We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Albergo Loreley

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Loreley
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Reviewed 24 November 2006

We stayed in this hotel on July 2006. The location of the hotel is great - we didn't like the city of Capri and the port area - they were both full of jetset people, awfully lots of crowd and over-priced shops and restaurants. Anacapri is a lovely, quite place from where you can easily go hiking for example. The restaurants are cheaper and there are far less people than in other parts of the island. Buses run often - it takes about 20 minutes to reach the port.

Loreley is a good budget hotel. If you are looking for something fancy you shouldn't stay here but if you are looking for reasonably priced accomodation and great location then this is your place. There was no air condition but it didn't bother us as the island of Capri is not that hot during the summertime as the continental Italy. Even though it might be hot during the daytime you might need a long-sleeved shirt in the evening - so the room wasn't too hot in the night and we were able to sleep well.

The rooms and the hotel are a bit worn and the toilet and the shower weren't great (it takes about 15 minutes before you can use the toilet again because the cistern is filling up so slowly and the shower didn't have much pressure and the water spreaded all over the bathroom after shower). Breakfast consisted of croissant, bread roll, juice and coffee/tea which was ok. The staff was friendly and will gladly help you if you have any questions.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mymmeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights and when I think about it now I'm so mad we didn't move. Our room was on the ground floor with our "terrace" overlooking an alley way. It was loud at night with people, cats and dogs, and to be honest I never felt that safe (there was an open gate from the alley onto our terrace). With no AC and no fan we didn't sleep at all.

The bathroom was awful. It was very old (and not in a quant way). Grubby shower, useless shower head, open toilet cistern etc. Our room was tidied but the towels were never changed.

No one asked us if everything was ok during our stay and we found the staff to be indifferent.

Capri is such a lovely place, but really we were very relieved to be leaving it in the end. We travelled around the Amalfi coast on a budget for two weeks and had no experiences like this anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sozzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2005

We stayed at Hotel Loreley in late September, 2005 and were happy with our stay, the staff were all very friendly and helpfull and all spoke english. Breakfast was great, as far as European hotel breakfasts go. Our room was very basic but had a nice view of the Ocean and was clean. The shower was miniscule and the water pressure almost non-existent! But...if all you need is a basic, clean room I would highly reccomend the Loreley...We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2005

We stayed at Loreley for a week in the off-season of early October 2005. We selected the place from a numbers of offers on the local tourist website, without much supporting information as to its quality. But already the first impression was very positive. The owner, Mr.Michele Capotenuto and his family run the hotel in a very efficient way and keep it attractively appointed inside and out. We had very good and quite substantial breakfasts: plenty of espresso coffee, fresh cornettoes, bread, butter and jam. Mr. Capotenuto has been most helpful in solving the problem of recovering our baggage that Air France lost between Montreal in Canada and Napoli in Italy. It was an advantage that we could communicate in English (or in French with his sister) without any difficulties and use his computer or telephone while tracing our belongings.

Hotel Loreley is conveniently situated in the middle of Anacapri, just off the central Piazza, a few steps to shops, cafés, restaurants, places worth visiting (Axel Munthe’s Villa San Michele), and the funiculare going up to the top of Monte Solaro. But at the same time it is screened from the busy Via Orlandi, so that no noise disturbs the peace within. We had a room with a terrace and ‘a view’ (camera panoramica) on the distant island of Ischia. From the Piazza, the frequently circulating local small orange bus would take us in the matter of minutes to the village of Capri, lower down, for more shopping and further walks, or to the little port of Marina Grande for trips to Naples, Sorrento or other destinations

The hotel is well positioned for hiking. Especially to be recommended is the ‘Sentiero dei Fortini’, a hiking trail running along the high cliffs of the western shore, following the line of coastal forts, dating from the Napoleonic wars. Another route takes you to walk down to the Blue Grotto (‘Grotta Azzurra’) avoiding a longer boat trip from the Marina Grande.

Being back home and thinking about our holidays, we cannot think of a better place to spend holidays on an island of Capri then a small, charming hotel of Loreley with his friendly owner, Mr. Capotenuto, his gentle Father and the francophone Sister.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hulot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
17
Reviewed 8 January 2005

I stayed at Hotel Loreley in September 2004 for 3 days after a wedding in Capri. We had no view. Fine. We had no shower. That's a problem. the door on our shower were broken We had no a/c, fine, but a fan that was at 30 years old and made the most noise when you turned it on that we had to turnoff it because there was no way you could sleep for wail .When we live it came time to pay, the manager dint gave us any chance about getting a discount.
He also didn't have a credit card machine, and we should pay cash.
Newer again, I wouldn't go there again if I was paid!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2004

The rooms were on the plain side but for the price on Capri we thought it was fine. A nice breakfast with cereal as well as croissants. The location was right in Anacapri so it was very easy to stroll the town and get to restaurants easily at night.

4  Thank Beth_Joe_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maramaldo_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anacapri hotels
0.3 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carmencita
Hotel Carmencita
#12 of 18 in Anacapri
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
#3 of 18 in Anacapri
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo Senaria
Albergo Senaria
#10 of 18 in Anacapri
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
474 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Il Girasole
Hotel Il Girasole
#9 of 18 in Anacapri
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Loreley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Loreley

Address: Via Giuseppe Orlandi 16, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Price Range: £49 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Loreley 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo Loreley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loreley Hotel Anacapri
Albergo Loreley Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing