We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Paradise in Capri”
Review of Al Mulino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al Mulino
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Little Paradise in Capri”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

As US travelers visiting Europe ever year, my family and I were very impressed by Al Mulino, its grounds and most importantly, the personalized service given to us by its owners Antonietta, Simona and their wonderful staff. Here is a list (in no particular order) of why we love them and will forever cherish them in our hearts:
1. They emailed in advance to welcome us and offered us a ride from the port.
2. The rooms were small but super clean, comfortable, modern and lovely, with a small terrace full of flowers. What a treat!
3. When we accepted Sweet Simona's offer for Lemonades upon arrival, she walked to their beautiful garden, picked some lemons from one of the many citrus trees, as well as mint, and actually made the best lemonade I have ever had, from scratch, in front of my teary eyes. I was seriously touched, especially since we had had a terrible experience with a cruiseline before we got there.
4. They shared their own family lunch with my 7 year old son who was hungry at 3 pm. My boy, who would only eat plain pasta before, ate a full plate of yummy Pesto spaghettis and since then has transformed into an adventurous eater. I am forever grateful for that.
5. They were kind, helpful, spent a lot of time guiding us as to what to do and where to eat. Every single recommendation made was wonderful.
6. We were there on my birthday. When we came back from our dinner at the beautiful restaurant they had recommended, a vase of beautiful garden flowers, as well as a sweet card, was awaiting me. My eyes filled with tears again. That was so nice.
7. Their grounds were beautiful, full of well maintained exotic flowers, fruit trees and Capri greens
8. They served us a homemade breakfast and wished us well with hugs and smiles.
9. Of all of beautiful Capri, our interaction with this kind family were our most favorite moments.
Thank you Beautiful Family. We will be back! Nina B.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Voyageurnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    40
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
49
103
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our choice to stay at the Hotel Mulino in Anacapri was one of the best decisions that we made during our excellent 2 weeks in southern Italy. The hotel was very amazing, breakfast was perfect, and we could not ask for a better hostess than Antoinetta (along with her wonderful family). We were treated so nicely that my wife and I are already talking about our next trip to the region and that the next time we will base our selves at the Hotel Mulino, where we will take day trips around the Napoli area, with even more time to explore the beautiful island of Capri and the city of Anacapri... The Hotel Mulino and the city of Anacapri are a must!!

Room Tip: I am certain that all the rooms are very nice and we loved our room (number 2). Comfortable bed, cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Of all the places we visited on our recent trip to Italy and France, this was our favorite spot. The owner and hostess, Antoinetta was wonderful. She picked us up from the port and took us all over this beautiful paradise. The hotel is lovely, clean, spacious. Breakfast was delicious and the grounds filled with beautiful flowers and herbs. Thank you Antoinetta !

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ilene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

From the moment Antonietta met us at the port to the moment we left three days later, my husband and I felt like we had found a hidden gem on the Isle of Capri. We loved the location just outside of Anacapri (a decent hike uphill to dinner but great to work off all the amazing food we ate!) Antonietta made sure we knew how to get around, giving us a detailed map, bus schedule, booked us dinners - definitely 5 star service for this little 3 star inn. Our room was spacious and immaculate and we loved our little private outside terrace. Al Mulino is great if you want to be slightly away from the craziness of Capri and is easy access to the Blue Grotto (we went twice and walked both times - about 30mins). Internet was patchy in the room but no issues in the breakfast area - we were able to FaceTime our kids each morning. We would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hey,

Al Mulino was a great stay in AnaCapri to end our 2 week long holiday in Italy.
The entry to the hotel is very Inviting and that's how it should be :). The rooms were lovely and plush. We couldn't want more.

Antonietta' the host is very helpful as she picked us from the port, made us a nice meal as we arrived late and even offered free pick-ups and drop till we rented a classic Italian bike ( which she coordinated). She briefed us on the must sees, restaurants giving us a map to use.

Do visit the Viewing Deck which is just down the street from Al Mulino and is a great place to enjoy the view and romance hours over. Truly Romantic, and C'mon ' Capri ' what a fantastic place for a couple!

The only lacking is that the facilities could be more like a hotel as its called offering a spa, outdoor and indoor games, room service, coffee shop etc. Therefore I call it a upmarket BNB.

Would love to visit Antionetta again. Thanks for the memorable time.

Cheers,
Aby & Richa Baldota

Room Tip: Visit the beautiful viewing deck close to the hotel, Antonietta will guide you there. Visit Faraglio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbyBaldota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Hotel Al Mulino. It could not have been more perfect. Our room was the biggest we've had in our travels throughout Italy and very clean. Our bathroom was very clean and relaxing to use unlike some of the other bathrooms we have encountered in Italy. The hotel itself looks like paradise as you walk up the front path and we were so warmly greeted by Antoinetta and the rest of the staff. Each morning started with a fresh breakfast with wonderful food like Nutella crepes and sweet breads and the staff was ready to brew us cappuccinos etc. The staff was very knowledgeable about the bus systems etc. Which made getting around the island easy and Antoinetta even called a local restaurant who came and picked us up and brought us back (amazing food and we were so grateful for her recommendation. Our patio was beautiful and we were surrounded by colorful flowers and lemon trees. Overall we had an amazing experience and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tyler R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here last year for three nights on a last minute trip to Capri and were SO happy with it. We hadn't been to the island before, and someone told us that we would like the Anacapri side better, and they were totally right. Anacapri is laid-back and unpretentious, and Capri, while fun to visit, is expensive and luxe.

The Al Mulino is clean and comfortable, not fancy. We had a room with small porch area and nice bathroom for a reasonable price, exactly what we wanted. The breakfasts is lovely and we actually ended up buying some of their homemade lemon-orange marmalade to take home. Antoinetta picked us up and dropped us off at the ferry dock without trouble, and she and her staff are delightful.

The only downside of the location IS the location - it is seriously out of the way on foot. We liked that, but it can be hard to find at night. There are neat little signs on some of the windy pathways to help you find your way, though.

The one complaint about the place is the beds. Pretty hard and not particularly comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WrldTrav-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.8 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.6 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Melia Villa Capri Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Albergo Senaria
Albergo Senaria
#8 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#6 of 18 in Anacapri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Mulino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Mulino

Property: Al Mulino
Address: Via la Fabbrica 9, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Anacapri
#4 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Mulino 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Al Mulino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Mulino Anacapri
Al Mulino Hotel Anacapri
Al Mulino Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing