We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of steps but......a lovely relaxing holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Agia Efimia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lots of steps but......a lovely relaxing holiday!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The hotel stands at the far end of the village and first impression the outside looked a little dated. However the hotel and rooms were very inviting. We had to move rooms after the first night as our bathroom ceiling was constantly dripping. The hotel staff were very accommodating and moved us to a better room which thankfully was on a lower level! Again there was a problem with this room but was resolved immediately. The hotel staff were all extremely helpful and really friendly. If anyone is looking for a 'wind down' holiday then I would recommend a stay here. Probably not suitable for anyone looking for a busy nightlight but for us it was exactly what we were looking for. The steps are never ending so not for the faint hearted however for us we reasoned the extra exercise allowed us the half litre of house wine every evening!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pancha120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    73
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
60
164
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Hotel staff are really very good and genuinely care that you are having a good time. Rooms and facilities are very good. George is brilliant and the views are outstanding. A tranquil place which is very relaxing. However, there are a lot of steps. 126 from the pool to the exterior lift.
This is the only downside that we found.
Dave and Jan
Sheffield

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed the first week of September for three nights in one of the villas with a private pool, 102, Athina. We had high expectations as we had paid the extra to stay in a villa but felt strangely disappointed and let down by our experience.

The room:
The although quite new, the room felt dated and the furniture cheap and thrown together. There was a terrible smell (a combination of stale smoke and sewage) and this did not fade throughout our stay. The room was clean and had everything we needed but felt like we didn't want to spend time there as it was unpleasant. We had good wifi connection in all areas of the room including out on the terrace so this was a plus point. Whatever the hotel washed towels and sheets in needs to be changed ASAP as it had a strange smell to the point where I didn't want to put my head on my pillow or dry my face with my towel.

The pool:
The pool and terrace was the only thing keeping us at this hotel. It was big enough to properly swim in and had amazing views of Sami, and Ithaca. We spent most of our time out on the terrace and there was a lovely big umbrella to use in the midday sun for shade. There were two comfortable sun loungers but unfortunately these were badly stained from previous guests. (We just used our beach towels to cover this up). The only problem we had with the terrace area was there was little privacy as it was right across from the main reception and there was only a tiny partition between us and the next villa. Although we can see why they chose to do this so there were uninterrupted views apart from the roof of the villa in front of you.

The food:
We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was included and there was a large selection to choose from and a relaxed atmosphere, no set tables but always plenty available and we didn't have any problems with food/drinks being available.

The bar:
We had a quick soft drink on our last day whilst waiting for a taxi but waited a while to be served and found these drinks quite expensive.

The local area:
We felt a little young for the area (in our mid-late 20's). There were plenty of restaurants to choose from only a short walk away from the hotel but found all the restaurants had almost exactly the same menu so were very sick of the food by the end of the holiday. We like to eat out and felt disappointed by selection and quality of food on offer.
The main reason for going to this area though was the quality of the beaches and swimming, right outside the hotel is an amazing stretch of beach and the water is stunning, incredibly clear and as warm as getting in the bath. We would recommend buying a snorkel as there is an abundance of sea life to check out. The amazing sea and beaches made our holiday and would recommend this area if people are looking for brilliant swimming.
There is a steep walk to get to your room at the hotel which for us was only difficult in the midday heat but would not recommend if you had mobility problems.

The people:
All the people we met were extremely friendly and accommodating. We felt like we had insulted the waiters when we couldn't finish their food in the restaurant and the taxi driver we used for a trip to Mellisani cave (called by hotel reception) was friendly and not too expensive.

We had an amazing time due to the quality of the beaches and swimming but won't be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: If you have the money get a villa with private pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hannahkathg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We visited in mid September and had booked a sea view suite. The room and balcony was spacious with wonderful views over the bay. Being on the top level (4) there were, as other reviewers have noted a number of steps to negotiate, I counted 145 before the lift to the upper levels but for us that was all part of the exercise for the day. It is a 10 to 15 minute quiet seaside walk into town but there is a wonderful Taverna at the bottom of the hotel if you don't fancy the walk. Only downside for me was the breakfast, varied but bland. Low quality yoghurt and juices an example. Better option is to spend 5 euros in one of the many local taverns in the village and watch the world go by. We hired a small boat and went for a dive in our 5 days in this most peaceful and relaxed of resorts. Will definitely return to the hotel and village as soon as I can.

Room Tip: All rooms looked like they had a sea view but probably worth checking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanSwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The title of this review sums the hotel up quite nicely. My wife and I stayed at the KBP for 1 week in September 2013, we booked a last minute deal and didn't pay a fortune. We were initially drawn to the hotel for the spectacular views and peaceful setting which didn't disappoint.
Overall our holiday was 5/5, the village is fantastic, the staff at the hotel are great and the hotel is very clean.

Firstly, the steps weren't too much of an issue for us. If you're elderly or unfit then they could be a bit of a spoiler, but for the views that you get at the top they were worth it. We stayed in room 106 which was well appointed and reasonably well equipped, but the sign on the door was stuck on wonky which did give a bit of a bad first impression. Bathroom was fine other than the fact there was no shower curtain which led to an almighty flood after each shower, which we had to mop up with our towels. However rooms were cleaned each day to a good standard.

The paintwork throughout the hotel is tatty and they badly need to employ a gardener, the grounds could do with a general tidy up. And they need to replace the bulbs on the Hotel frontage sign so it doesn't read the 'alonia Bay Palace' - it did remind us of Faulty Towers!

There is a hotel bar whichever was always empty, unstaffed, and lacking in atmosphere - as was the pool bar to a certain degree. A simple happy hour and some music would attract more custom, although the price of a beer at the hotel is double the price in the town.

There are a handful of staff who work at the hotel all of which are very pleasant. It seems the owner of the hotel had grand ideas but possible ran out of money.
The hotel claims to be 5 star in the leaflet you pick up from reception but this is a little excessive, albeit the views make up for it.

However all in all it was a top holiday, as Agia is an amazing place. We met some wonderful people at the hotel following a yellow boat trip and shared a fantastic last night with them. We were sad to have met them so late and wish we could have gone to Greek night at Steki restaurant (the hangover on the journey home wasn't so much fun!)! Adrian & Lesley, Michael & Dee - happy boating & good luck for the future :D.

Neil & Emma

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We actually had a fantastic time on this very pretty and still amazingly unspoiled Island, no hotel is perfect and the KBP is no exception but there are few small changes they could make that would make a huge difference.

The great things about the hotel are the friendliness of the staff, the wonderful setting slightly out of the resort, which gives a little frisson of privacy and elegance, and the views from the top rooms looking over the bay, which are stunning. The pool is great and also benefits from being located midway up a very steep hill, they've tried to create a horizon pool effect and its moderately successful. It's also quite a long pool so anyone who wants to get up early and exercise before the sun worshipers take their turn can get a pretty good work out in.

If you have a mind to be hyper critical then some of the above can also be seen as negatives, yes its not in the centre of the resort, and yes it's built on a very steep hill with the top rooms a good uphill hike away. To give you some idea of the gradient we were advised to turn the A/C off in our car to give it an extra bit of power as we drove it up to the top car park. However because of this you get the privacy and the great views, you pay your money and take your choice I guess. For me it was worth the climb.

On the downside the breakfast was average and we couldn't eat on the terrace because of the wasp invasion everywhere we tried to sit, I don't think there's much anyone can do about the wasps and it's the same everywhere you go but it did mean that we had to eat inside.

They could do the breakfast so much better with a little effort, I got the sense that costs were being cut here, the yogurt was tasteless and stodgy, the honey and jam was served in cheap catering packs and the coffee was stewed and tasted of nescafe. It was just a budget breakfast and was pretty typical of a lot of tourist hotels I've stayed in, it's not and shouldn't be a deal breaker but it's a shame that more effort isn't put into what could be a few quick wins to steal a march on the competition.

The climb could be a problem for some, it wasn't for us. There is lift that takes you up to the top from about two thirds of the way up but you still have to climb a way before you get there. The drive in the car to the top rooms is as steep as I've known but it's perfectly do'able so if you have a car driving is an option.

We found that the walls in our room to be paper thin, I felt like I knew my neighbours even though we never actually met.

Finally the sign on the outside of the hotel was broken during our entire 5 night stay, at night we felt we were staying at the alonia Bay Palace. Not a big deal but it's a shame to let small things give the impression that it's not well managed.

We had a great time and with the proviso's above I'd recommend this place to anyone just on the location and the friendliness of the people alone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
410 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is our second stay at Kefalonia Bay Palace. From my initial e-mail enquiry re booking through to a personal wave goodbye at the end of our stay, the staff were friendly and very helpful. Echoing a recent reviewer, yes, there are a few niggles- things not working, luke-warm "hot" food at breakfast and furniture looking a bit tired- but this place is relaxing, peaceful and is in an amazing location. Rooms require a steep hill walk for access, but the views are marvellous, looking across the sea to Sami and over to Ithaca. It is well worth paying a bit more for a villa with private infinity pool, overlooking the sea. There was a good range of food at breakfast, with quick replenishment when needed. The swarms of wasps on the terrace made eating outside in the morning an ordeal, but this is not the fault of the hotel. Evening menus depended on what was available that day, which meant that dishes were freshly made and very good. The only downside (for the hotel) was that we could eat and drink just as well but far more cheaply in nearby restaurants. We went in September, which is classed as being in Low Season, and, as a result, was extremely good value. Don't go there if you want evening entertainment in the hotel, or if you want to be in the middle of town. This is at the end of the promenade, ten minutes walk into the bustle of the harbour, which has a good range of restaurants to chose from. As a bonus, this is a bird watcher's dream, as being on a hillside, adjacent to scrubland, there were many species around. Thanks to George, Cassie and Georgia for making us so welcome. See you next year.

Room Tip: Lowest villa is Afrodite, 101, with unrestricted views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bootess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Efimia
0.3 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
17.8 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
11.1 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
14.6 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kefalonia Bay Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kefalonia Bay Palace

Property: Kefalonia Bay Palace
Address: Agia Efimia 28081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Agia Efimia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Agia Efimia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kefalonia Bay Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kefalonia Bay Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kefalonia Bay Palace Hotel Agia Efimia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing