We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay - Fabrizzio is an Awesome Host”
Review of Hotel Carmencita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carmencita
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay - Fabrizzio is an Awesome Host”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were looking for a hotel to accommodate 5 people for 2 nights - Three kids and 2 adults. Hotel Carmencita was one of the few hotels that fit our needs for the price. They put us in two rooms that had a queen and a single. The room was tight but worked for us. Small bathroom, normal for Europe, nice balcony with two chairs, 13" TV, fan and free WiFi. We got in around 6pm from Pompeii and were hot and sweatty. We were told the A/C was broken at the time but it was cool enough not to be an issue. No problem we'll just jump in the pool and cool off. The ownwer told us the pool was closed at 6pm and we could not swim. Who closes a pool at 6pm in the summertime. We complained, then they said it was OK to swim. No welcome drink as promised either. We paid 30 euros to get up the hill to the hotel then saw an email that night that we just had to call when we got in and they would pick us up at the port. Why was that not sent earlier to us. It did not start out good. The next day, everything got better with a nice breakfast and a swim in the pool. The owners son, Fabrizzio, welcomed us with a drink, chips and info about the island. He set up a private boat tour with his friend around the island that was spectacular. He pointed out great restaurants and highlights of the island. He made our trip wonderful and we felt right at home during our stay. This is a great little hotel. Perfect location, not in a touristy area. Right across the street through the parking lot is a path to the heart of real Anacapri. Fabrizzio directed me to the banca/ATM right next to the church. Quaint little streets and the local church is beautiful. 3 minutes from hotel. I went to Sunday Mass and it was an incredible experience for me. After I got some cash and had a nice espresso at the cafe right in the church plaza. I rented a scooter from Fabrizzio's friend. We had to leave and Fabrizzio met us at the rental location with the shuttle. The place was closed for lunch. Fabrizzio said no problem, leave the scooter here and I will return the keys to him later. Sochi, his, shuttle driver took us down to the port at no charge. We noticed we were missing a bag. Fabrizzio drove it down to the port for us on his scooter. Truly incredible customer service. Anacapri was the highlight of our trip. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    105
    41
    18
    20
See reviews for
74
119
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This hotel is nice because it is located centrally in Anacapri. There are more pros like prompt reply on e-mail requests, free shuttle bus from and to the harbour, which is very convenient, internet is included and the breakfast buffet was fine. Service provided was good and especially by Mr Sunday. There is a swimming pool which is nice, however, when we were there, the swimming pool area was very crowded with families with children and some of these were very noisy. One of the rooms we had (26) was facing the main road and we were disturbed by traffic noise during the nights.

Room Tip: Traffic noise in rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lippert_CPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuopio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Carmencita is a typical no frills three star hotel in most respect. They have a pool, which is definitely a positive thing. The staff is very friendly, and the hotel seems to be ran by a family. Transportation from Grande Marina to the hotel (and back) is free, but it should be reserved by phone in advance. However, we were rather unpleased about the fact that we had to ask the staff to turn on the hot water repeatedly for showering. Also the aircon worked on demand the similar way.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ElisaKuopio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband and I are from California and we stayed at Hotel Carmencita and had a fantastic experience. I was very happy to learn that the hotel provides a free lift from the ferry port to the hotel in a private car. When we arrived we were offered complimentary cocktails by very friendly and welcoming staff members. The swimming pool is amazing! Something I'd expect to find in a 5 star hotel, but without the extra expense. Compared to the other hotels on the island, I found Hotel Carmencita's prices to be very reasonable. Also, the location is perfect. Just 30 seconds walking from Anacapri centre where you can find plenty of shops, restaurants, bars, and buses to the many tourist attractions. We would definitely book with Hotel Carmencita again. Thanks for a wonderful experience! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

I like the guys who works in the hotel. They are very eficient ! The hotel in very good and the people help to find restaurants, places to visit, etc. Fabricio and others guys are very professional. I like very much!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMARELO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The best hotel in Anacapri... All staff are incredible welcome. The best price, location, service, included a really fresh pool and a free transfer with a really good driver!! I loved it. And I hope to come back soon!!


  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoBenetton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We are from Australia and we have had an amazing time here in Capri staying at hotel carmencita. The staff were wondering and very helpful, we were upgraded to a very clean and comfortable room. Great location and beautiful view over the pool. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edenwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#6 of 18 in Anacapri
356 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.5 mi away
Hotel Il Girasole
Hotel Il Girasole
#9 of 18 in Anacapri
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#15 of 18 in Anacapri
429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bougainville
Bougainville
#12 of 18 in Anacapri
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmencita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmencita

Property: Hotel Carmencita
Address: Via T De Tommaso 4c, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carmencita 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gem of the Gulf of Naples, for centuries Capri enchants for its wonderful combination of blue skies, landscapes, sea and light: an extraordinary mix of nature, art, culture and beau monde which have acclaimed the myth of the Island of Capri for its unchanged charm, still successful between tourists and visitors from all the corners of the World. The elegance of Capri, the fashion on Capri, the beautiful life style... are all statements with a common and unique denominator: the charming union between the landscapes of rare beauty and the warm and radiant atmosphere that filter into every aspect of daily life. A cup of coffee or an aperitif in the famous Piazzetta, great shopping opportunities in the typical shops and exclusive boutiques, a boat trip to discover the impressive Faraglioni and the prismatic colours of the Grotta Azzurra, a visit to the famous Villa of Axel Munthe and a romantic sunset on the beach: Capri is this and more...! In this charming and uncontaminated Paradise, the Hotel Carmencita is waiting for you, situated in a central location at short distance from the island's beaches and the local bus stops, and the most renowned tourist and cultural attractions, an ideal departure point for all the major touristic destinations of the Blue Island. The friendly and familiar atmosphere, the professionalism of the staff and the modern swimming pool will make unforgettable your stay in Capri. Hotel Carmencita provide free wi-fi connection in structure and in all rooms for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carmencita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmencita Hotel Anacapri
Hotel Carmencita Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing