We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we stayed at in Kefalonia”
Review of Odyssey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Odyssey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Agia Efimia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Had a lovely holiday in September on the beautiful island of Kefalonia. We stayed at three hotels, all of them very highly rated on Trip Advisor, so that we could experience the whole island. The Odyssey was our favourite. The rooms are superb, extremely clean, well appointed and very large with the best mosquito screens on the patio doors that we have come across - a definite plus point as, although there were no mosquitos, there were an awful lot of wasps. It was lovely to wake up in the morning to watch the wonderful sunrise without even having to get out of bed.

We had our best meal of the week at a The Paradise Beach restaurant - turn left out of the hotel - wonderful sardines and delicious rabbit stew. There are plenty more taverns in the small village which is only a short stroll from the hotel and, of course you can eat in the hotel by the lovely swimming pool.

The area is in a very convenient position for sightseeing, a car is recommended as there are some lovely places to visit on the island. The ruins of Sami were particularly interesting.

The staff at the Odyssey were lovely people and the hotel is very well maintained. We were foolish enough to leave our English money in the safe in our room - we didn't realise this until we had returned home but after an e mail to Catherine the money was found, still in the safe and is being returned to us, so a big thank you to the staff for their honesty.

We would highly recommend Kefalonia and this hotel, especially for couples. Lots of beautiful places to visit, lovely food and of course the hospitality and friendliness of the people.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RBarnes_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hotel facilities are first class and it is located in a fantastic location overlooking the Agia Efima bay with great views.The pool is first class and great for swimming which is often not the case in most hotel pools.The rooms are very modern ,large and well appointed again benefiting from the views across the bay to Sami.
The icing on the cake are the people working at the hotel from the Manager Catherine to the receptionist George plus Alex,Anna and colleagues representing the waiting staff.All were extremely friendly helpful and cheerful .Personally we have not come across a better bunch of professional helpful people running this type of facility.It feels like a small intimate hotel trying to make your holiday and stay very enjoyable .We can confirm that they succeeded and surpassed our expectations.The rooms are also very clean with a change of bedding daily.All in all one of the best places we have stayed at.We will definitely return to this wonderful hotel.
Derek and Ann

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DC482013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed at the Odyssey in September for 14 night and it was brilliant. This is the third time we've stayed here and we had a wonderful time. The facilities, location and service are first class. This is a wonderful hotel with a view to die for from the balcony. You will not be disappointed if you stay here. It is simply wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Nearly didn't review this hotel as wanted to keep it a secret but Catherine, Gerasimus and their family deserve every success so I have weakened. yes the rooms are amazing, the view stunning, service superb but this hotel is very special and very hard to put in to words the feeling of warmth and hospitality one will experience. We travel extensively and I have always worked in the leisure industry and have never known a hotel get it so right! You will not be disappointed. Thank you to the owners as mentioned and also to George, Alex, Dimi and Anna for looking after us so well, especially the cocktails before Dinner and service around the pool. If I had to make one suggestion and believe me it would be the only one is I think they could do with more shade from the sun there a plenty of sunbeds but not so many parasols but I know they have further plans for the gardens etc so I'm sure, knowing how professional these guys are they have already thought of this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have never actually stayed in the hotel but have visited on several occasions over the last three years and have always been made very welcome.
This is a beautiful hotel with first class facilities and the large pool has fantastic views over the bay.
The food is really good and we have eaten here on each visit at a very reasonable price.
There are 3 or 4 choices of 5 course menus between 12 and 18 euros as well as the normal choices and the salads and house wine are lovely.
We were shown around the hotel and were very impressed by the colour coded rooms with marble bathrooms and remote controlled blinds .
A really nice way to spend a day around the pool and enjoy a lovely meal

Room Tip: I would imagine all the rooms are of the same excellent quality as the ones that we saw with a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had a four night stay and thoroughly enjoyed it. As I had doe all the planning and bookings, my partner was delighted with everything, as I was. The hotel is only three years old and is well presented. All the staff were excellent, in particular Alex (from Athens) our waitstaff, George and Katherine. Nothing was too much trouble. Food was also great. Well done on all fronts.

Room Tip: It appeared more of a couple hotel, which suited us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanePM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I and my family visited the Odyssey hotel in the summer of 2013. The website showed it off very well, but with some hotels when you really get there it's not as good as you thought. The odyssey hotel was perfect, it was faultless. The staff, from Catherine at the desk, to the chef in the kitchen were all such lovely people, who always wanted everyone who came there to have an amazing time. We certainly did. When we arrived, we were firstly introduced to Catherine at reception. She was lovely, kind, and extremely informative. She told us everything we needed to know about the hotel. The best receptionist we've ever met!! Were were then taken up to our rooms by George, a quiet, lovely man, who showed us how to work everything in our rooms. He was excellent as well. Our rooms were to die for, Catherine gave us the two best rooms in the hotel (Odysseus and Nausica). The decor, the cleanliness, everything, was perfect. I could go on for ever. We even had a jacuzzi in our room!!. I suggest everyone should come and visit this hotel!! It's amazing. Everything was amazing.

The pool area was beautiful, we loved the way the pool water overflowed. It was unspoiled, with not too many people.

Everyone who came to the hotel were also lovely.

The restaurant was amazing. Our family have never eaten more delicious and well presented food. There was not a single dish we disliked. The two waiters, again, were extremely nice people. They were so kind, and whatever they asked for, they would attend to. Our breakfast and lunch were just as amazing. The waitress, who brings you drinks to the pool was lovely, and extremely efficient.

The Odyssey hotel was truly amazing. It was perfect. I can think of know place else to go and completely relax. Thank you Odyssey hotel, we can assure you we will come back next year!!

Thank you for the stay of a lifetime from the Ulrich family.

Room Tip: Every room is amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertulrich1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Efimia
0.3 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
307 reviews
14 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
11.3 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fiscardo
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Petani Bay Hotel- Adults Only
12.5 mi away
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Platis Gialos
1,248 reviews
14.3 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odyssey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odyssey Hotel

Address: Agia Efimia 28081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Agia Efimia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Agia Efimia
Price Range: £207 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Odyssey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ODYSSEY Hotel in Aghia Efimia is a 4 stars hotel, a secretive heaven in a stunning location with unrivaled views. Inspired by Ulysses' adventures, ODYSSEY themed hotel is a luxurious and stylist destination, that goes beyond expectations. Located on the serene bay of Aghia Efimia, opposite to Mythical island of Ithaca. Every suite here is different, following the theme of Homer's ODYSSEY. Charming elegance meets state-of-the-art facilities. The passionate spirit of Ulysses lives on. Customized with sumptuous fabrics, plush sensual carpeting, original artwork, hydro massage shower or Jacuzzi bath tab, each guest room also incorporates the latest modern enhancements such as flat screen SAT televisions and High Speed Internet Access. Enjoy the pleasures provided by the most luxurious hotel suites in Kefalonia. Ideal for couples. No children under 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Odyssey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing