We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking problem”
Review of Monte Solaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monte Solaro
Ranked #3 of 40 Anacapri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sassari, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Booking problem”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Months in advance I booked a room at this property only to be contacted with a story that my credit card details were still needed or there was a problem..There was a problem indeed. It was not my card which was fine but they had overbooked and were trying to find a way out of the problem they had caused. Eventually after a number of emails, I was so unhappy with them that I cancelled the booking as they had destroyed any pleasure I might have had in this part of the trip. mistakes can happen of course but always best to be honest up front at first. The review is thus only about the booking experience.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank robertbev5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilcaprese, Proprietario at Monte Solaro, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Fortunally all my guest come at my place know how i'm.... Guest like you better stay far away from me and Capri....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    36
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
212
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were welcomed by Constanzo, the very charming owner, who couldn't have been more helpful. He picked us up in Ana Capri and took us to the B&B situated on the side of Monte Solaro with views over Ischia.
Basic but comfortable. Particularly enjoyed the double shower!
Would certainly go back to enjoy the pool and pizza oven later in the season.
See you soon Constanzo! X

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Decca85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilcaprese, Proprietario at Monte Solaro, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Google Translation
Yes i hope to see you soon... ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voru, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The view was excellent, the surroundings were very calm and quiet, the rooms were perfect and the hosts were very friendly and welcoming. They even offered us food (pizza, some snacks and fruits) in the evenings when we were sitting on the balcony and enjoying the sunset. We were very surprised and speechless. Italians in are very lovely, warm and welcoming people, the best people in the world :) Because we had only two little bags, we had no problem to walk up the steep hill to the B&B, but they are also offering pick-up service.
Extra points for the pool, which also had an amazing view over Capri and the sea.
A wonderful place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itsirk666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at Monte Solaro with our 6 months old baby and had a very pleasant stay. Beides big and clean rooms there is a huhge terace outside the rooms, a perfect spot to watch the sunset. The owners are extremely helpful and offers to drive the guests up the hill to the hotel. We would definately stay at Monte Solaro again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

After an edge of your seat drive from Capri to Anacapri by taxi we were met by Constanzo at the Piazza and he drove us up the steep hill to the B&B where we both were amazed at the beautiful view.
We had three nights here and wish we could have had more, Constanzo and family were couldn't do enough for you and were really helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the sunsets are magical.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

a warm welcome from Costanzo and he can come and pick you up from the Piazza di Pace.
we chose to get the bus and then walk, the hill up to the B&B is very steep, I would advise you to take up Costanzo's offer of a lift.
once there the views are fantastic and the balcony is perfect to sit and take in the scenery.

close to the chair lift that takes you up to the top of Monte Solaro, where the views are stunning.

we stayed here two nights and loved it.

Costanzo was helpful and gave us good suggestions on where to dine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The views are spectacular, the welcome warm , friendly and helpful, the rooms comfortable and very well maintained. A really wonderful place to stay and a haven of peace and tranquility. the location is excellent ,near to buses for the island, with easy access to restaurants and the island's attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#14 of 18 in Anacapri
444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
939 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.3 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#5 of 18 in Anacapri
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Solaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Solaro

Property: Monte Solaro
Address: Via Monte Solaro 30, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming guesthouse from where to enjoy stunning views of the island of Capri and the surrounding sea.An attractive dwelling overlooking the town and the sea, just a few minutes away from the center of Anacapri, on the slopes of Monte Solaro; the mountain after which the bed & breakfast takes its name.A delightful little Bed & Breakfast immersed in the Mediterranean vegetation, which greets its guests from a magnificent panoramic terrace.From the Bed & Breakfast Monte Solaro the celebrated Piazzetta of Capri, the beaches, and all of the island’s principal attractions are within easy reach.Guests sojourn in tastefully furnished bedrooms, each with its own private bathroom and terrace.Costanzo and his family will be happy to provide guests with fascinating insider information regarding the island, thus allowing visitors to experience Capri to the full.A breathtaking view can be admired from the Bed & Breakfast Monte Solaro; a view which extends across the roof tops of Anacapri to the sea, the Bay of Naples, and the islands of Ischia and Procida.The sunsets to be enjoyed from the terraces of Bed & Breakfast Monte Solaro are quite spectacular. At night, the lights emanating from the fishing boats and, across the water, from the city of Naples and the Sorrentine peninsula offer a magical display. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monte Solaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Solaro Hotel Anacapri
Monte Solaro Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing