We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sea view hotel ~”
Review of Hotel San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Michele
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Tianjin, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent sea view hotel ~”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Most of all, 3 merits

1. Good quality of service
2. excellent breakfast
3. excellent sea view room
4. nice sea view at dining-hall

while, 1 shortcoming, maybe it exists in most of the hotels at Capri Island, due to very close to the main road, when you open windows, those motorcycles are very noisy.

Room Tip: I like those sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minggang Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    130
    85
    44
    53
See reviews for
68
205
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on April 1-May2 as part of a Cosmos tour of southern Italy. This is the best hotel we stayed at, with fantastic views of Capri and the mainland. The building is a beautiful 19th century edifice, with some lovely antique furniture and objets d'art and a library.
Our room on the 3rd floor was a bit small but had a comfortable bed with good reading lights, a sofa and a flat screen TV.
The breakfast and dinners were very good (but the wine was over-priced at €15 a bottle), but we found ourselves more mindful of the magnificent view from the dining room.
The road outside has no footpath and great care should be taken here as there is a blind corner. It's a short walk uphill to the lovely Villa San Michele (former home of the Swedish writer Axel Munthe...don't miss it), a small village and the cable ride to a mountain.


Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stickman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Not to be confused with the Villa San Michele tourist attraction, this modest hotel was where our tour group stayed for two cold, wet days in April. It is located in Anacapri, the village located higher up the mountain from regular Capri (hence its name). The hotel was perched right on the edge of the cliff and just across the road is an observation area with fantastic views of the ocean. My room (#305) was in the back of the hotel; there was a small patio with a view of a ruined castle higher up the mountain. Some of the rooms on the front side have ocean views. For some reason the room was sweltering and it took a couple of trips to the front desk to finally get it adjusted. The power went out a couple of times. Otherwise, the room was comfortable; no refrigerator. The TV has several Italian plus one German channel.. the remote control harks back to the 1980s… to select a channel you select the first digit using the black button; then push the second digit on the blue button. I never did figure out the functions of the yellow and green buttons. The lobby is very nice and provides a pleasant place to read on a rainy day. There is a computer with free internet access located in an alcove near the front desk. The food was acceptable and you can boil your own egg at breakfast.

You can walk uphill along the highway for about 1 kilometer to the main plaza; watch out for speeding cars, tour busses, motorcycles. There are sections where there is no sidewalk. There are couple of min-markets in the village where you can buy meat, cheese, beer, wine, etc. Also, several souvenir shops, hardware stores, etc. The chair lift up Mount Solaro was closed due to the weather but it is said to provide “an unforgettable panorama”. A bus to Capri (and/or Marina Grande) leaves the plaza; €1.80 one way. There are a couple of mostly forgettable churches to peruse and it’s fun to wander about the narrow, hilly streets. The best experience in Anacapri is the Casa Rosso, a free museum which features paintings of the island by 19th C. European artists. Next to each painting is a map of the island with a small circle indicating the location depicted in the picture. You can climb to the roof of the house for some nice views of the village.
Trips to the Blue Grotto were cancelled because of the weather. Our tour guide advised that they were overhyped and overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dunewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Unbelievable views across the bay of Napoli/Naples, absolutely to die for, we booked rooms with a sea view and we got this in spades. A sensational terrace that gave us views to Mount Vesuvius! Just gorgeous. Rooms were fine and staff on check in were good.

Anacapri is a delightful village and we wasted no time in exploring what it had to offer. We returned to the hotel for dinner, big mistake. Set menu only which had been put together to cater for tour groups, not those travelling on their own.

It was average at best, the three course set menu was 35 euro which was overpriced. Breakfast was even worse, hot water for you to cook your eggs in, no boiling water for a cup of tea just a jug of hot water, the limited food that was on offer was average at best, very disappointing.

When we went to check out there was a commotion where one of the employees was going berserk in Italian of course, running around the hotel making lots of noise.

Really disappointing for a hotel itch so much o offer, if they can get their act together in the food department they could be a force o be reckoned eith.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My husband and I traveled to Italy in August 2011 and stayed in Anacapri for two nights. We called the hotel to pick us up when we were on the ferry as we were not sure which ferry we would be getting; the hotel staff were helpful and friendly and arranged for a pick-up. The driver was also very friendly. Our room was good and the bathroom was clean and spacious. The bed could have been more comfortable and the TV was very old but we loved the amazing views of the sea and the Marina bay from the second floor where we stayed and the wireless internet connection was also good on the second floor. We enjoyed watching the beautiful sunrise and walking to Anacapri, just 5 minutes walk and getting the chair lift upto Mount Solaro-which was not as frightening as it looked! The walk down from Mount Solaro was wonderful amongst the forested area, the serene air and wonderful views. The breakfast at the hotel was good by Italian hotel standards. The hotel is well located for quick access to local market and restaurants in Anacapri and the bus stop which has buses to the Blue Grotto, Capri and Marina. Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view on the second floor to get the best views of the sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank apoorva_mishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sollefteå
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Hotel San Michele, Anacapri
I am so happy that I have been able to show this hotel in Anacapri, and its historic atmosphere and breathtaking wiew to my groups. You always want to show your friends the best things you know. For me it was important to let my guests feel the wings of history accompagnied with the breathtaking wiew of the sea that this hotel offers.
The hotel staff always try to help you getting the best stay ever and the meals that we had here were very appreciated by my guests.
I will warmly recomend this hotel.
Cecilia- organicer of trips to Italy from Sweden.

Room Tip: A room with sea wiew is fantastic but all the rooms are nice . The hotel have very nice places that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cissi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Capri was the last leg of our 15 day Italy trip and it was truly worth it. The hotel is a 30 minute bus ride from the marina and offers breathtaking views from all the rooms (2nd floor ones are better). Ideal setting if you just want to relax and chill out on a holiday.The staff is very helpful, breakfast spread is good and they have a swimming pool and a cafe - where the cafe manager is more than happy to rustle up few tasty snacks. Apart from that the villa san michele is a 2 minute walk away and so is the bus stop for going to capri or the marina. The hotel also provides a complimentary pick up and drop to the marina (only after 8 am so try avoiding early morning ferries from capri).

Room Tip: Take the 2nd floor rooms that face the marina as they offer the full view of the sea and naples
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kunal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carmencita
Hotel Carmencita
#12 of 18 in Anacapri
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
943 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Il Girasole
Hotel Il Girasole
#11 of 18 in Anacapri
347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#5 of 18 in Anacapri
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Villa Capri Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Michele

Property: Hotel San Michele
Address: Via Giuseppe Orlandi 1/3/5, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Michele Anacapri
San Michele Hotel
Hotel San Michele Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing