We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece Of Heaven”
Review of La Guardia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Guardia
Ranked #19 of 40 Anacapri B&B and Inns
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
“A Piece Of Heaven”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were greeted with warmth, enthusiasm, new friends and delicious food when we arrived at B and B LaGuardia. Our room was adorable, the views breathtaking, and Ciro and Umberto were more than happy to assist in any way. There was a beautiful little pool with a view of the sea, which we hardly took advantage of, since the sea was so close and easily accessible. There is a bus stop very nearby, making trips to the heart of Capri and to all tourist attractions very easy. We were lucky enough to be staying during one of LaGuardia's famous Pizza Parties, a delicious and unique experience! One of our favorite parts: the beautiful sunsets and sunrises over the sea- nearly every part of the property offers a fabulous view. It was so easy to relax, and just as easy to let loose when we wanted to. Ciro and Umberto made us feel so welcome, it was like leaving family when we finally left. I would recommend this lovely little place to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassieMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    27
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
81
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

La Guardia is a piece of Heaven. On arrival we were met with delicious snacks and beverages. We arrived as strangers but left friends. Umberto and Ciro were excellent hosts and helped us decide on fun and beautiful places to see around the isle of Capri. Every morning we woke to a beautiful, tropical, and wonderful breakfast setting. We stayed at B&B La Guardia for two nights but wished that we had stayed longer as it was a highlight of our two-plus week stay in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyjol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I did wonder when standing at a dusty hot bus stop on the edge of anacapri village whether I had was unwise to take my Scottish parents-in-law and husband to B and B La Guardia. We had arrived on Capri by ferry and joined a queue round the corner form the terminal to take the bus to the upper village of Anacapri. It was an adventure, I explained, as the bus that careered round corners and furiously zigzagged up the steep hillside with the view over the bluest sea expanding as we rose through quaint streets. It passed through bustling centres, past churches and cafes and deposited us at the deserted last stop beyond the bus station. Our host had offered to collect us to show us the way but the meeting spot looked unlikely, as we clambered down and stood surrounded by luggage. Had our host received the message about our arrival time? The website showed gorgeous images but would reality match up? Was I mad to reject the in-town hotels for a place so remote we needed the owner's help just to find it?

I needn't have worried. B and B La Guardia is a gem. Umberto appeared, exuding charm and welcome, and loaded us all into his car, whisking us along to Via La Guardia, turning off into roads so narrow I would have thought them private driveways; past the old church and the pizza restaurant and in through the gates to park alongside the house.

We were enchanted from the moment of arrival. We passed down steps under arches simply dripping with flowers into a gorgeous bower, with festoons of fabric gently shading a pergola with the most ravishing view out over the sea. We were high up with nothing before us but the land dropping away to the shore below, with a dream of a pool, long and narrow and glistening in the sun with its mosaic dolphins appearing to leap in the shimmering. Our rooms were charming, simply furnished but with elan.

Having dropped off our bags we stepped out onto the terrace into what felt like our private garden paradise. Umberto and Cirro appeared, bringing out platters to welcome us with the tastiest olives, cheese and wine. The bounty was evident each morning at breakfast when the table groaned with a huge bowl of the freshest fruit, pastries, yoghurt, good coffee and all that is needed to begin a day of exploration.

Umberto brought out a map and advised on fun things to do and proposed restaurants that would pick us up and bring us home again afterwards. I shan't reveal details but I shall say that Umberto knows some super places. He will also show you the spot where the path snakes its way unsigned down the cliff, dropping through herbs and rocks to the wooded road from where it is a short distance to the lighthouse with its beach. The area is a delight.

People who take day trips to Capri and stroll among the town's expensive glitzy shops and restaurants and go away wondering what the fuss was about, miss its charms. Skip the tourist trail. Take a risk and venture off the beaten track and you'll see another side and understand why Elizabeth David, Norman, Gracie Field and countless others loved the island. Umberto's joie de vivre and love of his island and its wine black sea will make your stay on Capri.

The B and B isn't large and I hope that by reviewing this I am not scuppering my chance of finding rooms when I return!

Room Tip: All have fab views across the garden terrace and out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZhuAnYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights but wish it was far longer. Umberto and Ciro make an amazing team. Nothing was too much for them. On arrival we were greeted with a huge smile snacks and a bottle of wine on the house. Umberto planned our stay and helped us organize everything including our train and ferry when we were leaving. He organized local dinners with pick up and return to our door, boat trips, lighthouse walks and local swimming spots (no tourist here) .We came home late at night and we were welcomed to his personal dinner party and offered wine and lemoncello and homemade sweets. The accommodation is clean and in beautiful natural Italian style. Take the bus with the locals to get to your accommodation and also see Anacapri which is the other city on the island which again gets u living like the locals. Sit by the pool with wine and snacks and enjoy breakfast or the quiet beautiful sunset. Please go to this fantastic place and get away from the hoards of tourists. Experience the real Capri! I will remember our stay here forever. Just communicate with Umberto by email before u arrive to sort out how you will get to this magical place. He will help you in every way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueireland2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We are so happy to pass on a great experience at la Guardia. Umberto and Ciro, the hosts, could not do enough or be more helpful. We stayed 4 nights. The smell of the linens were like nothing but fresh air and lavender! Truly amazing, the setting poolside was gorgeous. We had great days based on terrific recommendations from the guys. We had amazing food, great shopping experiences. having lived on the island forever, they know their stuff, and everyone on the island knows and respects them! that was really nice to hear froom the local business people! it really means alot!
The others at the B&B we met were really fun. Some from Switzerland and the other couple was US. Umberto and Ciro made it very nice to include all in conversation. We truly can't wait to return!
Enjoy! It's a special place!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Socean21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in Anacapri at the B&B La Guardia for 3 nights. The owner of the B&B, Umberto, welcomed us so warmly with big smiles and good vibes AND with some wine and olives. He sat with us and showed us where we should go for the next couple days – all of his recommendations were great. The rooms were sweet, quaint and cosy. There is a nice sized pool to refresh yourself in and the views are simply spectacular. Located about 15 minutes from Capri port but we preferred it as it was so quiet and peaceful – perfect romantic setting for a couple. I left my passport in Capri and Umberto dropped it off with the Captain of the ferry to bring it to Amalfi – he went out of his way to be kind and helpful, what a phenomenal host.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiffanyVos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siena, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

La Guardia is an amazing little bed and breakfast on the top of Anacapri. The location is fantastic. We were a 10 minute walk from both public and private beaches and had the most amazing views from the location. The owners were fantastic and helped us from the moment we got there. They knew everything about the island and we felt like family with them. They arranged for wonderful dinners, boat rides, and sightseeing. I could not have asked for a better vacation. Both owners are fluent in english and italian (and probably other languages as well!). For breakfast, Umberto made fresh croissants that were amazing. The owners love their place and wanted to share it with their guests. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
1.6 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#15 of 18 in Anacapri
446 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#5 of 18 in Anacapri
374 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Carmencita
Hotel Carmencita
#12 of 18 in Anacapri
341 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
940 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Il Girasole
Hotel Il Girasole
#10 of 18 in Anacapri
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Guardia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Guardia

Property: La Guardia
Address: Via della Guardia 47, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Guardia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Guardia Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing