We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting , informative, beautiful architecture, & lovely gardens.”
Review of Villa San Michele

Villa San Michele
Book In Advance
More Info
US$171.28*
and up
Capri and Blue Grotto Private Tour from Naples or Sorrento
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Woodland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very interesting , informative, beautiful architecture, & lovely gardens.”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Worth the 7 euros a lot of history there in how the Islands of Capri became a tourist attraction. Beautiful view if Capri below & a nice shop at the end if the tour with Alex Munth's book Villa San Michele in all languages . The book that made Anacapri & Capri famous.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pacmrc1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,049
    318
    58
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Same place as the Casa Axel Munthe”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Anacapri, Italy, does not have that many tourist attractions and this one rates second (for me) after the chairlift up the mountain. Wonderful panoramic views of the ocean. Beautiful garden. Unique collections in his home. Nice old-fashioned stove and oven setup. I had never heard of him before, but plan on ordering his bestseller, "The Story of San Michele" (published in 1929). I thought the price of 7 euros for admission was a bit steep for what the site offered. However, why not go? How often will you get to Anacapri, Italy? The cost of admission includes both the Villa San Michele and the Casa Axel Munthe. Can't say as I know how they differ . . . .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank fussgussysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A step back in history with an amazing view!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I walked in thinking I would be submersed into ancient Romans history but it wasn't that much of it. The gardens of the villa are absolutely superb and the coffee shop is very welcome. The view over Vesuvius and Naples/Pompeii is absolutely beautiful!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NataliaCostin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

two hours of absolute wonder, the view from here is great, a lovely place with a colonnade of beautiful tiles, impossible to miss!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My daughter and I loved walking through. Great photo ops. Wonderful views. At the top of the garden is a lovely overpriced cafe but have a drink or ice cream and relax.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ML0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa San Michele also viewed

Anacapri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing