We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Overdue but Never Forgotten (Anacapri)”
Review of Hotel Il Girasole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Il Girasole
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This is a quiet and out of the way spot but just a few minutes walk to the town center. Capri can be busy so this is the perfect retreat, very beautiful and the views, oh spectacular and breathtaking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LTrombetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week and would certainly return to this hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Lovely view from the terrace. Not far from center, yet away from the tourist masses - yay! Don't expect to do a lot of swimming in the pool, but it's great for a dip.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I'd definitely stay at Il Girasole again. We fell in love with the island of Capri and we are considering going back next year, I will look to book in this place. It was just a few minutes distance by foot from Anacapri's historic center, and even closer to the bus station where you take the buses to go to Capri or the Marina Grande. Prices are very traveler friendly, the staff is super nice and helpful, and although the rooms are not like staying the Standard in NYC or the W in Miami or San Diego, they are enough, especially when it comes to price, bed is comfortable, they even have an extra pillow and blanket in the closet and the free breakfast is Ok, they could use some more fruits and vegetables, but anyway is free and the place isn't Fat Camp, if you want a nutritious breakfast then go to that famous Fat Camp in Arizona, or come here and bring lots of fruits and vegetables from the market, they are so kind that I wouldn't doubt the would cut it for you.
They are so service oriented that in our last day we decided to go and rent a boat for a couple of hours with these two other friends that we met at the hotel (now we are super close and all) in this place at the Marina Grande called Boat Banana (I will review it later, but Very Good) and then after arriving from the boat they took our stuff, that we packed up before checking out if course, and brought them to the Marina Grande so we could just take the ferry and leave for the Amalfi coast (stunning, will review that as well), saving us time and money, and you know how important Time and Money are in this world nowadays; so, great touch and didn't hesitated one second when we called and ask if that was possible.
Also the views from the hotel are to-die-for!! Big time. If you stay in one of the remodeled rooms you will enjoy even more... Oh! And it has a great pool as well.
So, consider staying there, the little walk from Anacapri it's good to put the amazing food you can have for dinner at Materita (read my review on that place, so good), it's definitely a win win.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Alvin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Pros: The staff was very friendly and picked us up and dropped us off from/to Marina Grande. The pool and lounge deck area has wifi and the views are beautiful. It's nice to relax here after a day of trekking or exploring

Cons: The "double" bed is really just two twin beds tied together and it's VERY uncomfortable. I'm only 5'10 and my feet dangled off of the bed. The sheets and towels are very worn and hard. The shower is tiny, even for European/Italian standards. The tv in the room is about 12 inches and does not work. The wifi does not go all the way to the room, so you must go to the lobby or pool area to access it. Sometimes the staff didn't give us proper directions and times - for example, we thought a walk to the Faro would be nice one morning and the woman at the front desk said it would only be about 20 min. It's not 20 min, it's a bit more than an hour - but this could be a cultural thing as we found many places/directions in Italy were a 5-10 min walk (when in reality it was more like 30 min-hour).
If you want to cancel your reservation, you must do so one week before your arrival, which seems to me to be a lot.
The breakfast wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay because Capri is such a beautiful island, but we wouldn't stay at the Il Girasole again nor would we really recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Errol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We (two adults one teenager) stayed for two nights at the Girasole in June 2014. I am pleased to confirm the positive reviews on the basis of which I myself chose this hotel. We had no negative experience whatsoever.
I would like to point out especially the help by Domenico Lenardo who went out of his way to help us with all needs.
To the owners: you are doing a great job, please maintain this high standard!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikhailAlexandrovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views, fantastic location, quiet and peaceful, set up in the hills of Anacapri. Although we only stayed on the island for two nights it was such a great place to be located. The addition of a pool made coming back to the hotel a welcome relief from the heat of the day, especially after visiting the Grotto Azzure and swimming in the cooler waters of the nearby rocky beach. Snacks and drinks available by the pool also made for a comfortable stay, but please sort out the beds!! Two single metal framed items held together by tape!! Not exactly 3 stars!! Still the views from the terrace more than made up for the shortcomings of the furniture variety. Would I stay here again? Yes on the island of Capri, hotel Il Girasole maybe....

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BasiaJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A quiet hotel, with modest rooms, beautiful view from the terraces, easy walking to town and bus and trails. Small room and not luxurious but comfortable. When you arrive in Capri, call the hotel and they will come down to the port to pick you up. Then on the drive up, the hotel employee pointed out helpful information about the town of Anacapri and the bus stops and how the bus works. It is lovely to stay in Anacapri because you can walk along lovely paths to beautiful spots on the inland or go up the mountain. It is easy to take the bus down to Capri for the sights there. Staff was very helpful and made phone calls for us when we had a problem with our hotel reservation in Sorrento. Breakfast again is modest but fine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ceselle
Hotel Villa Ceselle
#8 of 18 in Anacapri
160 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#15 of 18 in Anacapri
458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Senaria
Albergo Senaria
#11 of 18 in Anacapri
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bougainville
Bougainville
#10 of 18 in Anacapri
125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Girasole

Address: Via Rio Linciano 47, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Price Range: £80 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Girasole 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap, charming and on Capri: your dream hotel just came true! The relaxing atmosphere of a small hotel Il Girasole is a 23 room, 3 star hotel on the island of Capri, Italy run by the youngest generation of the Capri born-and-bred Orlando family. Within steps of the center of Anacapri Hotel Il Girasole is located in the quietest part of Capri, amidst the island's vineyards and olive trees. The historic center of Anacapri lies within easy strolling distance of the hotel. There's a bus stop from where to catch buses to downtown Capri and Marina Grande, just 300m away. Facing the sea and with a panoramic pool The sea can be seen from every corner of the hotel: from the terraces outside the bedrooms, from the breakfast room, and from the panoramic swimming pool. Every evening, as you relax in one of our outdoor seating areas, you'll be treated to the spectacle of the sun setting over the sea. ...all this, at an unbelievably low price! If you're thinking... "A hotel with pool and sea view on the island of Capri, I can't imagine how much that's going to cost..." take a look at our price list and special offers. We're certain you won't find better value for money anywhere else on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Il Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Girasole Hotel
Il Girasole Anacapri
Hotel Il Girasole Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing