We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Rodos Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rodos Star Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel at the end of July with my husband and two teenage children. The hotel is not 5 star but it was very good ( I have been to some 5 star hotels) The rooms are spotless and fresh towels and linen are provided everyday. The food we all thought was very good - basically it's not pie and chips and if that's what you want don't go al inclusive in Greece! Lots of option always something for everyone. Lots of british guests so easy to talk to people. Pool area good nice pool for a dip and we didn't have a dumbed problem we always got one where we wanted one . Management at the hotel very friendly and tries really hard to make your stay good. I loved the area of Afandou which has a few restaurants and bars (try the Alpha bar the owner is lovely!) typical Greek village not resort based at all. All in all really good week which all the family enjoyed

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hogie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    262
    104
    38
    35
See reviews for
271
414
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Staff were very friendly, although they quickly forgot who you were even though the hotel is small. Asked at least once a day had we been given our passports back. The pool area was nice and quiet for the first couple of days and the was taken over. Had to fight for sunbeds even though we had seen on reviews this wouldn't be a problem. Rooms were very clean and very modern, beds were comfy and the maid was great, although she does barge in at different times every morning and doesn't take no for an answer. I don't know why everyone sings the praises of the food. Got up for breakfast once and wouldn't do it again because it was disgusting. Lunch by far the best meal of the day. Dinner was also awful and we ate out 7 times in a 10 night stay. Food is very repetitive, meat was full of fat and bone, not great choice. Drinks are also awful - basically feeding on the cheap. Wouldn't come back but it was ok. Also airport transfer took nearly 3 hours!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Spent two weeks at this lovely hotel in July 2014. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Shuttle bus available to the nearby beach. Rooms were clean and tidy. Bathrooms could do with a slight upgrade, but were clean. Excellent food available at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Trip to Lindos on the boat is must; really good fun! Greek night was excellent - the whole family join in. The hill is very steep but taxis available at a cost of 4 - 5 euros. The only issue during our stay was the arrival of a very obnoxious wedding party who had no consideration for other guests e.g. Bad language, loud music at night (although this was sorted out by the owner in the early hours of the morning). This was not the hotels fault; they were excellent at dealing with issues. Would definately return to this hotel, and am already thinking about next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shelagh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just returned from a week AI at Rodas star, If anyone is in doubt about booking this hotel please do not hesitate . The hill is steep but also short. our room was the nicest we have ever had anywhere in Greece. Fresh towels each day. Food you cannot fault there is something for everyone. The staff are all amazing and so very helpful. The pool area is very nice . Greek night also one of the best I have ever been to. Afandou itself is a typical working village and only a short walk down hill As other people have stated the Alfa bar next to the taxi rank is a must .He is so friendly and helpful. I only asked him if being Sunday was the chemist open and he jumped on his scooter leaving his bar unmanned and rode around the village to find out which one was open and at what time. A true hero in my eyes. The beach is a good 35 mins walk but the hotel mini bus will take you and pick you up each day at no cost. overall an incredible experience from a small and friendly hotel. We will be returning in the next few years without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank karenkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Went on holiday early July with a friend and her mother, and had a brilliant time. Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and always up for a chat, and at Greek night they all get really involved! Did not pay for air conditioning but room was lovely and cool anyway without. The hill is not fun but as long as you take it steadily it's fine, just tires you out for a couple of minutes once you reach the top. Loved the hotel, really lively atmosphere and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room outside of the main building, as these tend to be noisier due to the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AH107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 2 great weeks at the Rodos Star Hotel, the staff are exceptionally good, nothing was any trouble and they were ALL friendly and helpful. We went all inclusive and the food and drinks were good, perhaps a bit less choice than some of the bigger hotels we have used but plenty of choice for us. Rooms clean and tidy, good pool, nice bar but small outside terrace at bar. Local village/town easy to get to with shops and bars, 5 minutes walk from hotel (10 minutes back due to hill) We will definitely be going again, they made us feel really welcome and you could tell that they appreciated our visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

What can I say about this hotel. Visited July 2014. It was like stepping into a family home. The welcome was amazing. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for the owners and staff. The food was phenomenal every day.The greek night was fantastic. Like a family party. Everyone complains about the hill in reviews but no worries they have a bus and if you need anything from the town they get it for you or take you themselves. Absolutely amazing stay and would like to thank Mos and all her family and staff for looking after us so well. Going back next year without a doubt.

Room Tip: third floor best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie5409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
0.9 mi away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
9.1 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#29 of 127 in Rhodes Town
716 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
328 reviews
9.5 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,575 reviews
29.6 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodos Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodos Star Hotel

Property: Rodos Star Hotel
Address: Lindos Rhodes, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Afandou
#3 Family Hotel in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodos Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodos Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodos Star Afandou
Hotel Rodos Star
Rodos Star Hotel Rhodes/Afandou, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing