We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”
Review of Al Mulino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al Mulino
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Hotel Mulino is set in the beautiful hilltop town of Anacapri. The hotel is set in an area of beautiful residential homes and garden. The landscape at Hotel Mulino includes olive trees, lemon trees and many beautiful varieties of flowers. Antoniette isthe owner of this hotel in paradise. Antoinette was born and grew up in Anacapri so she can tell you everything. Antoniette is a very gentle and generous hostess. On the day that we arrived at Anacapri Antoniette was away celebrating the wedding of a close friend. Antoniette arranged for a driver to pick us up at the port to deliver us to the hotel. The next day Antoinette apologized over and over again for being away for the first day. Then she detailed all of the sights that we should be sure to visit on Day Number 2. The day was overcast. Antoinette actually called the Blue Grotto to assure that boats would be operating and to let us know the best time for our visit. At dinner time it was drizzling and Antoniette drove us to town and suggestted dinner restaurants. She even offered to pick us up after dinner to drive us back to the hotel. Breakfast at the hotel included many homemade delights. Choices included crepes,apple cake, chocolate cake, lemon cake, fruit and warm drinks. The rooms are decorated in beautiful blue tones. The tile is gorgeous. The furniture and art work are perfect. The bathroom was modern and beautiful. Simone, Antoiniette's daughter, has made the whole hotel a peaceful heaven. Outside each of the 7 rooms is a lovely private terrace. This is the perfect place for reading, thinking or sipping an afternoon or evening Limoncello. Before our trip Simone made several email contacts with me to be sure that our transportation connections and that the all of our visit would be perfect. The family at Al Mulino really knows how to provide top hospitality and personalized care. Thanks so much to Antoniette, Simone and to Maria from Betty and Steven Silkunas

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bett6827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    40
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
103
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I cannot fault this place from the moment we were picked up from the port and given a tour of the island to the being dropped off and given farewell hugs. We were made to feel at home. The hotel is set in a beuatfil garden and is short walk uphill to Anacapri centre. The hotel is small with 7 rooms and very quiet. All rooms have a lovely private terrace. We were given lots of local information including good restaurants to eat in. Such a lovely friendly place to stay, oh and delicious cake for breakfast too!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed at Al Mulino in early Sept and were even more impressed with the hospitality we received as compared to 3 years ago. Antoinetta met us at the Marina Grande with the hotel minivan and drove us up to the hotel. We were in Room 7 and were impressed with the clealiness and relative newness of the property. We found our stay as relaxing as before and enjoyed the solitude of the area where the hotel is located (outside Anacapri going toward the Grotta Azzura). There was a young man by the name of Aniello who brought us coffee each morning at breakfast. He also graciously drove us down to the Marina Grande our last day to catch the hydrofoil back to Naples. We felt as though we were staying with friends. Once you've stayed here is is hard to stay elsewhere when visiting Capri !!! Try it and see !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_CNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Mulino is a wonderful place to stay. We loved it. The property is beautiful, well maintained and the rooms are absolutely spotless. The outdoor eating area is whimsical and each room has a pretty patio. The rooms are perhaps on the simple side, but they are very cheery and very comfortable. Cleanliness is pretty much the most important thing for me when I'm staying in hotels and this might be the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in.

Mulino is also very quiet and very serene. It's the perfect place to relax, rest and enjoy the sound of wind going through the fig trees. While it's super quiet and peaceful, you are just a short walk (uphill) to magical Anacapri which I think has Capri beat in terms of charm. Ask the Mulino staff for tips on spots to eat and places to visit on the island. Mulino is actually very close to the Blue Grotto. You can easily walk to it downhill and then catch a quick bus back up to Mulino.

The breakfasts are delicious - especially the fresh-baked cakes! And you can enjoy breakfast in their pretty front patio area.

But aside from the cheery and clean rooms, pretty property, and good breakfasts, the best thing about Mulino is the staff. Antoinietta and her team go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable and convenient. We were picked up from the Port in Capri, dropped off for lunch, given a mini tour of the island, the list goes on. They are so nice and so helpful.

I would highly recommend Mulino. Stay here - you'll love it!!!

Aside from

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We spend 3 days in this lovely place, we had an anniversary.
Hotel is very modern and well equipped. some rooms have small terrace.
Very nice Lemon garden behind the building, there are 2 hammock. Hotel is very quiet and private. There is no swimming pool, but it does not needed. Price is very attractive comparing to other hotels in Capri!

It is just 15 minutes’ walk from Anacpri center by feet, so you have a chance to walk through Anacpri streets. We did it 3 times a day and were not tired. Some lazy people use a taxi, but it is really ridiculous to use car there, when you may go by feet of scooter.
Bus stop is very close, so you may go to Grote Azure or Faro (though Anacapri ).
It is family hotel, so we feel like we come to our old friends rather than hotel. Antoinetta knows Capri very well and may give valid recommendation where to go or book good restaurant for you.
We would like to thank Antonietta and her family for perfect time spend in Capri!
If you wish to be not one of the clients but special guest this is right place to go!

Room Tip: room 6 has terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilay1457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Our second visit to Capri we chose to stay at Il Mulino, a lovely peaceful spot in Anacapri. The family who run it are friendly and accomodating and treat you like family. The recommendations they make for restaurants are spot on. The rooms are very clean and comfortable , each comes with a large patio which overlooks the gardens which are very pretty and well kept. We previously stayed at the Caesar Augustus which does have fantastic views and history. However, the friendliness and attention to detail displayed by the family who run Il Mulino were far superior to that of the staff at Caesar Augustus.

The walk up to Anacapri takes about 20 minutes to the center of town. Anacapri is great - if you must head into Capri town be warned that the centre piazza is a zoo. Pass through as quick as you can and head up to Villa Jovis or Mount Salerno to enjoy the beautiful views, the countryside and the scent of this fabulous island. And when you head back to Il Mulino stop and say ciao to Guiseppina, the resident princess. :-))

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

If you are considering a vacation in Capri and don't enjoy large hotels and obnoxious guests, this boutique hotel is worth considering. Situated half way between Anacapri center and the Grotto Azzura it boasts a total of eight rooms. The ten minute walk into Anacapri is via small back streets and the downhill walk to Grotto Azzura takes about twenty.

Hospitality and service are the hallmark of the hotel, from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave. It is a family run hotel and within an hour you'll have been made to feel like family.

Rooms are good sized and well appointed without being luxurious. Tile floors and private patios are throughout, where you can enjoy the aromas of the lush garden. While there are no views from the hotel, they are minutes walk away. We brought two children along who were welcomed and indulged by the staff.

Wonderful hotel that gives a local experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneroomliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
1.6 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.8 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
908 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#6 of 18 in Anacapri
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Villa Capri Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Mulino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Mulino

Property: Al Mulino
Address: Via la Fabbrica 9, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Anacapri
#4 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Mulino 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Al Mulino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Mulino Anacapri
Al Mulino Hotel Anacapri
Al Mulino Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing