We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic BnB, fantastic hosts, fantastic island”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anacapri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Cala del Rio Isola di Capri
Ranked #13 of 43 Anacapri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a week at the end of July. It was our first time in Italy and capri but we were made to feel totally at home and were given fantastic information about the entire island. With the info and tips given to us by Carla at the Cala del rio we filled our entire week with the islands adventures and stunning sites to see. We were so impressed by the island, Carla and her family. They gave us lifts to local transport spots which made the island accessible and we used local transport which is great. Weather, location and BnB where all perfect, we couldn't have dreamt of anything better. Carla and her beautiful family topped it of for us. Defiantly recommend to all. We will be back. Thank you Carla

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire_robinson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

An absolutely fantastic B&B located on the Anacapri side of Capri.

Our room was nicely decorated and a good size. The bathroom was modern and large. We had a private terrace overlooking the pool.

Carla and her family could not have done more to make our stay more enjoyable. She was a fantastic hostess -- shuttling us to the nearest bus stop, providing big and delicious daily breakfasts, as well as daily room cleaning.

The location of the B&B is simply stunning, you have an absolutely unspoiled view of the coast with amazing sunsets. It is about a 12 minute walk from the local bus stop, it is very peaceful and beautiful. Carla has loads of tips for new visitors to the island (restaurants, sights, reliable taxi drivers etc.) and really does go out of her way to make your visit as stress free and enjoyable as possible.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone looking to visit Capri. It's a beautiful island and this is a beautiful B&B. I don't know why anyone would stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpobrien2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We’ve been traveling to Italy for more than 30 years, staying in lots of wonderful places, including four and five star hotels. They all fall short of Cala Del Rio. The family who runs Cala Del Rio are more like friends than staff. Before going there we were a little uncomfortable about the transportation issue; having to ask the owners to transport you back and forth several times a day sounded a bit unpleasant. However, their whole establishment is based upon this, since they are in a secluded place, so you feel no discomfort in asking them for transportation, as they seem genuinely happy to do so. Also, you get the added perk of having a native to yourself, and one who is only too happy to share knowledge of sights, restaurants, things to do and see. The seclusion is one of the beauties of the place, you get an absolutely gorgeous view of the sea (and Ischia on a clear day) from your veranda, while being few minutes from Anacapri center.

The property is exceptionally well kept, and has no need for maintenance or repair anywhere that we could see. We said to Carla on the second day of our stay that it’s evident they had had a very talented architect, since everything about the property is so extremely well planned and beautifully designed. The house, the garden, the pool. «No, my father-in-law did that» she answered. It turns out the father-in-law and owner Giuseppe, who drives you when Carla doesn’t, and who is a most sympathetic man (as is the whole family), designed not only the garden (he is a gardener by trade) but also the house and pool area. Most impressive!

We stayed only three nights, but should have stayed longer. Capri is such a wonderful and unique place, and Cala Del Rio will make your stay there even more wonderful. Had they served lunch and dinner too I doubt we would have left at all…

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aekhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in June at Cala Del Rio for our honeymoon. We couldn't have picked a more wonderful place - Carla and her family were thoughtful and generous hosts from the moment we arrived to when we left early on Sunday morning. The room was bright, well equipped and serviced everyday. Breakfasts were extensive and delicious (the fresh eggs were fab!) and the pool and surrounding gardens were idyllic. We were lucky enough to have a lot of the week to ourselves and it felt like such a personal and romantic venue. Carla has that wonderful manner of being there just at the right time but never being intrusive in any way. Her hospitality really added to our experience - keen to share her local knowledge and drive us up into the town of Anacapri every morning and evening. We would certainly recommend taking up the offer of a lift as the walk to the town is quite short but very steep! There is a nice walk down through the side streets and past the allotments to get back the B&B which avoids the main road and is great for spotting lizards and enjoying the view that opens up across the sea to Ischia.

The cost of the B&B is brilliant, given that the island is so pricey. The accommodation, views, facilities and wonderful hospitality were fantastic value.

We were definitely glad we chose this side of the island - quieter, more natural and with stunning sunsets. It seemed a bit sunnier too! (It sometimes seemed like the highest point at Monte Solaro was creating clouds that blew over the other side of the island...). Capri town and the attractions to the east are all really easy to get to on the local buses, but there are plenty of walks and sights on the west and Anacapri has some great restaurants.

Our honeymoon was unforgettable. We hope to come back to Cala Del Rio for an anniversary trip some time. We will definitely stay here again and can't recommend the place enough. Thank you so much to Carla and her family x

Stayed: June 2013
Thank HMH_and_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We had a wonderful holiday at Cala del Rio. It was an absolutely beautiful and peaceful location with wonderful views across the sea from our bedroom balcony. The room was very comfortable, clean and modern. The bathroom was exceptional, even had a window in the shower so you had a lovely view when you were showering. My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary and it was the perfect romantic place for a couple. The gardens are beautiful. Breakfast was excellent and Carla and her family were lovely hosts who made us very welcome. Carla provided us with a shuttle service to and from the local bus stops and Anacapri. Can't praise them enough for such a lovely holiday. We visited other parts of the Bay of Naples but next time we will be heading straight to the ferry port and on to Capri because only regret is that we didn't stay longer. Such a wonderful place, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The B & B Cala del Rio has a wonderful view over the untouched western Capri landscape and sea. The house and the rooms are modern, comfortable and nicely decorated. The garden is unique, very lovely and perfect styled with a lot of tropical plants. The overall standard is very high. Carla and her family are the best hosts that you can imagine. We had a very good stay in the B & B. The breakfast was also perfect with a lot of choices like home baked cakes. We felt like at home. We will recommend the Cala del Rio B & B to everyone, who prefers a quiet place and high service and quality, lovely details in a room and a warm personal contact to the hosts. Thanks again to Carla and her family for the very good hospitality and also for the shuttle service. We hope that we can come back!

Enikoe & Christian, Wiesbaden, Germany

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank encsike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Amazing location and great value for money. The family and owners were very warm and friendly hosts, Carla and Mum in law went out of her way to help. It's a nice 15 minute walk into anacapri town centre, but there is a shuttle service available - at all times

The location is ideal for exploring the amazing (ana)Capri forts, which is a great way of seeing the island on foot. You can walk either to farro lighthouse or grotto azzura, both walks are spectacular. Ask Carla where to start

Richard & Christina

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank RichD01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anacapri hotels
0.5 mi away
Alle Ginestre Capri Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Bettola del Re
Bettola del Re
#5 of 43 in Anacapri
75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Carmencita
Hotel Carmencita
#12 of 18 in Anacapri
352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
474 reviews
1 mi away
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
#3 of 18 in Anacapri
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Cala del Rio Isola di Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Cala del Rio Isola di Capri

Address: Via Cannula 24, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Anacapri
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
B&B Cala Del Rio Isola Di Capri Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing