We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay in Capri”
Review of Hotel Il Girasole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Il Girasole
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay in Capri”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I loved my stay at this hotel in Capri. It had an amazing courtyard with a breathtaking sea view and the hotel decor was very classic Italian. The hotel staff were wonderful, giving us restaurant recommendations and things to do and see in Capri. The room was large, with two bathrooms and it was very clean. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, with various hot and cold dishes to satisfy all. The cherry on top was the hotel offering to deliver our heavy luggage to the port at the end of the day so we didn't have to carry our luggage around after we checked out. Our luggage was delivered on time by a very friendly staff. We were so happy with our experience that I will definitely come back to this hotel if I return to Capri.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tingtzhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    121
    50
    13
    20
See reviews for
58
176
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Colinas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This hotel is just perfect. The best way to get here is to take bus at Marina to Anacapri and ride it to deposito (end of line) there will be a paved walk go right and you will see the hotel shortly . The rooms were clean . Breakfast was awesome. The hotel will pick you up and take you to Marina if you request. Angela the manager made sure we were happy with our room and had answers for every question we had regarding activities and bus connections. Convenience, Service, Location make this an awesome place. Also you are located just minutes from Villa San Michele and the Mount Solaro Lift.

Room Tip: rooms on west side have great view of bay of naples
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campina, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Hi ! I'm Adriana from Romania. We have spent a wonderfull week in Girasole Hotel. We were impressed by the hospitality of the owners, the fantastic panorama from the garden and the great breakfast every morning. We wish to come back here, it was the perfect hollyday for us !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This hotel is an absolute gem on a beautiful island! If you want a relaxing atmosphere and stunning views at a great price, then this place is definitely where you should stay while in Anacapri.

There was a lovely pool on the sundeck, and the guestrooms were clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The staff were all very friendly and always more than happy to help with any queries we had.

If I ever have the opportunity to come back to Capri , I would definitely stay at Hotel Il Girasole again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagarozzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed in Girasole on a recent trip to Capri. This hotel is in Anacapri which is a small town higher up in the Island. Way cheaper than staying in Capri.

We called the Hotel after boarding our Ferry from Sorrento. The driver met us at the Ferry Terminal. As he drove us to the Hotel, he pointed out all the tourist spots, bus routes, stops etc. Very very helpful and friendly. The front desk staff was also very helpful.

The room was small but functional. It had a queen bed.. The views from our room was amazing.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the center of town (Anacapri). There are frequent buses that take you all over the island from there.

In all I would highly recommend this hotel to Budget travelers.

Room Tip: The Wifi connection gets weaker as you go away from the Front Desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Beautiful! Homely but professional. This hotel gets 10 out of 10 and we will definitely return. Simply nice people to be around with B&B prices even backpackers can afford.
We've been travelling around the world and stayed in some fabulous hotels but this truly beats them all for 'returnability'.
Il Girasole's concept is simple but totally provides everything you need in order to enjoy and savour Capri. The sunsets from the terrace are to die for, night after night, and most rooms overlook the bay with Islands in the distance. The owners focus upon creating a relaxed atmosphere and giving you the kind of experience of Capri you want and they are friendly but discreet and generous with their breakfasts and facilities. Angela and Francesco's warm and welcoming personalities shine through their staff, particularly Domenico (lovely, warm, unassuming man). The pool was clean and a real luxury given the low prices of the hotel.
Capri itself is a must see of course but Ana Capri is the hidden Gem. (we almost didn't want to share our secret). Walk through the village and notice that the locals smile at you (at first we kept looking behind us not thinking the smile was sent our way but yes it was !!!.) They're even pleased to help you find your way around. The men ALWAYS stand up for the women on the buses and it's like being transported to a pre-war era of genteelness which just makes you want to smile. Everyone chats to the bus drivers and they all seem on first name terms on the Island... but you don't feel excluded from the 'club' you feel welcomed into it. You begin to realise these are people who know they are lucky and love their island life. All this and the sunshine adds up to a win win. (we went in October and it was fabulous and I've been in May when it's beautifully warm too). If you go, hire a speedboat for the day (easy if you can drive a car, honest), the guys will teach you then set off...go around the Island, skinny dip in the green grotto, take a picnic and beer and realise why you are here. Life is for living and Il Girasole gets it.
You must get the bus from Ana Capri to Capri town. It is fabulously scary (my partner couldn't look down) but notice how the little old ladies take it in their stride whilst you're quivering. Don't miss the ski ride up to Mount Solerno, the winding streets of Capri town, Marina Piccola.... I could go on but I might be delaying you from snatching the last available room.
By the way we just read the review entitled "Avoid Room 14......" and we think this is a strange posting because we also ALWAYS check beds and did so and found nothing but cleanliness.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pete b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

As we checked in we got to room 14, and as we made habit of doing, we stripped the sheets and began our examination for bed bugs. Sure enough without looking for more than 20 seconds there one was simply under the final sheet on the mattress. We quickly grabbed our bags having experienced this serious issue previously and headed back to the front desk. They were very helpful, yet, quick to move us to another room as if they were already aware. The overlook from the hotel was very beautiful and the second room was clean. We did have a good night sleep and enjoyed the overlook with some pizza from Aumm Aumm and a fine bottle of vino rosso.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
1.1 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#6 of 18 in Anacapri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carmencita
Hotel Carmencita
#13 of 18 in Anacapri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Senaria
Albergo Senaria
#8 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#15 of 18 in Anacapri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Girasole

Property: Hotel Il Girasole
Address: Via Rio Linciano 47, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Girasole 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap, charming and on Capri: your dream hotel just came true! The relaxing atmosphere of a small hotel Il Girasole is a 23 room, 3 star hotel on the island of Capri, Italy run by the youngest generation of the Capri born-and-bred Orlando family. Within steps of the center of Anacapri Hotel Il Girasole is located in the quietest part of Capri, amidst the island's vineyards and olive trees. The historic center of Anacapri lies within easy strolling distance of the hotel. There's a bus stop from where to catch buses to downtown Capri and Marina Grande, just 300m away. Facing the sea and with a panoramic pool The sea can be seen from every corner of the hotel: from the terraces outside the bedrooms, from the breakfast room, and from the panoramic swimming pool. Every evening, as you relax in one of our outdoor seating areas, you'll be treated to the spectacle of the sun setting over the sea. ...all this, at an unbelievably low price! If you're thinking... "A hotel with pool and sea view on the island of Capri, I can't imagine how much that's going to cost..." take a look at our price list and special offers. We're certain you won't find better value for money anywhere else on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Il Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Girasole Hotel
Il Girasole Anacapri
Hotel Il Girasole Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing