We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than average”
Review of Materita

Materita
Ranked #30 of 53 Restaurants in Anacapri
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Less than average”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

I should have paid more attention to the bad reviews than the good ones. The waiter obviously did not know the menu. My wife got both her courses at the same time and I did not get my second, because the waiter had apparently not understood that I wanted a second course. I had to ask for Parmesan to my pasta and as soon as I had helped myself, the cheese was taken away. The house wine was good, but my bolognese and veal was not more than average.

Helpful?
Thank Arild T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    85
    73
    27
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Atmosphere over quality”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Materita is predominantly a pizza take away with an add on restaurant. There are piles of pizza take away boxes at the entrance to a nice veranda overlooking the church square. Service is poor in the restaurant, drinks arrived soon but food took ages although only just over half full. Food quality was very mediocre and disappointing. But the real problem is the cost. This is a really expensive place to eat which suggests good food. Not our experience and they also load the bill with extra costs. We questioned the bill and they just took some items off. I would advise you avoid this place and not get taken in by the location as we were, there are much better value places to eat in the town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Middledene2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice place with good service.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Our waiter was very friendly and tried to accommodate us, they even made an omelet that wasn't on the menu. The fish steak was nicely done. Pizza was good. Almost everywhere in Italy, you have to add an olive oil and vinegar yourself, upon your taste. Maybe for the reason of not sending something back if it's overdone.. But, I prefer to leave it up to the chef, as they do it in States..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tripreview2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Terrible food, poor service and ovepriced. All this place has is location. Look elsewhere if you want food, value and good service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AMD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
387 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good, but not great, though open late”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Materita, ristorante - bar - pizzeria is a centrally located, open air, on the piazza by the church, Capresi restaurant attended by a wonderful, dark-haired woman of local charm and polite-ness. We stopped in what would normally be a bit late (23:30), but the entire menu was available for us, with nice outdoor seating on the piazza, overlooking the local children running off their last bits of energy. We had a nice, fresh pizza, followed by shared mixed greens and rocket salads, followed by ravioli, grilled local fish and spaghetti bolognese. The menu openly stated all frozen food would be disclosed, though we had none. All our food was fresh and well prepared, presented and flavorful, even after midnight. We also enjoyed a white local wine, which was very nice (though simple and a tad sweet; the local red wines are also chilled, and while available at Materita, not to our liking from prior experience). Overall, a delightful, local place to watch people pass on a late Friday night during a town-wide art presentation. If you are in Anacapri, this is a solid choice for one evening's (or afternoon's) family/group meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcwbesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Materita also viewed

Anacapri, Island of Capri
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Materita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing