We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Villa San Michele, better than a day trip!”
Review of Hotel San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Michele
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stay at Villa San Michele, better than a day trip!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at the Villa San Michele and were very comfortable with 2 teens and 2 adults in a nice sized, clean room. The bathroom was spacious with a nice large window. The bedroom had a huge picture window facing the swimming pool. The breakfast food was very good -- but the views in the breakfast lounge were Spectacular! Staff were friendly and helpful and we all took a turn in the massage chair in the lobby - super after so much walking! The hotel was a perfect walking distance to downtown Anacapri, and the driver was happy to drive us to Capri when needed. Thank you Villa San Michele - I would recommend your hotel for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    127
    79
    42
    51
See reviews for
65
197
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel last September and were most impressed with its décor and surroundings. Very grand and lots of flowers.

It is half way up a hill on the way to Anacapri and is very close to a bus stop. You can easily walk up to Anacapri in about 5 - 10 minutes. The room we had was on the side of the hotel that did not look out to sea, but this was actually a bonus. The hotel is on a corner where there is a lot of traffic and if you have a sea view you also have the noise of the traffic and the tooting!

Our room was great and very comfortable. Breakfast was also yummy. The swimming pool is fantastic and there is a lovely café by the pool that offers great meals.

There is also a deck at the end of the hotel that looks over the port and the town and it is very beautiful at night.

Tips - when you get there you can ring from the ferry and they have a courtesy vehicle that will come and pick you up. We did not know this and spent a few Euros getting up to the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back part of the hotel if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicklerville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our stay in Italy and had an amazing time ! The hotel itself sits almost atop the cliff giving amazing views of the Gulf of Naples. We had a room with a balcony facing the sea and woke up to the sunrise each morning and it was breathtaking. The room was a bit small, but as we realized during our Italian odyssey that seems to the be the norm - plus we barely spent time in there anyway !

The restaurant was nice, had the fresh fish of the day - delicious and lots of wine ! We went down to the bar one night and the ambiance was a bit lackluster - but have no fear we just hopped on the bus stop that was near the hotel and went into town!

The staff was very helpful. I got sick one night and they brought me dinner to the room, as well as a get well note. They were there to help us find our way to the Blue Grotto, other great restaurants in Capri, and where to rent a boat. great service !

Definitely would go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The hotel would have been nice 20 years ago, from the front it looks nice once you get in it is terrible. Paint is peeling off the walls, the balcony hasn't been cleaned for a very long time. They won't allow you to wear dress shorts in the restaurant and you must wear shoes. They do have a nice pool but if you want a towel and a chair (not sunbed just a beach chair) it is EU$7.50 per person per day. I asked for an iron and they told me it is against the law and I would have to use the laundry service at EU$4.00 per piece of clothing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpeterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anacapri hotels

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I can only describe Hotel San Michele as 'Wonderful'..... My wife & I have just returned from touring Italy and we stayed in many hotels during this trip. We stayed at San Michele for two nights and we wished it was more!! On arrival at the harbour, we were met by a driver of the hotel who collected us and took us directly to the hotel. The gentleman on reception was very welcoming and when we entered our room, it took our breath away. We were fortunate to have one of the rooms with a large balcony with the most incredible view of the port of Capri and the Amalfi coast. Our room was lovely. The room was very spacious, as was the bathroom and one of the best we stayed in during our whole trip. The pool area was very relaxing and the ladies at the pool bar/restaurant were so incredibly friendly. Actually, all the staff in this hotel were excellent, helpful, friendly and couldn't do enough to help you and make your stay there as pleasant as possible. The little town of Anacapri is literally no more than 5 minutes walk away from the hotel. Breakfast was very adequate with a large selection on offer. The view from the breakfast room over the harbour and the Amalfi coast was a great way to start the day!
When we left the hotel, we were driven back to the harbour and vowed that we will definitely be coming back to this hotel :)
A great experience and thoroughly recommended.....

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour & Amalfi coast....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry and Tracy... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usa River
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

You cannot really go wrong with Anacapri and the hotel san Michele has the immediate advantage of being amazingly situated looking back to Naples and Versuvius. It also looks around and down to the Marina Grande. The hotel opposite is probably even better placed but anyway.... Straightaway one can see that it was probably a magnificent hotel in the late 70s but unfortunately nothing much has happened since; a characteristic I have seen in other hotels that do not feel that they have to try very hard because we grockels will come anyway. The lobby is all marble and seventies chic; the rooms are fine and we had the balcony facing out to see, which has absolutely no privacy but guess that is ok in Italy. Bathroom was on the small side and required a bit of maneuvering to get one into the bath/shower. The plus is that it has a huge pool, which makes it excellent of you have children along. We only had breakfast, which was very unimaginative but then I do not thinks Italians really do brekkie. The wifi was atrocious, which is pretty inexcusable in this day and age but at least it was free.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank copper375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex england
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of June. As a single traveller I booked a single room, it was small, very small and the bathroom even smaller! But it was fine for me. It is an older property but has character that chain hotels lack. The staff are friendly and helpful and speak good English. The room was very clean and had a terrace that overlooked the pool. Breakfast is Italian Continental. The bus from Capri Town stops up the road and Anacapri is not as busy as Capri town, lovely for an evening wander. The hotel car dropped me down at the port for my ferry to Ishchia on my last day. Capri is expensive so I guess you have to look at things in proportion. Would stay there again and recommend. Think charging 6 euro for lounger by pool and 1 euro for a towel by pool is a bit cheeky, but you can have deckchair for free.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zarkava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
1.0 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carmencita
Hotel Carmencita
#12 of 18 in Anacapri
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Il Girasole
Hotel Il Girasole
#9 of 18 in Anacapri
339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#6 of 18 in Anacapri
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Villa Capri Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Michele

Property: Hotel San Michele
Address: Via Giuseppe Orlandi 1/3/5, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Michele Anacapri
San Michele Hotel
Hotel San Michele Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing