We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise on earth .!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Paradise on earth .!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

It was our honeymoon and we had the best time ever at this hotel .!!!friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere every moment .!!!had a great time .!!if at all anybody going to Capri Italy , I would surely recommend this hotel and I would visit again next year too .!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avimitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    100
    56
    32
    27
See reviews for
92
591
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Harbor Islands, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Sitting just below the town of Annacapri and above Capri it is out of the way of the day tourists.
The hotel transcends time and place. It has been carefully placed on the cliff 1000 feet above the bay of Naples with views that take your breath away.
The hotels restaurant is directed by Chef Edwardo Voutu is amazing. Being a member of the Chaine de Roressuer my friends and I were impressed with his culinary skills. The views from their special dinning area on the cliff are spectacular.
The rooms are well decorated and spacious, neat and clean.
The Staff head by Lady Luxcia can not do enough to please the guests.
Even more impressive is the care and presence of the owner Paulo Seniorini and his son Francesco. They mingle with guests searching to always improve the hotel and its facilities.
After four days in July my wife and I did not want to leave.
Yes, it is a little bit of Paradise.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the bay of Napes are quite special Balconies are a welcome feature! The Air Conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edjoy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

So looked forward to visiting Capri following a few days in Positano. To make this a special trip we upgraded from a junior to a full suite. Imagine our disappointment after being transferred from the harbour to the hotel as arranged when we then had to wait for 3 hours in the cocktail bar (drinking mainly water and offered no choice of food other than crisps and olives), while our previously vacated room turned out to be a junior suite - at best. Not what we had booked, sub-standard to what we expected. We registered our complaint but the best the General Manager could come up with was a suite for 3 day, the following day as the hotel was fully booked. As we were staying for 7 nights we did not want the upheaval of moving twice. And so it went on...

On the first day the noisy and belligerent housekeeping service took both the orthopaedic pillows I travel with away. One was delivered back but after numerous requests it took 3 sleepless nights and a kind boy at the front desk to go to the laundry and find the other one.

No one bothered to show us where lunch was served on our arrival which turned out to be a happy mistake as breakfast was average - cold, overcooked scrambled eggs, luke warm tea. My husband made the mistake of asking for some jalapeño chillies with his omelette, the waiter then pretended not to know what he meant and bandied it around the half dozen or so other waiters as though such a thing was beyond comprehension and we blanched as they made intimidating comments and sniggered to each other in full view of all the other hotel guests. Un-necessary and unprofessional. 5 star? Dinner was served in the most beautiful location overlooking the Bay of Naples but it was average and expensive. The happy mistake of not knowing where lunch was led us to two other fantastic hotels The Quisisana and The Capri Palace and Spa. Both offered impeccable food and service but were sadly fully booked as we did try to move. They showed us their comparably priced suites and they were way bigger and better furnished than we had at The Caesar Augustus, where there are clearly management and training issues.

Our expensive private transfer back to Naples airport was by local taxi and disorganised to say the least a waste of extra money. We will not be going back to the Caesar Augustus to be talked down to by imperious unprofessional staff, but we will definitely go back to breathtaking Capri and one of the other two impeccable hotels.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

There is no doubt this Hotel has the best views in Capri BUT was lacking in so many ways that we certainly won't ever Return.
5 Star it is not !
We booked a suite for a week and were massively disappointed to be given an ordinary room - a junior Suite at a stretch ! No amount of negotiating with the General Manager could solve this issue and, as everywhere else in Capri was fully booked, we were stuck !
The front desk( managed by Ciro) and the terrace Bar (managed by Mauricio) were Plus points.
Everything else was pretty dire :
1. Housekeeping was the worst I've ever experienced - from removing our personal things " by accident" ( and not returning them for 3 days) to not once cleaning the dusty window shelves in the week we were there.
2. The waiters were cocky, presumptive and totally lacked any "customer friendly" skills.
Both of the above point are clearly "Training issues" which must lie at the door of the Hotel Management.
3. No 24 hour Room Service - and this Hotel purports to be 5 Star ?
4. Room wifi was intermittent at best - and didn't work at all on our last day there.
We will return to Capri on holiday next year as we loved it - but stay in a different Hotel for sure !

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our third trip to beautiful Anacapri and the Caesar Augustus hotel. We first stayed there seven years ago and loved it, then again four years ago and loved it and finally this year this month and sadly the bloom is off the rose. The setting of the hotel is still the most beautiful on the island, the staff are gracious, the rooms/suites were never our motivation since they are a bit tired but the whole feel of the hotel is wrong.

I believe the hotel is trying to change it's brand to a spa environment, which is fine but they need to be sure they tell potential guests of the change. No music on your private expensive terrace, I hardly think Michael Buble is offensive at 5:30pm, no lap swimming because the splashing is too loud, no gathering at the pool at 4:30pm after meeting new friends from around the world with music and please don't laugh too loud on the outside deck! This together with the bathtub/shower from hell was a huge disappointment for us and our friends.

We have sent countless couples to this hotel along with spending enough money not to be unhappy and reprimanded like children.

We are sorry to say we will not be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Most intoxicating views of the mediterranean sea , the golf of Sorrento, and mount Vesuvio.....
The Hotel setting decor and service outstanding
The restaurant absolutely to be tried..one of the best restaurants in Capri
very romantic setting ...in the morning the chef decides what to serve for dinner based on their own vegetable garden and the catch of the day
Gourmet presentation and preparation deserving of the michelin Stars
We will certainly go back..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIRA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were all geared up for a fabulous and unforgettable experience having seen the pictures of the property, the breath-taking views, the Relais-Chateau label of the hotel, the travel agency's recomendation of the hotel as one of the best 5-star luxury hotels of the island of Capri and last, but not least, the very high price we had paid in advance. This was one of the most disappointing experiences we have had. The staff here is unprofessional, unhelpful and actually rude. The service is very below average. The room we had, one of their very best, had a great view, but the bathroom was crummy and the rest of the room furnishing quite average and didn't meet our expectations. One single recommendation to others: don't make the mistake of spending your money in this place!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AmirHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarAugustusHotel, Proprietario at Caesar Augustus Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Customer ,
We are truly sorry for not having been able to offer you a holiday up to your expectation.
We are really surprised of your comment, very contrasting with those that we, luckily, usually receive, but we duly accept it.
We want to investigate in order that, what happened to you, will not happen again to other guests: continuous improvements, in our opinion, is the only requisite for excellence.
Please, if this does not give to you too much trouble and, anyway, if you want to help us, despite your understandable irritation, it would be very important for us to know which episodes have occurred in which our staff has not been up to, and even rude.
I you want, please contact us privately or in any other way you prefer. We will be very grateful.

And we hope that you will come back again in our place where, thanks to your help, we will try to improve our service to bring it to always exceed expectation.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
1.4 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#5 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
#3 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#6 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caesar Augustus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caesar Augustus Hotel

Property: Caesar Augustus Hotel
Address: Via Giuseppe Orlandi 4 | Baia de Napoli, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
#1 Spa Hotel in Anacapri
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
#3 Family Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Caesar Augustus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beauty of a villa suspended between the sea and sky surrounding Capri. The luxury of a 5 star hotel designed to look and feel just like your own beautiful island home. The privacy guaranteed by the secluded location, on the cliff edge, 300 meters above the sea. The only 5 star hotel on the island of Capri with: A breathtaking view encompassing the whole of the Bay of Naples and the Amalfi Coast Six utterly unique imperial suites A restaurant serving zero miles cuisine made with ingredients grown in the kitchen garden that you can visit every day A double level infinity pool facing the sea An outdoor wellness area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Caesar Augustus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caesar Augustus
Caesar Augustus Anacapri
Caesar Augustus Hotel Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing