We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of B&B Il Sogno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B Il Sogno
Ranked #9 of 40 Anacapri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night, and thought it was a great value and in a great location. In our opinion, Anacapri is the place to stay- much cheaper then Capri, and many things to do here ( we took the chair lift- highly recommend - and walked to the blue grotto, where we swam for free since it was late in the day). Il Sogno was in a great location, close to everything we needed, but quiet, really could not have asked for a better location. We also got to use the pool at hotel San Michele down the street. The owners of this B & B were very helpful and pleasant with wonderful customer service (not always the norm in italy!)My only room for improvement point would be to upgrade the mattress- it was on the hard and lumpy side. But truly we were so exhausted we could have slept soundly anywhere. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to others. Thank you! -Steph and Matt

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    24
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
101
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This charming home was a terrific place to stay. The couple who runs it couldn't have been sweeter. One of our favorite photos is our daughter with their dog cookie. The location is just a bit of a walk from the center of Anacapri. We enjoyed the thrill of the chairlift up to the mountain top. When staying at this B&B don't miss the opportunty to have dinner and the Hotel San Michele, owned by this same couple. Amazing food and views.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My family of four (including two teens) stayed for four nights at this lovely Bed and Breakfast in June 2012. We much preferred staying in Anacapri because it is so laid back and relaxed compared to Capri town where everyone is always dressed up. The owners of Il Sogno live on the property and they are also the owners of the Hotel San Michele where you can walk a few blocks and have a swim, free of charge. Be sure to have dinner there one night because the food and the views were fabulous. We rented the two best rooms that have terraces with sweeping ocean views. The breakfast was wonderful as well. Everything you need in Anacapri is within walking distance so you can easily use this B&B as a great home base for sites like the chair lift to the top of the island, the Blue Grotto, and a day trip into Capri Town. My only suggestion is that you will need to do your own research about where to eat and what to do because you are pretty much on your own if you stay at this B&B---no concierge, etc. I highly recommend this charming property for anyone wanting a relaxing holiday in Anacapri. Tip: the highlight of our whole vacation was taking a private two hour boat trip with "Wendy's Whales" where we circled the island and swam through the Green Grotto. Very reasonably priced for what you get.

Room Tip: Be sure to pay a little extra for one of the rooms with the terrace and ocean view because it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanleyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed three nights at this B&B in June 2012. We arrived in Anacapri by bus and had no problem finding the B&B (it is very close to the first bus stop in Anacapri when coming from the Capri main port). Since there had been a cancellation we were immediately upgraded from the "standard" room we'd book to the largest room on the second floor, which was really great! It had a breathtaking view of the sunset and a large balcony. The hosts were super friendly and made us feel very welcome. They even invited us to see one of the games in the European football championship together with them. Breakfast was served outside in front of the house and was very nice. We would highly recommend this B&B, it was the nicest place we stayed at during our two week trip along the Amalfi coast - Capri - Ischia. If we return to Capri we would definitely stay here again! /Henrik&Maria

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We spent three nights in this wonderful B and B in Anacapri. there are only 3 rooms in this wonderful little gem.
We had the smallest room without a balcony but to be honest we had free reign of the terrace and lovely gardens, and my favourite spot - the swing chair which I had to be prised out of each day, so we didn't really miss out.
Serenella and her husband were so welcoming and helpful, they went out of their way to accomodate us.
When we arrived there was a problem with the air con in our room that they were sorting out, they were so worried about this that they actually offered us their own bedroom if the issue couldn't be resolved!
However it was fixed in no time and the perfect, arctic blast of air conditioning was much needed in the 39 degree heat!
Breakfast was served on the terrace and was a fantastic choice of fruit, pastries, cheese, meats, toast and more.
Anacapri is up a huge hill with only one winding road there, however you can easily get a bus from marine Grande, just turn right from the jetty you get dropped off at by the ferry, and the bus stop is a two minute walk past the ferry ticket office.
It's a flat fare of 1.80 euros on the buses for any journey on the island, and the service is very reliable and frequent but the journey can be very uncomfortable as they cram loads of people into the tiny buses that then take the hairpin turns at high speed, sending you flying into your fellow passengers!!
Get off at Victory Square and Il Sogno is literally a 2 minute walk from the bus stop.
You can also have free use of the pool and sunbeds at Hotel San Michele that is five minutes walk away
All in all, this couldn't be bettered, wonderful stay with lovely people.
The island itself is wonderful, the blue grotto is fab but very overpriced for what it is (12.50 euros per person)
TIP! you can walk to the blue grotto from Il Sogno, down a rather precarious path - about 20 mins walk, and queue up on the shore - you get onto a row boat and into the grotto far quicker than if you go on one of the an island cruise tours and have to wait alongside other large tour groups, all wanting to get in.
Go on the hair raising single chair cable car from Anacapri up Mount Salaro for fab views (10 euros return trip)
It is also worth going on one of the 2 hour boat trips around the island, around 16 euros per person that leave from Marina grande.

Room Tip: All great, would have been nice to get a balcony but we didn't miss out too much as you can use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collymarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed at Il Signo last week during our honeymoon in Europe. The B&B was easy to find, very clean, gorgeous view, excellent hearty breakfast and the special room with the balcony had a breathtaking view.
The couple, Claudio and Serena were super helpful, kind and very hospitable.

If you're in Europe and plan Anacapri then this B&B is a MUST to stay at. You can rest, go for lazy strolls, read a book maybe, drink coffee and enjoy the great food just a few min away from the B&B.

Pros: close to victoria square, which is where the bus drops you from the port, has a variety of restaurants nearby, beautiful view

Cons: A little pricy for a B&B in a small town like Anacapri, shops close by 6-7

Room Tip: thumbs up :-). very kind and helpful hosts, clean and quiet bedroom/bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abeer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The rooms were amazing, clean and perfect stay in Anacapri!!! I would go back time and time again. Serenella and her husband were the perfect hosts. They have a hotel down the block and you can use the pool. There are right near a bunch of shopping stores. There is an amazing restaurant right near the B&B in the piazza. We were very happy with our stay. Thank you so much Serenella and your family for having us. We had a great time. One of the rooms has the balcony that wraps all the way around the B&B and has a shower and a tube so a couple can shower at the same time to save time. The other room with the balcony is also decently spacious and has a part of the balcony. Serenella and her husband were very accommodating, even the last day, they held our bags (which you can trust them) so we could go to the Blue Grotta. The place is in a good location, quite and there is a bar near by, restaurants and its easy to get around with buses and I would definitely recommend taking the bus to Capri.

Room Tip: I would choice a room with a balcony. Worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Averde42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.8 mi away
Hotel Il Girasole
Hotel Il Girasole
#10 of 18 in Anacapri
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#15 of 18 in Anacapri
446 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 41 in Capri
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
940 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#5 of 18 in Anacapri
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biancamaria
Hotel Biancamaria
#16 of 18 in Anacapri
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Il Sogno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Il Sogno

Property: B&B Il Sogno
Address: Via Vignola 20, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its beautiful arches, porches and panoramic terraces, the Bed and Breakfast "Il Sogno" in Capri Island is a typical example of local island architecture. This charming villa is located in a prestigious residential area, surrounded by a flowered Mediterranean garden with tropical plants, and is the best place for a relaxing holiday on this romantic Italian island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your B&B Il Sogno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Il Sogno Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing