We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anacapri Special”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Buco

Al Buco
Ranked #14 of 52 Restaurants in Anacapri
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: This was a pleasant find at the arrival point for the Mont Solero chairlift, at Piazzetta Vittoria in Anacapri. There were some high priced touristy restaurants around the square. However by walking a short distance up the first street slightly uphill we came to Al Buco on the left.. Eating is indoors. It is a small restaurant with a full menu. The service is quick and friendly. The three of us only wanted a light lunch. So we split one lunch. They brought three plates. We had bread, salad, penne with tomato sauce, water and ice cream for 14 Euros. It was exactly what we had in mind. I highly recommend this restaurant.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Anacapri Special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Recommended by our hotel. Wow!!! Delicious pasta, Insalta, beer & wine. Reasonably priced, staff excellent, speaks good English. They have takeaway.
On the street, easy to find. Worth the trip to Anacapri.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    73
    26
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
638 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 768 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our Capri Tour guide and we were very happy with our choice. It has a nice family owned restaurant feel to it and very welcoming. I had the Insalata Caprese and my hubby had the ravioli…OMG!!! Totally delicious!!! I don't even eat tomatoes back home but here they were so tasty and the Buffalo Mozzarella…a piece of heaven!!!

Our guide had made earlier reservations so we were lucky to have a nice private table on the patio.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SylvieFrancois444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“one of the best pizzerias in Anacapri”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Fabulous food, real value for money, great local wine, all served with a warm welcome - eat in is my recommendation, but you can takeaway too. Went more than once as thoroughly enjoyed first menu choices & wanted to try more - shame we weren't staying longer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeatherGB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Traditional food in Anacapri”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We chose this restaurant after reading the previous comments in Tripadvisor.
It is a well located restaurant with an attentive and nice service, offering traditional food.
Both of us eat a delicious "spaghetti con frutti di mare" with a salade of tomato and oignon, drinking a white wine "della casa".
The spaghetti was "al dente" and very tasteful, once it had entirely gained the flavour of the seafood. Wine was well balanced and very refreshing. Prices are also very good.
Thus, like others before, we do recomend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moskow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Want to come back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Our friends came to Anacapri last year. They had an amazing experience at this restaurant. We received a recommendation to try this place from the hosts in the hotel where we were staying. This restaurant is located away from the tourist streets, on the roadway, but you will not regret if you choose it for the evening. Gorgeous pasta, juicy with a rich flavor and aroma, delicious meat. great snacks. The food was so delicious that against our plans every evening we ate too much. We decided to have dinner there every night of our stay in Anacapri.
Service "Al Buco" very attentive. Maitre takes orders on the first night, each subsequent time remembered our wishes on the occasion of cooking, we do not have to repeat it. It has turned into a very pleasant ritual. We felt that we should expect, and are happy when we come back. Each evening we went there as a holiday dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoskowTatiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Buco also viewed

Anacapri, Island of Capri
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 
Anacapri, Island of Capri
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Al Buco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing