We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreaming of my return already!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Mariantonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Mariantonia
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dreaming of my return already!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Of all the hotels and places we travelled in Italy, this was our family favorite! A lovely family owned, small, quaint place with nice personnel. Located in the lovely Anacapri, away from the packed tourist area of Capri, but not remote from the activity of Anacapri's pedestrian town, shopping, hikes, ocean, chairlift, historical sites, bus transportation (which is so easy there!) and restaurants. All in very short walking distances. Marcello and Pierpaulo, two brothers of family owned hotel, Ravi, Luli, and Julio, all provided excellent service and enhanced our stay in Anacapri. Breakfast was served outdoors under a canopy, with a welcoming selection of croissants, ham, cheeses, yogurts, cereal, fresh tomatoes, homemade lemon and pumpkin jams, homemade lemonade (ask for a sprig of fresh lavendar to put in your lemonade!), homemade cakes, and all sorts of other delectables, and of course, any type of coffee, latte, cappucino, etc! We booked one Superior Double with Terrace, and one Double with Terrace room. They were both in the same hallway, with it's own entrance door, we felt like we had our own apartment. The Superior Double offered a lovely amount of space, The Double was fine for the teenagers. The bathrooms were spotless clean and new. Our shared terrace overlooked the small lemon grove and veggie/fruit garden below. Hammocks danced in the breeze under the lemon trees, as Julio or Ravi attended to our beverage needs! With information provided by Marcello and Pierpaulo, we enjoyed an adventure up the chairlift to the top of Anacapri, spectacular! Next time I'm bringing my hiking clothes to trek to the crucifix! We also went swimming at Faro, in the most majestic crystal clear deep sapphire blue water, amongst the huge rocks and cliffs. Marcello arranged a boat ride tour around the island, in which the guide, Gennaro, took us to all the grottos, and for a swim at the green grotto. Restaurants, wheew, the best food we had on our entire Italy trip, but we are partial to fish and seafood, and excellent pasta. All of Marcello and Pierpaulo's suggestions were spectacular. Ask about Ristorante Geranio in Capri, and plan to spend a couple of hours in advance to walk the prestigious shops and visit Augustus Gardens, and the cliffside walk to the ocean. Magnificent. We enjoyed taking a swim in the pool after a hot day to cool down, then back to the hammock, under the lemon trees, to read a book, sip lemonade...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iwanttoseeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    65
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
71
239
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

My daughter and i recently traveled to Italy to visit some relatives. As part of our trip we decided to spend a night in Capri. Having stayed in Capri Center the year before, I decided to try a new experience in Anacapri. I found Casa Mariantonia on the internet and saw that all the reviews were very positive. As is the case when traveling abroad, i reserved a room for one night without knowing much more about the hotel other than the pictures and the reviews. When we first arrived, we had a little difficulty finding the hotel but that was mostly due to me not having a detailed enough map. Once there, we laughed at how perfectly situated the hotel is to all of Anacapri and to the bus stops. When we were shown our room, i couldn't believe how beautiful the room was. I've traveled quite abit for business and pleasure and have never seen a cleaner room, especially bathroom, than the room we stayed in. The room had a beautiful terrace that overlooked a lemon tree garden with a partial view of the sea. In the back was a beautiful, very clean pool, that was recently built. Although we went to the Isle of Capri to see the sights and shop, i have to admit that the pool provided a wonderful break in the middle of the day to cool down and refresh. But, in my opinion, the best part of the trip was meeting the owner and her family. They are wonderful people who are truly happy to have you visit their island and make your stay at their hotel a pleasant stay. They speak very good English and go out of their way to make you feel like part of their family. If i ever get the chance to return to the Isle of Capri, i would stay there without hesitation. If you are like me and looking for a place to stay and relying on the reviews, then I hope you trust in mine because i don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouringPro78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

We picked Casa Mariantonia to spend the second half of our honeymoon. It was our first time in Capri. We were greeted with the most welcoming staff and the owners and when we checked into our room, we were sure that the experience would be remarkable. This newly refurbished/designed hotel features individually decorated Italial style spacious rooms with all the luxury you may require for your holidays. The owners have receommendations for any of your needs and they are all genuine.
The hotel is located in Anacapri, but you have the bus stop just accross the hotel and you are connected to the attractions of Capri within minutes.
And the wonderful smell of the lemon trees from the garden. Not to be forgotten!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank btufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

We've just returned from our honeymoon and this was one of the highlights of our trip! The whole family at Casa Mariantonia speaks nearly perfect English, but are fully immersed in Italian culture. In fact, the first lemoncello produced on the island of Capri was made from the lemons at the hotel. The brothers give excellent off-the-beaten-path adventure recommendations. If you're looking to avoid the crowds for which Capri is famous, ask for hiking recommendations, grab a bottle of water, put on some solid shoes, and prepare for spectacular view after spectacular view.

Enjoy a quaint breakfast on your balcony, including pastries, coffee, jams, and (if you request it) fruit, yogurt, and juice. The rooms aren't huge, but are comfortable and include ample closet space, a cozy bathroom (though not as small as many Italian hotel rooms offer). There is a computer in the front lobby and plenty of literature about Capri and what to do in the surrounding area.

Casa Mariantonia is located in the town of Anacapri, above Capri, and is quieter than the main town. For us this was a draw because we could go downtown to be around people, but when we were ready to rest, we returned to a quiet neighborhood. An added plus: upon arrival, one of the family members will pick you up in a car (free of charge) at the port and then help you understand the bus system to navigate the rest of your stay. Make sure you ask for a ride if you don't know your way around the island at first. It's not complicated, but it helps to get oriented with locals first.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinandnoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

We recently stayed for 3 nights at this lovely, charming B&B and frankly it wasn't long enough. I echo all the earlier positive reviews posted to this site (and more). The hospitality of the family surpassed our already high expectations. As I had been planning this trip for 18 months, it was hugely important that it all went well and I simply could not have asked for more. If you are considering Anacapri as your base, you could do no better. Save your money and experience Anacapri as it should be experienced - not in the confines of a 5-star so-called "luxe" hotel but in the warm embrace of an adorable family who will look after your every need. Pierpaolo, Marcello, Vivica and Ravi will restore your faith in human nature. It was a truly life-affirming experience and the Island itself takes some beating. Make the effort and you will be rewarded with some of the best views that Europe has to offer.

We are now back in london and somehow life seems rather flat in comparison (and I don't just mean literally either!)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Capri_lover2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

First time in Capri. we came for 3 nights. we have found Anacapri much better location than Capri. very central but less touristic. you can get with a bus any where. we do travel a lot and still were surprise with the warm hospitality. a family owned place. very warm and friendly. gave us very good recomodations to travel the island

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

We moved from another hotel in Anacapri to the Casa Mariantonia. The staff could not have been nicer and more helpful! This might not be the best place for a honeymoon-- since you can hear a lot of hallway noise -- but that may just be the room we were put into. If you can, request a room on the top floor or room 4. We were at the end, and didn't have much of a view and could hear a lot of kitchen noise. The restaurants the staff suggested were perfect-- and wonderful! They know the area, where to go, and how to get there. Anacapri is beautiful and the Casa Mariantonia is a great choice if you are going to stay there. The rooms were clean, bed was comfortable, breakfast was adequate (standard pastries) and staff exceptional-- just a bit of a disappointment that we didn't have a view from our room and that we could hear so much noise from the hall and the kitchen.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflowerdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.5 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.3 mi away
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
#3 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
1.0 mi away
Capri Wine Hotel
Capri Wine Hotel
#2 of 42 in Capri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mariantonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mariantonia

Property: Casa Mariantonia
Address: Via Giuseppe Orlandi 180, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Anacapri
#1 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Mariantonia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A MEDITERRANEAN BOUTIQUE HOTEL with a relaxed pace Here at Casa Mariantonia, our family believes that true luxury is in a warm and genuine welcome, in the attention to details, and in offering our guests an authentic taste of Capri.Surrounded by an extensive garden of citrus trees and lush Mediterranean flowers, Casa Mariantonia provides a true haven of tranquility, in the heart of Anacapri. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Mariantonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mariantonia Anacapri
Casa Mariantonia Hotel Anacapri
Casa Mariantonia Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing