We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Caesar Augustus is great! My husband and I stayed there 2 nites in September. The ambiance was romantic. The rooms pretty with great views. The service impeccable and the food outstanding. At nite we had drinks outside on the terrace. It was conveniently located to walk to the shops and food and easy to get into town as well. It was without a doubt, one of the nicest places I have been to.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank liz g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    102
    57
    33
    27
See reviews for
95
613
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Wow!!! We just got back from our 3 night stay at the Caesar Augustus - it was our absolute favorite hotel during our 10 day honeymoon in Italy! If you plan to go to Capri - you must stay here!!! It is worth every penny. The breathtakingly spectacular views, the gorgeous hotel, the accommodating service....I could go on and on. Words can't express the beauty of the views from their outdoor terrace and infinity pool - you feel like you are on top of the world! Get your cameras ready! Upon our arrival, we were upgraded to a corner suite with a wrap around porch and were treated to champagne and strawberries with a sweet welcome note in our room - request room 304! The breakfast is incredible as well. Not only was our experience at the hotel amazing, but the town of Anacapri is awesome. At first we weren't sure about staying in Anacapri vs. the town of Capri, but we were very glad that we did. It is so cute and quaint and not as touristy as Capri with all of the day trippers. If you want to go to Capri there is a quick bus or you can just take a 5 minute taxi. During our stay we greatly enjoyed the hike up to Monte Solaro (we hiked up but took the chairlift down) as well as our dinner at Da Gelsomina - (A MUST GO!!). All in all, our experience at the Caesar Augustus was phenomenal and we will cherish our memories there forever!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLGPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We picked the Caesar Augustus to stay for our 30th wedding anniversary. We made an outstanding choice. Set on a cliff overlooking the water, there is an outstanding view in every direction. The service was unbelievably great with every member looking to see how they could make your stay better. For our anniversary night, we did their private dinner, which is dinner served in a private open grotto set high up in the cliff looking toward Sorento, and Naples. As we finished dinner, we watched the harvest moon rise over Naples. What could be more romantic?

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hockscider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I got married this past September at the spectacular Caesar Augustus Hotel and stayed one night. We have traveled a lot and have never experienced such superior service anywhere in the world. From the second we arrived until check out, we were treated like royalty. The room, the terrace, the pool, the restaurant, the staff--all above and beyond our expectations! We planned our wedding with Federica Nascimben from The Italian Wedding Event, who suggested this hotel, and made our wedding more perfect than we could have ever dreamed.
The views are absolutely breathtaking...it's still hard to believe such a beautiful place exists! Caesar Augustus was the perfect place to have our wedding, start a new chapter in our lives and make memories that will last forever. We look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We spent two nights here on a four-hotel tour of the Amalfi coast. It's an excellent, old-style grand hotel, much more traditional than the other three places we stayed. This is definitely the place if you're looking for a bit of 1950's glamour, but it might be a little sleepy for guests looking for something more up-to-date. However the setting is unrivalled, even by the general standards of this exceptionally scenic region. The hotel is in Anacapri, perched on the very edge of a sheer drop into the Bay of Naples, high above Capri's port and offering an extraordinary panoramic vista across the entire coastline, as well as dramatic sunsets behind neighbouring Ischia. Picturesque doesn't begin to describe it. There's a lovely view from the pool area as well, and from the pleasant terraced bar behind reception, where a pianist seems to play continuously all evening, regardless of whether there is anyone there to hear him.

Our junior suite was large, with a romantic four-poster bed and a good-sized terrace directly above the cliff, but the furnishings were a touch old-fashioned, especially in the bathroom where the 80s-style jacuzzi shower/bath seemed better suited to more senior guests. Similarly, the restaurant was good, with efficient and friendly service, especially from the charming maitre d, but the menu selection was small and somewhat less adventurous than most other places we visited. The overall quality was fine, though, even if the breakfast selection was a little limited. In general, senior staff throughout were all very efficient and helpful, but the more junior members of the team were rather less polished, and more eager than they were capable.

A note of caution: Anacapri is quaint and picturesque but very quiet in the evening, so you'll probably want to venture down to Capri for dinner and entertainment. (We went to Mamma, a comparatively new and quite stylish eaterie behind the main square, and it was fine). The hotel's shuttle service is only for arrivals and departures, so you'll need a taxi. These are extortionately expensive and quite hair-raising at night; ours was obviously in a hurry to be somewhere else and took hairpin curves at an alarming speed. It was more entertaining and enjoyable to take the public bus service, under E4 for two people instead of E20 to E30 for a five minute journey. The funicular railway down from Capri to the port is also inexpensive and fun, but ask around before accepting a private round-the-island boat trip from the numerous fisherman who will accost you as soon as you arrive. The view of the rugged cliffs from the sea is spectacular but the famous blue grotto isn't always open, and you might not get quite what you were promised upfront! The grotto was closed the day we went out because of rough seas the day before, but we negotiated a rate of E100 (down from the standard rate of E140 to E160) for a very nice two hour private tour by fishing boat of the Faraglioni rocks, and were perfectly satisfied. Or you can do the same thing on a party boat with 40 or 50 people for E17 a head.

Room Tip: Definitely go for one of the sea-view rooms, and ideally a junior suite if you can afford it, becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckythree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I just retured from a 3 night stay here. Even the beautiful pictures on the hotels website do not do this spot justice and the sunsets and views over the cliff were simply spectacular. The service was perfect from the moment that we arrived at the port. We were picked up by the hotel, checked in and shown the grounds and introduced to both the GM and the owner, Paolo. We were celebrating an anniversary and were given an amazing room (304) with a wrap around terrace that gave us gorgeous vistas of Sorrento and Naples as well as the sunset to the west. Anacapri is a nice escape from the hustle and bustle of Capri, and we were very glad we stayed away from the crowds. The pool area is incredible, and we spent most of our days simply relaxing. The food is excellent and fresh, with an emphasis on things grown in the hotel's own gardens. One of our favorite areas was the large lobby and bar/lounge area with so many places to enjoy a great cocktail in the evening. We look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent, unique in the island of Capri. The hotel is needing some renovations, specially in the bedrooms where the furniture is cheap and falling apart; bathrooms are not great neither.
The hotel shuttle never was available and we were spending an average of 60 Euros per day in taxi cabs.
The beautiful infinity "heated" pool is not heated.
Views are extraordinary beautiful, common areas are nice and service is friendly and good.
In general terms it seems that the hotel is needing a good investment of money and a real business mentality, both absent at the present time.
We go every year to the Amalfi Coast but we will not go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.2 mi away
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
#3 of 18 in Anacapri
480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
1.4 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#6 of 41 in Capri
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.7 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caesar Augustus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caesar Augustus Hotel

Property: Caesar Augustus Hotel
Address: Via Giuseppe Orlandi 4 | Baia de Napoli, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anacapri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
#3 Family Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Caesar Augustus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beauty of a villa suspended between the sea and sky surrounding Capri. The luxury of a 5 star hotel designed to look and feel just like your own beautiful island home. The privacy guaranteed by the secluded location, on the cliff edge, 300 meters above the sea. The only 5 star hotel on the island of Capri with: A breathtaking view encompassing the whole of the Bay of Naples and the Amalfi Coast Six utterly unique imperial suites A restaurant serving zero miles cuisine made with ingredients grown in the kitchen garden that you can visit every day A double level infinity pool facing the sea An outdoor wellness area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caesar Augustus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caesar Augustus
Caesar Augustus Anacapri
Caesar Augustus Hotel Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing