We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand hotel in the most beautiful location but ......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a difficult review to write . The location and the view from all parts of the hotel would make it one of the best if not the best hotel I ever stayed .On the other hand the reception staff and the non existing concierge do not justify a five star rating . Dinner in the restaurant was in a price category only justified by the breathtaking views but for sure not by the quality of food and service . Rooms and amenities were five star.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Flyingplumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

While the setting of the hotel could not be better, the service was disappointing. The front desk staff was very poor. One gentleman had very poor hygiene, ill fitting clothes and was very difficult to communicate with. My luggage had been lost in Naples and unfortunately they were not helpful with locating my suitcase. I was later informed that I needed to bribe them with $ up front as opposed to a tip after they helped locate my suitcase. The restaurant was ok and the rooms not great. It was a disappointing 30th anniversary.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tammera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

But you only have a view. The rooms were a huge disappointment, just looked old and like it has never been renovated....like a lot of hotels in Italy unfortunately. So of course, in the peak season the quality/price ratio is not there. The restaurants were ok but nothing surprising, was expecting a bit more. However the view is so amazing, that it is totally worth the evening drinks by the panoramic terrasse on the Naples bay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank titiparis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel deserves the five star rating. I been here with my family for three days, woken by the rising sun which could have been seen from our porch. Gazing upon the the open sea, seeing the surrounding islands. Beautiful. But this hotel was way more than just a pretty landscape. The staff was extremely nice and efficient, making our experience way better. Also, the food In the restaurant was amazing (though quite too expensive, and not a whole variety for Kosher eaters). The restaurant also had this amazing view and overall design. The lobby leads to a porch with the same view from our room, but offers a greater field of view. Overall, the experience was amazing and I am looking forward to come back here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank 113elib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

It was our honeymoon and we had the best time ever at this hotel .!!!friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere every moment .!!!had a great time .!!if at all anybody going to Capri Italy , I would surely recommend this hotel and I would visit again next year too .!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avimitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Sitting just below the town of Annacapri and above Capri it is out of the way of the day tourists.
The hotel transcends time and place. It has been carefully placed on the cliff 1000 feet above the bay of Naples with views that take your breath away.
The hotels restaurant is directed by Chef Edwardo Voutu is amazing. Being a member of the Chaine de Roressuer my friends and I were impressed with his culinary skills. The views from their special dinning area on the cliff are spectacular.
The rooms are well decorated and spacious, neat and clean.
The Staff head by Lady Luxcia can not do enough to please the guests.
Even more impressive is the care and presence of the owner Paulo Seniorini and his son Francesco. They mingle with guests searching to always improve the hotel and its facilities.
After four days in July my wife and I did not want to leave.
Yes, it is a little bit of Paradise.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the bay of Napes are quite special Balconies are a welcome feature! The Air Conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edjoy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

So looked forward to visiting Capri following a few days in Positano. To make this a special trip we upgraded from a junior to a full suite. Imagine our disappointment after being transferred from the harbour to the hotel as arranged when we then had to wait for 3 hours in the cocktail bar (drinking mainly water and offered no choice of food other than crisps and olives), while our previously vacated room turned out to be a junior suite - at best. Not what we had booked, sub-standard to what we expected. We registered our complaint but the best the General Manager could come up with was a suite for 3 day, the following day as the hotel was fully booked. As we were staying for 7 nights we did not want the upheaval of moving twice. And so it went on...

On the first day the noisy and belligerent housekeeping service took both the orthopaedic pillows I travel with away. One was delivered back but after numerous requests it took 3 sleepless nights and a kind boy at the front desk to go to the laundry and find the other one.

No one bothered to show us where lunch was served on our arrival which turned out to be a happy mistake as breakfast was average - cold, overcooked scrambled eggs, luke warm tea. My husband made the mistake of asking for some jalapeño chillies with his omelette, the waiter then pretended not to know what he meant and bandied it around the half dozen or so other waiters as though such a thing was beyond comprehension and we blanched as they made intimidating comments and sniggered to each other in full view of all the other hotel guests. Un-necessary and unprofessional. 5 star? Dinner was served in the most beautiful location overlooking the Bay of Naples but it was average and expensive. The happy mistake of not knowing where lunch was led us to two other fantastic hotels The Quisisana and The Capri Palace and Spa. Both offered impeccable food and service but were sadly fully booked as we did try to move. They showed us their comparably priced suites and they were way bigger and better furnished than we had at The Caesar Augustus, where there are clearly management and training issues.

Our expensive private transfer back to Naples airport was by local taxi and disorganised to say the least a waste of extra money. We will not be going back to the Caesar Augustus to be talked down to by imperious unprofessional staff, but we will definitely go back to breathtaking Capri and one of the other two impeccable hotels.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.7 mi away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
0.2 mi away
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
#3 of 18 in Anacapri
552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 40 in Capri
701 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 40 in Capri
459 reviews
0.6 mi away
J.K.Place Capri
J.K.Place Capri
#18 of 40 in Capri
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caesar Augustus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caesar Augustus Hotel

Address: Via Giuseppe Orlandi 4 | Baia de Napoli, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anacapri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range: £394 - £903 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caesar Augustus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beauty of a villa suspended between the sea and sky surrounding Capri. The luxury of a 5 star hotel designed to look and feel just like your own beautiful island home. The privacy guaranteed by the secluded location, on the cliff edge, 300 meters above the sea. The only 5 star hotel on the island of Capri with: A breathtaking view encompassing the whole of the Bay of Naples and the Amalfi Coast Six utterly unique imperial suites A restaurant serving zero miles cuisine made with ingredients grown in the kitchen garden that you can visit every day A double level infinity pool facing the sea An outdoor wellness area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Caesar Augustus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caesar Augustus
Caesar Augustus Anacapri
Caesar Augustus Hotel Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing