We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Orsa Maggiore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orsa Maggiore
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed here for my honeymoon. The view was beautiful from our room. We had a terrace that looked out over the water directly at the sunset, which we enjoyed with a bottle of wine. The location was OK... a 10-15 minute walk into downtown Anacapri, but this was easily manageable and well worth the view. Also a very nice pool/lounge area. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and managed to track down my credit card that I left at a local restaurant. I would definitely recommend staying here if you're considering Anacapri. The town is great at night when all of the day tourists leave.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    30
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
132
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I can't recommend the Orsa Maggiore highly enough! I took my mother to Italy for her 60th birthday and Silvia and the ladies at Orsa Maggiore made sure her first trip to Capri was one she'll never forget. The hotel overlooks the sea and boasts some of the most spectacular sunsets I've ever seen. We lounged by the infinity pool, sipping Falanghina and snacking on Caprese salads nearly every afternoon. I loved that the hotel was within walking distance from the shops and restaurants of Anacapri but far away enough to feel like a retreat from the hustle and bustle of Capri. Our room was spotless and perfectly comfortable with sliding glass doors that lead out to a small terrace and the garden that overlooked the sea. If you're too tired to walk, Silvia will arrange a driver or shuttle for you and she can also give you fabulous (and honest) restaurant recommendations. This little gem holds a special place in our hearts and I can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: Ground floors have terrace and ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Massive high roofed plain but clean rooms. Well ventilated w lots of open windows and fans in rooms. Locks on doors. Big kitchen w large fridge for storage. The kitchen is locked early morning & late at night. No sink / stove in the kitchen or near which is a little hard for food prep, (old building) but washed fruit over open window.

Felt very safe and would definatly book again if went back to Rome.

First goal of choosing a hostel was location. Had previously stayed a 45 minute walk from via del corso...the heart. Completely lost the atmosphere of Rome.

Orsa maggiore was right next to:
Tiber river: beautiful night markets, restaurants and bars.
Campo di fiori: 10 minute walk to the beautiful fruit n veg markets & cafe.
Porta Portese: Gorgeous market...it was so big we couldn't actually see the end, $5 gorgeous
shoes, jewelry.

Explored some gorgeous streets & restaurants on the other side of the river.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyards seemed to be less noisy at night. The food at their restaurant was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed 3days while on vacation to Italy.
Its a biutique hotel with 15 rooms. Very small but cozy. It is made out of private home back in 2005. The hotel is brand new sparkling. Beautiful well kept property.
Chef Ciro makes the hotel shine. His food is the best food we have ever had.we even tried to compare with other restaurants on both islands and nothing compared to the cuisine and flavors that he incorporated in his cooking. Especially recommended pasta aum-aum and salad with mozzarella and tuna.
We have been all over the world, but this place is number one in our hearts! We are coming back

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cava De' Tirreni, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

i've spent one night in this hotel and i have to say that it's quite ok. located a bit off the main anacapri road, we have used several times the hotel shuttle. thanks to the Silvia the lady from the reception i have planned to spend my anniversary at the spa, unfortunatelly the temperature was too cold and even if we have been there only 10 minutes they ha ve charged us hald price! which it was not fare! anyway the swimming pool is amazing, the service in the room very good, the breakfst room a bit too small and with a bees very friendly

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marily81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Just returned from Capri, what can I say, this boutique hotel in the hills of anacapri was bliss. Only got to spend 2 days here but we wanted for nothing , staff very attentive and food brilliant, Silvia was always ready to help and organised special requests for my wifes 40th birthday, days by the pool are great, not many people were there so we had the whole pool to ourselves, stunnig location up in the hills, the rooms are perfect with a boudouir feel, especially with sea views, if you see this review just book, do not waste time like i did trying to find places to stay, hope this helps and enjoy your stay! Eat dinner at Da Gelsomina, superb location further up in the hills set on a vineyard. Recommend the house masseur, she knows her stuff!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalpesh186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I highly recommend the Orsa Maggiore. The hotel is very comfortable, nicely decorated and well kept. The room and amenities were terrific! We loved the pool, the garden outside our room and the beautiful ocean views. The staff is fantastic! Very friendly and accomodating. The location is just outside Anacapri, but the hotel provides shuttle service to Anacapri center and to Capri. I enjoyed having the option of staying away a little outside of the main area, but having access to it when I wanted it. I definitely will return to the Orsa Maggiore in the furture.

Room Tip: I had a room with a garden and ocean view on the first level. I loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michele f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.6 mi away
Melia Villa Capri Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.9 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
456 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.7 mi away
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
#3 of 18 in Anacapri
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orsa Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orsa Maggiore

Property: Orsa Maggiore
Address: Via Tuoro 30, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Anacapri
#4 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Orsa Maggiore 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orsa Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orsa Maggiore Anacapri
Orsa Maggiore Hotel Anacapri
Orsa Maggiore Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing