We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2005

We have just returned from a too short, 2 night break at this fantastic hotel. We arrived with some trepidation, having read some awful reviews re: the service. Thankfully our worries were totally unfounded, the staff could not have been more friendly, attentive or helpful. Franco was positively charming, just ask him about his grandchildren, praise his beautiful hotel - not difficult - and be amazed at how long he has worked there, he's a pussycat!

Words don't really do justice to this hotel, it really has to be seen to be believed. Our room, a junior suite, was truly gorgeous, cool and classically decorated, the bed was divine and we had our own little private terrace and garden overhanging the clifftop, totally breathtaking. The infinity pool is a feat of engineering, perched on the edge of the world! It could, however, do with a good heater, be warned. The terrace restaurant too, clings like limpet to the edge of the cliff, and there can be few better places to eat whilst drinking in that view.

The staff helped us to choose wonderful restaurants, made helpful suggestions regarding places of interest and arranged an amazing private boat trip around the island, a real once in a lifetime experience!

A jewel of a hotel on a jewel of an island. We will defintely return to this little slice of heaven on earth, when we've saved enough money, of course!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank debsevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

691 - 697 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2005

My husband and I recently spent a wonderful four days and three nights at the Caesar Augustus for our honeymoon. Happily we discovered the negative reviews to be unfounded. The service was personal, attentive, and always friendly. Our junior suite was spacious with two, floor to ceiling windows that open up to a beautiful balcony that runs the length of the room. The hotel grounds have amazing views from virtually anywhere and charming places to sit or eat away from other guests.

I am not sure why other reviews note the service as unfriendly. We found the service at the Caesar Augustus to be an extremly pleasant experience. Our reception at the port by Franco or maybe his identical twin (yes there are two of them)was extremely friendly. Claudio was always available for suggestions on itineraries, restaurants, and shuttle times.

The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect. About a five minute walk to the charming shops in Anacapri where you can get anything from beautiful Italian shoes to hand painted crafts to a delicious inexpensive bite to eat. For 1.30 euro you can take a six minute bus ride down to Capri (the bus stop is across the street and comes practically every five minutes.) Don't bother renting a car the roads are treacherous for eveyone except the busdrivers and scooters. Everyone takes the bus in capri...we never even opted for the hotel shuttle.

We would definitely stay at the Caesar Augustus again and again. Take the negative reviews with a grain of salt and see for yourself. If you are looking for a romantic, elegant hotel in Capri the CA is definitely the only hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank NYCluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2005

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at the Caesar Agustus and were VERY disappointed. Before I give you a laundry list of reasons NOT to stay here, I will say the view is incredible and from our balcony, it was stunning. Also the breakfast was nice in the morning.

That beauty was ruined by terribly rude service (we are American but I seak fluent Italiam): I overheard them many times discussing other guests who had just made inquiries at the front desk. Franco, Amalfi's equivalent to "Tattoo" from Fantasy Island shuffles by you without acknowledging and is a rude little man who shouldn't ever come into contact with people.

We were not allowed to order anything by the pool except and open faced "croque monsieur" sandwich...if you want to eat, you must visit the restaurant. They do not recommend other places to eat simply saying, "You should eat at our restaurant!". Our laundry cost $78Euro (for 8 pieces...not even dry-cleaned!)

In conclusion, spend your money elsewhere...stop in for a drink and the view but don't be fooled by their website or positive reviews, if you like any service at all, stay somewhere else!

SEE my review of Hotel Cimbrone in Ravello for a REAL place to visit!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Athens, Greece
116
Reviewed 4 September 2005

One of the best views anywhere into the bay of naples and capri. You feel like you're on a plane. Great airy rooms and big baths with whirlpools. But the service....We were left waiting for over an hour for a table at the half-empty restaurant. The waiter first shows 20 mins after we are sitted to announce to us that the kitchen just closed! Then the WORST, MOST UNPROFESSIONAL AND ROODEST "maitre" IN THE WORLD right out insults me in front of my girlfriend for calling him by saying:"excuse me my friend". His exact reply: "I am NOT your friend. I am just a professional who is forced to work for you!" They made us feel as we were a nuisance and merely ANNOYING them with our desire to eat. I have never been treated worst in my life. Furious i chose not to respond, rather to complain to the mngmt. Instead of repremanding him, they tried to explain what a really sweet guy he otherwise is and suggested i just fill out a complaint form! The food was mediocre. The breakfast was never right. This hotel with a little brush-up and comletely different mgmt & staff could be great. The "maitre" needs to be seriously beaten up.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
london
17
Reviewed 31 August 2005

We have been to the wonderful island of Capri many times but we had never stayed in this jewel of a Hotel. Not only are the rooms exquisite but the views are unparaleled.
I had read a couple of negative comments on Trip Advisor regarding the level of service but this must have changed as the service during our stay (5 days) was of the highest quality.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2005

The rooms and view overlooking the sea and the city is beautiful. Didn't have our view that we had reserved but compensated us. Worth it if you can afford it.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lankz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2005

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on our honeymoon and were very disappointed.

Yes the views are without doubt to die for however the poor service and lack of atmosphere at this hotel left a sour taste in our mouths. The staff are unaccomodating and to put it frankly lazy, incompetent and rude. We organised a transfer to the Capri one morning with reception and when we got to reception we were told that we would have to make our own way there as the shuttle bus was full! Another night we asked if there was an iron we could use only to be told that there was no iron whatsoever at the hotel. We also found the hotel to be quite "cheesy", right down to the sailor like outfits that the pool and restaurant staff wear. The rooms are also a bit shabby, nowhere near the standard that they should be for the price.

As for Franco we found him to be quite arrogant and condescending when we asked for assistance. He seemed to only want to talk to american tourists and didn't seem to have time for anyone else. We asked him to recommend a romantic restaurant to us one night (we had already eaten at the hotel restaurant and wanted to try somewhere different) however he wouldn't recommend anywhere else and suggested we dine at the hotel restaurant again!!

In a nutshell we wouldn't recommend that anyone stay at this hotel unless they don't mind extremely poor service, which is very disappointing as we both really felt that this hotel has so much potential. Unfortunately the amazing views don't compensate for all of the negative things about this hotel.

Stayed: July 2005
11  Thank sdpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.7 mi away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
0.2 mi away
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
#3 of 18 in Anacapri
555 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 40 in Capri
461 reviews
1.4 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 40 in Capri
701 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#9 of 40 in Capri
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caesar Augustus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caesar Augustus Hotel

Address: Via Giuseppe Orlandi 4 | Baia de Napoli, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anacapri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range: £323 - £929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caesar Augustus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beauty of a villa suspended between the sea and sky surrounding Capri. The luxury of a 5 star hotel designed to look and feel just like your own beautiful island home. The privacy guaranteed by the secluded location, on the cliff edge, 300 meters above the sea. The only 5 star hotel on the island of Capri with: A breathtaking view encompassing the whole of the Bay of Naples and the Amalfi Coast Six utterly unique imperial suites A restaurant serving zero miles cuisine made with ingredients grown in the kitchen garden that you can visit every day A double level infinity pool facing the sea An outdoor wellness area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Caesar Augustus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caesar Augustus
Caesar Augustus Anacapri
Caesar Augustus Hotel Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing