We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and brilliant staff.”
Review of Rodos Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rodos Star Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and brilliant staff.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Firstly, I've read a lot of the reviews, both good and bad, and would reiterate that you can't expect a Mercedes when you pay for a Fiat Panda... That said, you do get a lot for your money. The food was excellent and we NEVER had a bad meal whilst we were there (and my wife and daughter are fussy eaters). There was always plenty to eat too. Also, if you can't get you're sorry body out of bed before 9.30am for breakfast or wait until a sensible meal time to feed your family then perhaps the issue lies elsewhere than with the hotel... (lunch 12.30 to 14.30 dinner (tea) 19.30 to 21.30)
The room we had was on the first floor (room 210), we had a lovely view of the sea and mountains and couldn't fault the housekeepers. The beds were really comfortable and the bedding and towels were changed EVERY DAY. The bathroom is dated but more than adequate.
The pool area was lovely, always a sunbed available and the pool was kept clean. There are parasols and trees to shelter from the midday sun. The pool is shut from 6pm in the evening for maintennance (putting in the chemicals). The pool bar a godsend when the temperature rises. Lunch is served in the dining area close to the pool, which is a nice touch.
Afandou is exactly what you'd expect from a typical Greek village, don't expect a view straight out of 'Mama Mia' or boutique shopping. That's not what you get from a typical Greek village location. A good bar is 'Peoples Bar' where you get free wi-fi, bowls of popcorn and peanuts with your drinks and cocktails are two for 4 euros. You will get a good reception from the boss if he's there (you can always tell because his pink Vespa is parked outside, if he's in).
Finally, and most importantly, the staff... they're all lovely. Mos,the manageress, (who rumour has it is related to Jennifer Anniston) is fantastic and will even run you down to the beach in the morning and bring you back in the evening. Speak to her for advice on excursions if the rep isn't around. Tassos, the boss, is a star and very welcoming. The kitchen staff are great and very hard working. Finally, the bar staff, Nick and Spyros, AWESOME. Really great guys and always cheerful.
People have complained about the rules in previous reviews, personally, if you can't abide by a few common sense rules to reduce the noise levels after 11pm and to maintain a safe environment for the kids around the pool area, then go elsewhere and keep this lovely hotel and its wonderful staff, for people who appreciate their hard work and effort and value for money offered.
I've never been on a holiday before where there were tears in the eyes of hotel staff when we left. We were really made to feel like part of their family. They are all genuine and lovely people who go out of their way to help make your holiday a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: First or second floor rooms offer some good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roly102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    274
    111
    42
    36
See reviews for
293
446
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northants England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is NOT an all inclusive hotel......
We spent 70 euro on air con (which we were aware of but never had to pay extra before)
15 euros on WIFI (don't bother)
at least another 40 euros on snacks

FIRST THE NEGATIVES.
Arrived late evening and shown to room 101., which I hated instantly. It is the first door from reception, next to the kitchen and dining room. We asked straight away to be moved and were assured that this would be done within 2 days.....it wasn't. The view from our room was non existent, just a tree. We had 4 cockroaches in the room during our stay and they were the ones we could see (didn't move any furniture for fear of more). We were woken every morning by the kitchen staff radio and pots banging and then the dining room noise.

I would also like to state there is NO FREE WIFI we were told on arrival that there was in reception but we needed a code. When I checked this the next day I was told there was no wifi unless you paid 5 euro for 90 minutes. We sent 15 euro trying to sort out my daughter's exam results which should have given us over 4 hours....it didn't we got about 3. Don't waste your money.

The meal times are very regimented 7.30 - 9.30 Breakfast, 12.30 - 2.30 Lunch 7.30 - 9.30 Dinner. Absolutely NO snacks in between it is too long in between for children and we spent a fortune in there shop on ice creams and crisps which they are more than happy to sell you!!!!

There is no entertainment which we knew when we booked they do however have a Greek night which was good fun the dancers were excellent. It just got a bit weird after when the hotel family start dancing and you are expected to clap along it's like imposing on a family party as there is no interaction with guests. Dinner on this night isn't served until 8.30 by which time we had spent a fortune on snacks in the shop.

The location on the hill makes it very remote, you can walk into Afandou but there are no paths and can be tricky with children. We went to Alfa Bar and had a decent drink and the owner Tassos was amazing and went out of his way to help us as he has free WIFI and even lent my daughter his laptop for her results.
It is about 20 minute walk to the beach but you do have to cross a main road.

Drinks in the bar are unrecognisable and I couldn't find anything to drink (I'm not expecting premium labels but the mixers were just disgusting). The bar manager Nick loves his rules and reminds you of them on a daily basis which is very tiring and quite frankly I don't need to be spoken to like a naughty child.

The outside evening area is too small and the pool area would should be used instead of it being gated off.

POSITIVES.
The food was good and varied, the meat was fatty but definitely improved over the last 3 days.
The waitresses clear up really quickly so never any dishes laying about.

Spiros the barman during the day was excellent, always happy and chatty, the kids loved him.

The pool area could be tidied up but there was always enough beds free and the kids loved it.

What made this holiday was the amazing group of friends we made while there otherwise this would have been a 2 star.

Room Tip: Avoid room 101 at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank yummymummyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

well what can i say, 209 was our room number lovely can't fault it at all,we didn't hear a thing in our room. Food 3 courses every meal time who could moan just remember you are in Greece its not a fish and chip shop {thank god} although there are chips for you who like them, the chefs do a fantastic job if in doubt just ask they will always tell you what it is ask Erik. we read reviews about drinks after certain hours coffee my issue to solve this a travel kettle was my life saver in the evenings as i'm not a great drinker, hubby had no issues with the drinks !!! nick always polite and his Aussie charm !!. Spyros your a great guy be proud your doing a great job all day and evening too. Mos always ready to help and beach runs 4euros for a sunbed beach is stoney but lush clear waters busy at weekends locals go during the week quite empty. Yes the hill is steep and knackering but a taxi is only 5 euros and you are on holiday after all. Skyline bar is a must to visit great views of Afandou. Alfa bar what a bar lovely kind man nice drinks too daughter loved them most of them she tried too. Our only complaint would be 2 weeks not enough WE as a family of 3 just didnt want to go home never happened before lol.
In the words of Mos dont hire a fiat panda and expect a Mercedes. We tried to book another week for our anniversary this year but fully booked gutted love you all kevin sharon francesca xxxxxx

taxi from airport is only 35 euros and 35 euros back cheaper than transfers and to the door.

Room Tip: travel kettle a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pawleyclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here with my partner our 3 children and parents. The location is terrible nothing anywhere near, beach is a 25min walk away and you need to cross busy main road. Their is a service provided by the hotel that takes you to beach and picks you up but they forget to pick you up and leave you there and your explanation is ooh sorry forgot to leave a message for someone to collect you. Wile in the pool with my children a maintenance man poured chlorine into the pool wile we were in it. The food was not nice at all and you wait till 7.30 for evening meal, we went all inclusive but there were no snacks throughout the day just breakfast then dinner at 12.30 then evening meal at 7.30. I would not recommend this holiday to anyone there was no entertainment and our kids were bored

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Treestum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel at the end of July with my husband and two teenage children. The hotel is not 5 star but it was very good ( I have been to some 5 star hotels) The rooms are spotless and fresh towels and linen are provided everyday. The food we all thought was very good - basically it's not pie and chips and if that's what you want don't go al inclusive in Greece! Lots of option always something for everyone. Lots of british guests so easy to talk to people. Pool area good nice pool for a dip and we didn't have a dumbed problem we always got one where we wanted one . Management at the hotel very friendly and tries really hard to make your stay good. I loved the area of Afandou which has a few restaurants and bars (try the Alpha bar the owner is lovely!) typical Greek village not resort based at all. All in all really good week which all the family enjoyed

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hogie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Staff were very friendly, although they quickly forgot who you were even though the hotel is small. Asked at least once a day had we been given our passports back. The pool area was nice and quiet for the first couple of days and the was taken over. Had to fight for sunbeds even though we had seen on reviews this wouldn't be a problem. Rooms were very clean and very modern, beds were comfy and the maid was great, although she does barge in at different times every morning and doesn't take no for an answer. I don't know why everyone sings the praises of the food. Got up for breakfast once and wouldn't do it again because it was disgusting. Lunch by far the best meal of the day. Dinner was also awful and we ate out 7 times in a 10 night stay. Food is very repetitive, meat was full of fat and bone, not great choice. Drinks are also awful - basically feeding on the cheap. Wouldn't come back but it was ok. Also airport transfer took nearly 3 hours!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Spent two weeks at this lovely hotel in July 2014. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Shuttle bus available to the nearby beach. Rooms were clean and tidy. Bathrooms could do with a slight upgrade, but were clean. Excellent food available at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Trip to Lindos on the boat is must; really good fun! Greek night was excellent - the whole family join in. The hill is very steep but taxis available at a cost of 4 - 5 euros. The only issue during our stay was the arrival of a very obnoxious wedding party who had no consideration for other guests e.g. Bad language, loud music at night (although this was sorted out by the owner in the early hours of the morning). This was not the hotels fault; they were excellent at dealing with issues. Would definately return to this hotel, and am already thinking about next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shelagh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
0.9 mi away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
2.8 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
29.6 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
357 reviews
9.0 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#20 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,559 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodos Blue Resort
Rodos Blue Resort
#8 of 18 in Afandou
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodos Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodos Star Hotel

Property: Rodos Star Hotel
Address: Lindos Rhodes, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Afandou
#3 Family Hotel in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodos Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodos Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodos Star Afandou
Hotel Rodos Star
Rodos Star Hotel Rhodes/Afandou, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing