We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View, Great Rooms & Baths, Offensive Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great View, Great Rooms & Baths, Offensive Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2005

One of the best views anywhere into the bay of naples and capri. You feel like you're on a plane. Great airy rooms and big baths with whirlpools. But the service....We were left waiting for over an hour for a table at the half-empty restaurant. The waiter first shows 20 mins after we are sitted to announce to us that the kitchen just closed! Then the WORST, MOST UNPROFESSIONAL AND ROODEST "maitre" IN THE WORLD right out insults me in front of my girlfriend for calling him by saying:"excuse me my friend". His exact reply: "I am NOT your friend. I am just a professional who is forced to work for you!" They made us feel as we were a nuisance and merely ANNOYING them with our desire to eat. I have never been treated worst in my life. Furious i chose not to respond, rather to complain to the mngmt. Instead of repremanding him, they tried to explain what a really sweet guy he otherwise is and suggested i just fill out a complaint form! The food was mediocre. The breakfast was never right. This hotel with a little brush-up and comletely different mgmt & staff could be great. The "maitre" needs to be seriously beaten up.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    100
    56
    32
    27
See reviews for
92
570
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2005

We have been to the wonderful island of Capri many times but we had never stayed in this jewel of a Hotel. Not only are the rooms exquisite but the views are unparaleled.
I had read a couple of negative comments on Trip Advisor regarding the level of service but this must have changed as the service during our stay (5 days) was of the highest quality.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2005

The rooms and view overlooking the sea and the city is beautiful. Didn't have our view that we had reserved but compensated us. Worth it if you can afford it.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lankz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2005

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on our honeymoon and were very disappointed.

Yes the views are without doubt to die for however the poor service and lack of atmosphere at this hotel left a sour taste in our mouths. The staff are unaccomodating and to put it frankly lazy, incompetent and rude. We organised a transfer to the Capri one morning with reception and when we got to reception we were told that we would have to make our own way there as the shuttle bus was full! Another night we asked if there was an iron we could use only to be told that there was no iron whatsoever at the hotel. We also found the hotel to be quite "cheesy", right down to the sailor like outfits that the pool and restaurant staff wear. The rooms are also a bit shabby, nowhere near the standard that they should be for the price.

As for Franco we found him to be quite arrogant and condescending when we asked for assistance. He seemed to only want to talk to american tourists and didn't seem to have time for anyone else. We asked him to recommend a romantic restaurant to us one night (we had already eaten at the hotel restaurant and wanted to try somewhere different) however he wouldn't recommend anywhere else and suggested we dine at the hotel restaurant again!!

In a nutshell we wouldn't recommend that anyone stay at this hotel unless they don't mind extremely poor service, which is very disappointing as we both really felt that this hotel has so much potential. Unfortunately the amazing views don't compensate for all of the negative things about this hotel.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank sdpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2005

This hotel has a 'Fawlty Towers' service. It was a disgrace and unfortunately, unlike the TV series, the joke is on you because you are the one paying 5 star rates for rude indifference. Read the March 30th review. That pretty much sums it up.
I wish we had read it before staying at this hotel with great views but such dreadful service. I just can't imagine how you could say anything good about this hotel with such awful service infecting your stay.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank maddysurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2005

What a fine place to stay on Capri. The best view imaginable, great staff, comfortable rooms and a very good restaurant. You even can dine outside and enjoy the view from the terrace.

The pool was great with those super views from all locations around it. The hotel had a great variety of places to sit and talk or read a book. You could enjoy the double loungers in the shade or in the sun.

We wished we had planned our stay longer here. We will not make that mistake again when we visit Capri.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank cdennison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2005

We stayed at the Cesar Augustus for 1 night in June 2005. The hotel has a priviledged location in Anacapri with impressive views and a wonderful, knowledgable staff.

Like in most hotels in the Amalfi coast, it pays to get a sea-side room even if you have to shorten your vacation a day or two for budgetary reasons.

The two-level pool is great and the food was nice. We stayed in the pool for a full-day. The water was cold however.

We got from the Concierge a great restaurant recommendation (on the expensive side) call Il Cuciolo. They pick you up at the Hotel and it has one of the most spectacular views of the Naples Coast.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
1.4 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
#3 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caesar Augustus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caesar Augustus Hotel

Property: Caesar Augustus Hotel
Address: Via Giuseppe Orlandi 4 | Baia de Napoli, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anacapri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
#3 Family Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Caesar Augustus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beauty of a villa suspended between the sea and sky surrounding Capri. The luxury of a 5 star hotel designed to look and feel just like your own beautiful island home. The privacy guaranteed by the secluded location, on the cliff edge, 300 meters above the sea. The only 5 star hotel on the island of Capri with: A breathtaking view encompassing the whole of the Bay of Naples and the Amalfi Coast Six utterly unique imperial suites A restaurant serving zero miles cuisine made with ingredients grown in the kitchen garden that you can visit every day A double level infinity pool facing the sea An outdoor wellness area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caesar Augustus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caesar Augustus
Caesar Augustus Anacapri
Caesar Augustus Hotel Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing