We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay whilst on the Island!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alle Ginestre Capri Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 39 Anacapri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay whilst on the Island!”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My partner and I stayed here mid September and had a lovely experience. The rooms are a good size, good shower and are spotless. There is also air conditioning and hairdryer provided. My only complaint was there is only one mirror which is in the bathroom and as there are no windows in the bathroom it got very steamed up (and took over half an hour to desteam) so I did not have a mirror to get ready in front of.

Breakfast is basic but nice and Constanzo makes a lovely home made lemon cake! I don't drink coffee but my partner did not enjoy the coffee served unfortunately.

The location was fine or us (it is a 20/25 minute walk to the main part of Anacapri but 10/15 to the bus stop) but as the B&B is uphill the walk back would be too much for some people so bear this in mind.

Constanzo was very helpful and we did take advantage of his recommendation of a friend who arranges boat trips round the island. Even though expensive at 130 euros for 2 hours it is definitely worth doing rather than going on the cattle boats which looked pretty awful! We timed the tour so we arrived at the Blue Grotto around 5.30 (at this time you are able to swim inside-this was one of the best experiences of our entire 2 week Italy trip).

Constanzo recommended a couple of places to eat- one which I can't remember the name of (it is just by the main square bus stop on the main road) wasn't great but Da Gelsomina was just fantastic and a 5 minute walk from the B&B! You can watch the sunset from a good point not far after this place too.

Do make sure you get Constanzo to give you directions when you arrive- he will pick up from the final bus stop. You couldn't do the walk with suitcases!

Overall, great value for money compared to the hotels. Another tip- don't bother with eating in Capri, it is not at all good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    36
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
134
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I wish I had arranged to stay longer as I only stayed one night. The sea and lush vegetation make the scene so dreamlike. My only complaint is that because the road to get there is so steep, many taxis do not make the trip all the way so you have to call the owner who gladly picks up his guests. The rooms are perfectly clean and spacious.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetChic11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Our two night stay at Alle Ginestre was lovely! It is a great location - perfect for relaxing and wandering around Anacapri. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, updated and spotlessly clean. As other reviews have mentioned, Constanzo is very accommodating and makes sure everyone has what they need. Constanzo also drove us (an our luggage) to and from Piazza Vittoria at the beginning and end of our stay which was very helpful. The light breakfast complete with delicious homemade cakes, fruit and coffee was the perfect way to start our days.

We walked everywhere in Anacapri from Alle Ginestre – the viewpoints, restaurants, shops, the chair lift, and even down to blue grotto. Our first night we walked just down the street a bit for dinner at Da Gelsomina, which Constanzo recommended. It was also lovely and the perfect, relaxing end to a busy travel day.

It was a wonderful stay at Alle Ginestre and I would absolutely recommend staying there if you’re looking for a comfortable and beautiful space in Anacapri.

Thank you to Constanzo and family for welcoming us and making our stay in Anacapri a great one!

Shannon & Clark
San Diego, CA

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Verdes Estates, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Our family (with two teenage daughters) spent a terrific two nights at Alle Ginestre. Constanzo is indeed a wonderful host, and the setting of Alle Ginestre is exquisite. The room (we had a quad) was spotless and quaint. Constanzo's help in suggesting both what to do and with whom to do it was wonderful..he pointed us in the right direction both for the local restaurant (excellent) and the boat skipper to see the Blue Grotto (outstanding) as well as the rest of the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We spent 3 wonderful nights in this lovely guest house in July. The accommodation although simple was perfectly comfortable and spotlessly clean. The real plusses were the stunning views out over the Bay of Naples and the Island of Ischia (the sunsets are some of the most beautiful we have ever seen), the peaceful gardens and the most generous hospitality of Costanzo and Teresa who couldn't do enough for us - including Costanzo very kindly insisting on driving me to the hospital to have a small cut to my hand attended to and dropping us to the ferry on our departure - not to mention his legendary home baked cakes and limoncello!! Costanzo gave us great advice on where to go, what to do and where to eat. The personal attention we received really made this stay stand out from the other places we stayed in Italy - it was more like visiting with a family (and getting some insight into local life and culture) than staying in a B&B. Much is said in the reviews about the walk into in Anacapri - yes it's about 20-25 minutes max at a leisurely pace but we found it very manageable - most of the walk is along a flat well paved path which is very safe and well lit at night. Anacapri is well worth visiting and provides a nice contrast to the busier Capri.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bracken353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Easily the best 'value' in a B&B I've ever had. The price was very good (so good I was nervous that the photos were a scam!) but no worries at all - it is the real deal. We stayed in a small room for 3 (my wife, my sister-in-law, and myself). Our view of the med was perfect, the rooms were clean, with good AC, and comfortable beds. Breakfast was nice, with fresh fruit from the island, and some heavier fare for the non-italians who are stopping there.

We took a taxi who was willing to drive us 'almost' all the way up to the B&B - I'm told this is a *very* rare occurance - after we got there, the owner, Constanzo, was emphatic that we should have called them first, and he would met us at the town center of Anacapri and driven us up to the B&B, so that was our fault.

The only reason I don't give Alle Ginestre 5 stars is because it is located a little bit far from the center of Anacapri (about a 10 minute walk) and it is 'only' great comfort in the rooms.

The service is great (bar none) - Constanzo actually drove us down to Capri when we were leaving (normally a 20ish euro taxi ride) because he wasn't busy at the moment.

I would DEFINITELY stay at Alle Ginestre again, even vs places costing 2 times as much.

The main point I would make:

Contact the owner directly (even if you book through a website!) to arrange the 'best' way to the B&B when you arrive!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We had a great stay at Alle Ginestre. The Owner Constanzo is a great host and he gave us a bunch of tips on how to enjoy Capri on a cheap budget. We gave us advise on hikes and trails that lasted 3 hours, informed us that we can go swim into the Blue Grotta for free after 5 pm (which was amazing). Capri can get very expensive but thanks to Constanzo we did a lot more then a normal tourist would experience in Capri all for next to nothing. He also gave us tips on what restaurants to experience that have a good price and the food was amazing.

This B&B makes you feel like you are at home which is a great feeling to have when in Capri. You get to take it all in and experience the lifestyle of the locals. We had been on vacation for 2 weeks prior and he helped us with our laundry for free which was excellent. Free Wifi was a bonus as well. He also dropped us back at the Marina for no extra cost. The house is located up in the mountain side so you get to experience a great view with a sunset every single night. A normal Car/Taxi can't make it up the Mountain side so be sure to call Constanzo when you arrive in Anacapri so he can pick you up.

Thanks for the great stay. If and when we come back we will be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtech101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.1 mi away
Hotel Il Girasole
Hotel Il Girasole
#10 of 18 in Anacapri
344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#5 of 18 in Anacapri
361 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carmencita
Hotel Carmencita
#11 of 18 in Anacapri
332 reviews
1.0 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
928 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#14 of 18 in Anacapri
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alle Ginestre Capri Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alle Ginestre Capri Bed & Breakfast

Property: Alle Ginestre Capri Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via Migliera 53/a, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capri Bed and Breakfast a very special place to stay beautiful countryside of Capri. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alle Ginestre Capri Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alle Ginestre Capri Bed & Breakfast Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing