop moaning about doing nights and having to do another job as a fork lift driver
Good
Afandou is a nice town and when walking down keep right at the scala bar then right at each junction (staying on the road) which is a nice walk (remember your way for return)
Alfa bar (next to taxi rank) sells Strongbow on draught at €3.50 a pint but we had the €3 or €2 glasses as these were thick glasses with handles which kept cooler longer (as they freeze them) Tassos is a fantastic owner and very helpful
Bad
THE HILL but they run a return trip to beech if you ask its 10.30 and return
Bus prices €2.20 to Rhodes
Bad
Buses don't always stop at all bus stops to pick you up and you may have to stand for your journey. Afandou to lindos is the worst for standing
Overall it was a nice break but the friends we met all had the same view which was who are the people who think its great !
Jenny and dopey Dave who we met were in room 306 which had a great view.
The higher the number room you get means further away from the great sea view and the trees reduce the view on the 2nd floor
Rhodes glass bottom boat at €10 each was a big waste of money 100 yards out only saw small fish

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank GlutenfreePaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Went for a week and had a fantastic time! Got put in a family room first of all as our room was being cleaned. I was not impressed but when settled down in our first room was more than happy! Bathroom is a little grubby but it all works.

Focus on the positives like the pool, beautiful scenery, brilliant and welcoming staff, event nights, tasty cocktails the list is endless I had no downers with this holiday. It's a 3 star and I'm a very happy customer so all is good :)..x

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HollyCoombes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Went for a fortnight with my best friend at the end of June. The rooms are very nice, incredible for a 3 star but the bathrooms are horrendous. Very dirty and old with ants coming up the drain. The food was nice and lots of choice at every meal but a little repetitive. Greek night at the hotel is really fun but it's a shame there is not more evening entertainment as that would make it a much better hotel. The pool is clean and nice with plenty of sunbeds to go around. The all inclusive drinks are quite nice but do become quite dull having them all the time. Because the hotel is on a steep hill, there are a lot of bugs at night including giant beetles that stick in your hair and other bugs. However we found that going down the hill into town was a nice change with no bugs and a lot more entertainment with lots of bars and pubs. My favourites were the classy Mont Bar and the friendly Alfa Bar with the lovely Tassos who would do anything for anyone, including driving you up the hill if its the middle of the day. The hill is hard during the day and kills your legs but it is survivable at night when the sun goes down. The staff are so friendly in the hotel and will do almost anything to make your stay better. For the money the hotel is lovely but the entertainment and bathrooms let it down, however very enjoyable stay and for the price I would definitely go again or recommend it to someone who is looking for a quiet stay and not too expectant of having higher quality than what you pay for.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank BethanJones94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I will start with the only positive comments that we can make-the staff are very friendly and helpful and work very long hours but still keep a smile on their faces.

Sadly other aspects of our holiday were well below our expectations.Our first room was horrible-small with creaky beds. The bathroom was grotty-dated, mouldy and unclean.
On the second day we moved to another room-it was bigger and the beds did not creak however the bathroom was dated, mouldy and unclean and remained so for the week.

The food was boring, repetitive and very limited for vegetarians, which meant that we spent a lot of extra money eating out, which we had not expected to have to do in an 'all inclusive' package.

The 'free' drinks were limited and tasted watered down including the spirits.

The hotel was obsessed with rules and signs telling you what you can & can’t do-completely unnecessary and limited our enjoyment at times. The outdoor veranda area was taken over by smokers and there was nowhere else to enjoy drinks outside after 5pm, which meant sitting inside. Drinks were not available at the pool after 5 pm and could not be taken to rooms.

Considering we paid Olympic Holidays over £1650 for 7 nights including flights we feel like we've been robbed!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank annelewis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was our 6th time here at Rodos Star.All I can do is repeat what other people have put about how lovely this place is.We have travelled to many places and never come across a hotel that is so friendly hence our 6th year running. Mosca and Tassos will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.Nothing is to much trouble for them.The staff are amazing Mimi, Nick ,Erik and the cleaning ladies always have a warm welcome for you.Every year we make new friends and some we know from previous years.All I can say its been another perfect holiday.
See you all next year same time, same place,and same room ! And an ouzo waiting !!!! Yamas

Room Tip: Good views from 2nd and 3rd floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juleschris61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
0.5 mi away
Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes
7.9 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#17 of 20 in Kallithea
712 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dessole Lippia Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Rodos Blue Resort
Rodos Blue Resort
#10 of 18 in Afandou
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Days Hotel
Golden Days Hotel
#9 of 18 in Afandou
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodos Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodos Star Hotel

Address: Lindos Rhodes, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Afandou
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodos Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rodos Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodos Star Afandou
Hotel Rodos Star
Rodos Star Hotel Rhodes/Afandou, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing