We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 2 night visit on honeymoon”
Review of Orsa Maggiore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orsa Maggiore
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect 2 night visit on honeymoon”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Be sure to book the shuttle in advance for your arrival from the port. Taxis are expensive. The shuttle is free to use for your needs. Just be advised it's a first come first served basis so let them know in advance.

The room was lovely, clean, spacious. We had a ground floor terrace view but had a few pieces of vegetation so maybe an upper floor room would be perfect.

Pool area is lovely. Small hotel but is quiet and perfect for couples. Wifi was good. Sky tv in room. Had a bar and a fridge in rooms. Breakfast was included which had a large variety of continental foods, fruit, cakee, cereals etc.
Drinks are quite expensive but as is most of capri.

Sunset view was good. Walking distance from anacapri. Get shuttle thee and walk back maybe. Roads are dark at night near hotel
Staff are good to help book anything and we had them recommend a sunset view restaurant which was amazing but again a little expensive.
In our 2 days, we managed to hire a boat for 120 euro with banana sport. Go up the cable car in anacapri. Capri in mid august is busy but there is a funicular to take you up from the port to the centre. Anacapri is cheaper to eat than capri.

Would recommend this hotel to couples for a romantic break. All ages.

Staff were friendly and helpful all the time.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    30
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
131
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

As the head of an architecture and interior design group, I spend more than 200 days a year on the road, virtually living in hotels. Good and bad experiences aside, every now and then I come across a property that reminds me why I got into the hospitality business to begin with.

Such a hotel is the Orsa Maggiore...

When I say this little hotel is "perfect", I pretty much mean it. Antonietta and Giovanna, the lovely sisters-in-law who own and run it have spared no detail and included everything you could want in a picturesque holiday spot. Model hosts, they have created a luxury hotel setting that makes you feel more like your visiting an old friend's holiday home than a hotel.

From the interior - with artfully arranged, though compact, seaview rooms and their expansive terraces - to the infinity pool and the cozy little spa (every home should have one of these), the ample breakfast buffet (unusual in an Italian hotel) that even has whole gluten-free section and the to-die-for ravioli caprese served at a poolside lunch – not one detail has been overlooked and I literally couldn't find anything to criticize if I'd tried!

These two charming ladies and their wonderful staff - Paolo, Nicolo and Stefano - all made us feel like one of the family and directed us to all the secret little niches and dining spots in Anacapri. We had such a great time that we never even felt the need to venture around the island to Capri itself!

The Orsa Maggiore... definitely now on my "can't miss" list of perfect relaxation spots around the globe!

Room Tip: Nothing better than finishing the day sipping a prosecco on the terrace of one of the seaview rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QDante2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Everything was good except for bad wifi coverage in the room, average breakfast and room service forgot to fill the minibar. The staff was friendly especially Stefano the driver for the shuttle service.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in July 2014. We wish we had stayed much longer! The boutique hotel and its grounds are beautiful and peaceful, and all of staff are happy and very helpful. The view from our room was absolutely stunning! Our private patio overlooked the sea and provided for beautiful sunsets - fantastic in every way! The hotel is located a nice/short walk away from the shopping and restaurants, of Anacapri, and the chairlift to the top of Mount Solaro (a must-do attraction). If you want to venture to the other side of the island, Capri, the hotel has a driver that's happy to take you there or anywhere else on the island. The staff were always happy to assist us with our every need. The breakfasts were great. The hotel is idyllic and tranquil - we stayed in several different hotels throughout this Italy trip, but Orsa Maggiore is by far our favorite!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ATXwino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It has become a habit in our family to travel to Capri for one week towards the end of July. This year we picked the Orsa Maggiore and are thrilled. The hotel is wonderful and tastefully decorated. The rooms, specially the De Lux rooms with view of the sea are simply perfect. Everything worked, everything one needed was there, the service was quite and kept in the background until one needed something and then everyone came to help and answer any question. The breakfast is fine but nothing compared to people are used to go to the Four Seasons. The lunch is stronger, specially the pasta dishes. The hotel has wonderful garden and everywhere one finds little cute corners with soft pillows that invite you to take a nap. The view is spectacular, I open the window onto my patio and see the golf of Napel's, Vesuvio and the island of Iscia in the distance. Orsa Maggione aslo has a spa, which I have not used.

What was nice for me was the calm atmosphere away from Capri and Anacapri. Just being calm by the bool with a nice book can be such a bliss.

Room Tip: Best rooms are the front rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FileasFoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We decided last minute to go to Capri and were so happy we chose the Orsa Maggiore for our stay. It is the most flawless boutique hotel I have ever stayed in. Gorgeous grounds, the infinity pool is stunning and my favorite lunch from our entire honeymoon was the caprese I ate while poolside at the Orsa Maggiore. We came in from dinner one night and the sweet man at the desk poured us a glass of wine to enjoy by the pool as a nightcap. The pickup at the Marina service is such a lifesaver- so nice not having to navigate anything once you get off the boat- and the staff is so kind and accommodating! They got reservations for us, arranged for cars for us...would absolutely go back!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the first floor- can hear staff in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed at the Orsa Maggiore with my two daughters for three nights and could not, truly, have been happier. The hotel is beautiful, as are the grounds - and the staff was both helpful and welcoming in every way. Lunch by the pool was one of our favorite meals all week! One of the best things about the Orsa Maggiore is that it allowed us to explore the busier parts of the island, but return to a peaceful oasis - we especially loved reading on our patio overlooking the ocean. I would recommend this highly, and hope to return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.6 mi away
Melia Villa Capri Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
448 reviews
0.9 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
1.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.7 mi away
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
#3 of 18 in Anacapri
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orsa Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orsa Maggiore

Property: Orsa Maggiore
Address: Via Tuoro 30, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Anacapri
#4 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Orsa Maggiore 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Orsa Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orsa Maggiore Anacapri
Orsa Maggiore Hotel Anacapri
Orsa Maggiore Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing