We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alle Ginestre Capri Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 42 Anacapri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in Alle Ginestre (a.k.a Le Ginestre) B&B last week. We enjoyed our stay very much in all angle.

We were advised to stop at Piazza Caprile for a pick up from the host (Mr Costanzo and his lovely wife) but instead we stopped at Piazza Victoria (as was told by the bus driver that this would be the last stop - which is 1 stop before Piazza Caprile). We called Mr Costanzo and he came in just 5 mins' time to pick us up :)

It is a small family run B&B with just 3 rooms and a bigger unit which he called it an apartment which is good for family with children. We were offered the green room which is at a corner with more privacy though it was a smaller room compared to the other 2. The room was spotless clean and the colour matching was superb. The bathroom was clean and pretty with hot shower. The host attend to little details even the rubbish bag matches the colour of the room (i know its not important, but it does show that he cares). Usually in B&B, there is no housekeeping. To our surprise, he made our room after we had a long day out.

The breakfast was good with croissants (with butter and jam, if you like), lemon/chocolate cakes, some other pastries, cereal and juices. Not forgetting the esspresso he offered to boost the day. The breakfast serve from 8:30am - 10:30am but he can cater for you at different time. We told him that we need to catch an early ferry to Naples upon check out. He offered us early breakfast and also to fetch us all the way with his car to the Marina Grande (ferry port) as he thinks we may not able to manage it with public bus. He even advise us to take a ferry to Sorrento instead as this would be nearer to Pompei (our next destination) and shorter ferry ride. We took his advise and indeed the stop at Sorrento was so pleasant as compared to Naples.

Ok, Costanzo only offers to pick up and drop off when we are with luggage (meaning upon check in and check out). So the other time we have to find out way to the town/bus stop which he gave us a very clear direction on how to get there. He showed us the actual site when we went pass in car upon pick up. It's about 15-20 mins walk (depending on individual speed) from the B&B to Piazza Caprile (for bus stop) or 20-25 mins to Anacapri town (shopping street). There are lots of walking in Capri/Anacapri on narrow path and steps. The path from the B&B to Piazza Caprile are mainly flat path and 3 flights of stairs (emmm... probably about 20 steps each or less). I had a knee op before and I dont find it tough. Just need to remember some landmark to bring you back to B&B especially when you return at night. The paths are well-lited with warm lights but if you have a torch light in your smart phone will be great as there are scooters using the same path though not often.

There are 2 lookouts near the B&B, which I think you should go. We went there to see the sunrise, walked out from B&B at about 6am. It was breathtaking. From viewpoint, you can see the Faraglioni rocks and the lighthouse. And many seagulls making their flights.

Hmmm, what i dislike? The only thing is that the floor tiles of the room is cold. It's also because we visited during the colder season (early April). Maybe the host can consider providing room slippers for the comfort ;)

All in all, it was a great stay and really grateful to Costanzo for his hospitality. We will definitely recommend to our friends and we will stay there again if we return to Capri.

Room Tip: Green room for the privacy ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful B&B and my friends and I enjoyed it immensely, but you have to know what you're getting into. In terms of rooms, cleanliness, service, and VIEWS, this B&B deserves 5 stars and then some. Personally, my friends and I have no complaints whatsoever because we did our homework and knew this was the type of place we wanted. However, there were some things that we wish we had known.

Accessibility: do not stay here if you are handicapped or have trouble walking (or become easily fatigued). While Castanzo is happy to drive you to Marina Grande upon departure (if he is available at the time), you cannot count on him. He has a family and this isn't that sort of place. The B&B is off the beaten path and about a 10-15 minute walk to Anacapri center. We walked it quite a few times at night and it's safe and well lit, but far. Taxis will not drive you any farther than Anacapri center so coordinate a meeting time and place with Castanzo ahead of time when you arrive or be prepared to walk with your bags:)

Location: This B&B is well removed from the bustle of the town centers. It's very quiet and private. Don't expect to have a wild time in the evenings here, but DO expect plenty of undisturbed R&R :)

Castanzo and his wife are incredibly sweet, they provide a key so you can come and go as you please, and serve an unparalleled spread each morning. Castanzo knows his island well and provides great tips for the best experience of Capri. He even tells you where to go to find a pool to escape the heat.

Like I said, we knew what we were getting into and loved this place so much. Regardless of the seclusion, we managed to have two of the wildest and fun nights of our whole trip while staying here and knew we could bank on excellent sleep when we got "home" at night:)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ananda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I wouldn't recommend to noone. It was inconvenient how taxi's wouldn't drop you off and pick you up from the hotel as it was out of the way. It was inconvenient as I was travelling with my parents, and my dad cant walk very well so we couldn't walk to the centre of Ana Capri as it was all up hill and down hill with unlevel ground and stairs. We had to depend on the owner to drop us off and pick us up on his own time and convenience. Had to leave this location with no refund and found another hotel right in the centre of Ana Capri which was beautiful, convenient, friendly, and the Ana Capri nightlife was right at your door step.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Benedetta02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Good room, Beautiful garden and very nice wiev. Good and big breakfast. 2 km to Villa Munthe, but a Lovely walk on narrow streets and stairs. Also a very short walk to a wievpoint facing the mediterrainen.
Advise, call the hotel about arrival and they will pick you up.!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolf J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had 3 nights at this beautiful B and B. The room was very clean, view was spectacular, and Constanzo's family was so nice. I would highly recommend this B and B. Constanzo gave us great recommendations for things to do, places to see, and restaurants. It was a short walk (about 15 minutes) into AnaCapri, and a 20 minute bus ride into Capri. This is a great hide away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Costanza and his family were terrific. He was a wealth of information. It would be helfpul if all this information were written down and in each room to refer back to, since you may be tired, as we were, when it was explained to us. Costanzo picked us up from the center of Anacapri when we called and shuttled us back when we needed to catch the bus back to Marina Grande. The room was a good size, bright and clean. The included breakfast had a pretty good variety of pastries, fruit and coffees. The size of our patio, which we shared with another couple was large and had a good view of the sea. A great place to relax and chill. Only down-side was the recommendation of the nearby Ristorante da Gelsomina. Overpriced, and food was not all good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent four delightful nights at Alle Ginestre. The rooms are immaculate, and the view from the patio, spectacular. Best of all, however, are the owner managers Costanzo and Teresa whose "simpatia" and generosity are unrivaled. They go out of their way to be helpful: during our visit, they kindly offered to do some laundry for us and took us to the port, both at no extra cost. Costanzo, Teresa, e Riccardo, grazie di cuore! Saluti anche a Crik! La prossima volta, Grotta Azzurra...:)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#5 of 18 in Anacapri
389 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.2 mi away
Hotel Il Girasole
Hotel Il Girasole
#10 of 18 in Anacapri
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
474 reviews
1.0 mi away
Al Mulino
Al Mulino
#6 of 18 in Anacapri
226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monte Solaro
Monte Solaro
#3 of 42 in Anacapri
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alle Ginestre Capri Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alle Ginestre Capri Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via Migliera 53/a, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Anacapri
Price Range: £108 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capri Bed and Breakfast a very special place to stay beautiful countryside of Capri. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alle Ginestre Capri Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alle Ginestre Capri Bed & Breakfast Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing