We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few days in Paradise”
Review of Da Gelsomina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Da Gelsomina
Ranked #13 of 38 Anacapri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Few days in Paradise”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We got the last room for our stay May 14 - 17. How lucky we were!! Pasquale & Gelsomina were the consummate hosts. Nothing was too much of a burden. The room was very comfortable, the views spectacular (all 5 rooms have a patio and ocean view); the food was outstanding; the location secluded and charming; the walks very enjoyable; and the shuttle service very accommodating and time saving. Anacapri is so much more appealing than Capri - more private and much less congested. If you want a memorable experience you need to stay here!! Be sure to read the review by FROOOM who says it all so I don't need to repeat it. We too have traveled the world and Da Gelsomina is a MUST stay for everyone. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: all the rooms are identical - very clean, comfortable, the bed is great, and the patio and view are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbieddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    30
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
83
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We arrived on Isle of Capri not knowing what to expect from our accommodation as it was the cheapest place we stayed in Europe. It is a bit if a trip from the harbour, however it is worth every bit of the effort we made. You can make your way to Anacapri and the villa staff will come and pick you up. Once you have your luggage there it is a beautiful 20 minute stroll each way into the city. The views are amazing and this villa is run by a family who also manage the organic farm/vineyard there. The food is amazing, the staff very helpful and this is a place to go relax and indulge in the Italian culture. Wine, cheese, tomatoes, fruit and bakeries are great. We ended up canceling our plans and staying an extra night. Even then we did not want to leave, everything about it was great. Want to relax and wander Italian villages do it, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask about the emergency room, it is older but more private and sits in the middle if the vineyard, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 374ComingHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
521 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Enjoyed most everything about our stay here. Comfortable, clean room. Very peaceful.
Beautiful bucolic setting. And the food at the restaurant was excellent as was the service.

We took some lovely and some challenging walks. The one to the top of Monte Salaro. Spectacular but not for the faint-hearted! The walk in to Anacapri along the back lane was very pleasant and helped work up our appetite.

The pool was excellent. Shuttle service was very useful.

There was mention at the start that house guests got a discount on the restaurant bills but this didn't seem to eventuate.

Other than that it was all good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn&MarkfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Gelsomina recently. The hotel is situated in the hills high above the town of Anacapri. Our rooms all had balconies with wonderful views of the sea and Vesuvius. The hotel itself was charming and the owners could to have more helpful. The staff has vans that will take you to the towns of Anacapri and Capri and will pick you up when you are ready to return to the hotel. The breakfasts were excellent. A wonderful experience overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcmandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
182 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

i am an experienced world traveler of mature years, picky on hotels (but not overly so), who does much advance research on my travels, including the accommodations, and therefore is rarely really disappointed in them.
i travel all over the world all of the time and stay in all kinds of places, some of them pretty fabulous, but this is really at the top of the list. i was swept away !!
dependable reservation.
friendly checking-in staff, english speaking.
quiet - no barking dog
room - large, fabulous (there are only six - it is really a restaurant) with lovely large bath, comfortable bed, no noise at night, french doors leading out to private terrace looking over their vineyard down towards the sea. sunset provided free of charge.
restaurant a bit distant, to keep any restaurant noise at bay.
located 25 minutes walk from center of anacapri and 2 minutes walk form the view point of the cliffs and sea and rocks and lighthouse and western point of the island and sunsets. IMPORTANT - they will pick you up from and drop you off at the ferry terminal on arrival/departure at no cost. they will drop you off and come and pick you up at any time as often as you like for anacapri center at no cost. from there you take the little bus into capri to see the eastern half of the island.
anacapri is THE place to stay on capri. you can visit capri town and surroundings easily but it is not touristy in anacapri and the manin square at night is actually full of - 100% itlians (october). there is a lot to see in anacapri - the cable car, the little art museum, the town itself, the expensive upscale shops for the rich, nice reasonable restaurants, the villa san michele, walks, the sunset point, lots. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY WITH THAT HORRIFIC TOURIST TRAP - THE BLUE GROTTO - there is so much sublime stuff on capri - capri and anacapri - that you don't need this ghastly thing.
the restaurant where you have breakfst (included) and any lunch or dinner (dinners not in october) is sublime and great food with views over the sea.
there is a fantastic pool.
the owners/managers/staff are 4th generation anacaprians who grow organic everything and are so incredibly kind that you are just in awe of them.
go say bongiorno to mama in the kitchen
go to capri in october, even the busy capri side of the island isn't crowded and a tourist trap. it is just lovely.
i can't wait to return here, and i will.
i read the "poor"review of this place (a thing which i was dumbfounded to find), and i just thank god i am not that person, whoever they may be !! if one can't be happy and satisfied here, life is going to be a grim experience !!...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FROOOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Situated high above the touristic hassle of Capri, Da Gelsomina is an exceptional small hotel. It offers attractive, reasonably priced rooms and a high quality restaurant in a very unique, private location that overlooks the sea and is within minutes (by minibus) of the vibrant village of Anacapri. If you want to get away from - yet have access to -- it all, this is definatly the place to be on Capri.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank See-Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We spent two days there in early September and had a wonderful time. The grounds and pool are beautiful and the view is breathtaking. Our room was very comfortable and had a very nice bathroom. The view from our terrace was unsurpassed.

This is a family run hotel and restaurant and the service was warm, friendly and attentive. The food at the restaurant is excellent with first class ingredients lovingly prepared.

Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
1.2 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
1.4 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
1.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#15 of 18 in Anacapri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.3 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ceselle
Hotel Villa Ceselle
#7 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Gelsomina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Gelsomina

Property: Da Gelsomina
Address: Via Migliara 72, 80073 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Da Gelsomina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Gelsomina Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing