We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, ok service, excellent location, overpriced”

Restaurant La Terrazza di Lucullo
Reserve with
Restaurant La Terrazza di Lucullo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 55 Restaurants in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$176
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Dining on this terrace is an experience you'll remember for as long as you live Suspended between the sea and sky, a terrace, a table for two and a view of the Bay of Naples, Mount Vesuvius and the Sorrentine Peninsula you'll never forget. Welcome to La Terrazza di Lucullo, Hotel Caesar Augustus' restaurant. From the vegetables grown in the kitchen garden to the fish delivered direct to the hotel by the island's fishermen each morning, only the freshest of locally-sourced ingredients are used to create Caesar Augustus' highly acclaimed regional cuisine. Then there are Capri's wonderfully succulent lemons, the pasta made in nearby Gragnano, and our homemade bread, freshly baked each morning... we adopted the philosophy of cooking using only the products of our land, long before the term "zero kilometer cuisine" was invented. Simplicity, quality and passion are the secrets of our chef Eduardo Vuolo's success. Volo, whose creative interpretation of traditional island dishes has left many a gastronomic critic speechless, heads a team of young Italian cooks all of whom, after working worldwide, have returned to their home region of Campania.
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good food, ok service, excellent location, overpriced”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Could have been and should have been a more memorable experience - five star hotel and five star prices... Food and wine very good, but a tiny tiny pinch of salt would have been perfect on the risotto. Both tables on the terrace had to take care of the wine pouring themselves. Lamb chops! Excellent dish! The service was not at all a five star hotel worthy - all the time it's that pricy. It is nice to not be disturbed all the time, but we don't want to feel forgotten and thirsty. Overall impression - average. By the way, the view is spectacular!

Helpful?
Thank adventurax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    22
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bottighofen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice location, nice service - but OVERPRICED”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The food is okay, but not outstanding. We stayed in the Hotel and will go another place the next days. Very small piece of fish for the very expensive price. Service and location is nice.

Helpful?
2 Thank Markus12362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An hidden gem”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

An exellent hotel restaurant.
Located on the clift overlooking the "salto di Tiberio", just for the view this restaurant is must to see.
Food is fresh - mostly at 0 km - and well executed by chef Edoardo.
Staff is friendly and ready to suggest the best dishes of the day.
Very good canteen as expected in a reastaurant of this level.

Suggested!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gama322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verbier, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A timely find in legendary Capri. Not cheap but worth it and more.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

First time in Capri, on a hot sunny tourist-rich day, so we bussed up to Ana Capri to escape the throng below and search out the views splendid over lunch. This was not easy. In nearly all the restaurants up top you could be sitting anywhere in Campania. But I noticed this restaurant location on the bus ride up and finally we sought it out. Gold! We ate mid afternoon as the establishment was winding down so service was easy and friendly. The food was simple but excellent and the views were unforgettable, gazing out into the cerulean vastness, below to Capri’s west flank, out to the prow of the Amalfi peninsula, and, across the bay of Naples, to the low gentle spreading hump that is ominous Vesuvio.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank william e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarAugustusHotel, Proprietario at Restaurant La Terrazza di Lucullo, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We are happy that you've chosen us to escape the throng, and so proud that you have thought: Gold!
Thank you very much for this nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A competition between the taste and sight, both winners!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Usually a good review starts speaking of what you enjoyed more. As I start to speak of Terrazza di Lucullo, I don't know whether to start from the experience of dishes tasting or the breathtaking view.
The restaurant is located inside the famous hotel Caser Augustus, but luckily you can have lunch or dinner without being a hotel guest. During our stay in Capri, we have been there twice, for lunch and dinner. The first suggestion I can give you, is to arrive earlier than the booking time, and have a refreshing cocktail by the pool, which is the cutest I have ever seen.
The menu offers a restrict but refined choice of the Italian and Neapolitan tradition. A special mention for me goes to the bread basket, a highly sought gamma of home made breads, bread sticks and pizzas.
The restaurant consists of a terrace perched on the rocks, looking in the direction of the Sorrentine Peninsula and Vesuvius. When you book try to ask for a scenic view table, the panorama will capture your eyesight. We did not know, but it is also possibile to have a private table on a small terrace, where you will have dinner alone, completely isolated from the world and from others!
The cost is absolutely worth the experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marino_napoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarAugustusHotel, Proprietario at Restaurant La Terrazza di Lucullo, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Reviews as yours make us proud of our work! We hope you will soon return back and have a dinner enjoying a private table on the small terrace. Thank you very much for your nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant La Terrazza di Lucullo also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Restaurant La Terrazza di Lucullo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing