We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Mariantonia: top class relax in Anacapri”
Review of Casa Mariantonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Mariantonia
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Casa Mariantonia: top class relax in Anacapri”
Reviewed 22 September 2010

If you want to spend a peaceful holiday surrounded by a picturesque landscape, then you arrived at the right place: Casa Mariantonia - located in the hidden paradise of Anacapri, on the top of the Island of Capri. Everything about Casa Mariantonia was just wonderful. Me and my boyfriend stayed in this lovely family run boutique hotel for one week and loved every minute of it! It simply made us fall in love with Italia!

Casa Mariantonia is not a typical hotel but rather a private residence where you feel home away from home thanks to the extremely friendly and helpful staff. Just one question about a simple dinner and you find yourself already in the most romantic and magnificient restaurants in the world (recommended by the staff). Pierpaolo and Marcello certainly made us feel like royalties.

The grounds are simply a paradise with lounge chairs, flowers and an oasis of lemon trees with hammocks everywhere. Overviewing these grounds and the sea, the rooms are very well designed and boost the ultimate Italian elegance. The breakfast is simply delicious, especially for its capuccino, croissants and its fresh fruits picked up directly from the family owned garden. Highly recommendable: the tomatoes and fresh lemon juice. Absolutely not to miss: a glass of wine around at the swimming pool, staring at the sunset!

Waking up with the wonderful scent of the lemon trees, watching the stars from the hammock in the oasis and falling asleep in this wonderful environment.... We shall return!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Selinese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    67
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
76
260
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

To put it simply, Casa Mariantonia was one of the best hotel experiences I have encountered throughout my years of travel. While it lacks the breathtaking cliffside vistas of nearby five star hotels, Casa Mariantonia is a fraction of the price, is clean, new, and has a beautful citrus grove and pool. Most importantly, it features friendly service that is clearly superior to that of other hotels.
Casa Mariantonia is a family-run hotel with a truly outstanding staff. Giulio and Ravi, who make up the poolside staff, are extrordinarily friendly and professional (and are, perhaps, the nicest hotel staff I have ever encountered). They are quick to provide you with tips about the island, fresh squeezed citrus drinks, home made marmalades and preserves, and the freshest local produce (i.e. delicious anacapri grapes, pears, and peaches). While at Mariantonia we felt more like we were on a relaxing visit with old friends rather than on a quick, three night layover during a sometimes frantic honeymoon tour.
Additionally, Marcello (who is a member of the family that runs Mariantonia) is a really cool and nice person who is very helpful in arranging anything from dinner reservations to train tickets. His siblings (their names escape me as I write this) are also kind, professional, and helpful. All can speak English fluently which is a great help when ones Italian skills need as much work as mine.
As for the premises, as I mentioned above Mariantonia is clean and attractive and the rooms are new. The showers are appointed with tubs and the bathrooms are well maintained. For Italy, the rooms are big and modern. There is a nice little lemon grove abutting the hotel in which one can enjoy a pleasant afternoon nap in a hammock strung between the trees. Afterwards, there is an inviting and modern pool in which one can cool off after a day under the hot Campanian sun. Additionally, there are ample lounge chairs surrounding the pool if working on your tan is your fancy.
To put it plainly, I wish I had booked more time at Mariantonia and my wife wishes I had booked our whole honeymoon there! It was better than we could have expected even after reading all of the glowing trip advisor reviews and it is perhaps the best value on the entire island of Capri. We certianly shall return when the opportunity presents itself again (next summmer, hopefully?) and when that time comes I will hopefully bring some home made wine for Marcello fit for human consumption!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TORINO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

the environment and the staff will make you feel home.You will have a chance to both relax and enjoy what capri and ancapri have to offer. Just ask for suggestion and they will make sure that you dont miss a thing.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIO85Torino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Of all the hotels and places we travelled in Italy, this was our family favorite! A lovely family owned, small, quaint place with nice personnel. Located in the lovely Anacapri, away from the packed tourist area of Capri, but not remote from the activity of Anacapri's pedestrian town, shopping, hikes, ocean, chairlift, historical sites, bus transportation (which is so easy there!) and restaurants. All in very short walking distances. Marcello and Pierpaulo, two brothers of family owned hotel, Ravi, Luli, and Julio, all provided excellent service and enhanced our stay in Anacapri. Breakfast was served outdoors under a canopy, with a welcoming selection of croissants, ham, cheeses, yogurts, cereal, fresh tomatoes, homemade lemon and pumpkin jams, homemade lemonade (ask for a sprig of fresh lavendar to put in your lemonade!), homemade cakes, and all sorts of other delectables, and of course, any type of coffee, latte, cappucino, etc! We booked one Superior Double with Terrace, and one Double with Terrace room. They were both in the same hallway, with it's own entrance door, we felt like we had our own apartment. The Superior Double offered a lovely amount of space, The Double was fine for the teenagers. The bathrooms were spotless clean and new. Our shared terrace overlooked the small lemon grove and veggie/fruit garden below. Hammocks danced in the breeze under the lemon trees, as Julio or Ravi attended to our beverage needs! With information provided by Marcello and Pierpaulo, we enjoyed an adventure up the chairlift to the top of Anacapri, spectacular! Next time I'm bringing my hiking clothes to trek to the crucifix! We also went swimming at Faro, in the most majestic crystal clear deep sapphire blue water, amongst the huge rocks and cliffs. Marcello arranged a boat ride tour around the island, in which the guide, Gennaro, took us to all the grottos, and for a swim at the green grotto. Restaurants, wheew, the best food we had on our entire Italy trip, but we are partial to fish and seafood, and excellent pasta. All of Marcello and Pierpaulo's suggestions were spectacular. Ask about Ristorante Geranio in Capri, and plan to spend a couple of hours in advance to walk the prestigious shops and visit Augustus Gardens, and the cliffside walk to the ocean. Magnificent. We enjoyed taking a swim in the pool after a hot day to cool down, then back to the hammock, under the lemon trees, to read a book, sip lemonade...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iwanttoseeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2010

My daughter and i recently traveled to Italy to visit some relatives. As part of our trip we decided to spend a night in Capri. Having stayed in Capri Center the year before, I decided to try a new experience in Anacapri. I found Casa Mariantonia on the internet and saw that all the reviews were very positive. As is the case when traveling abroad, i reserved a room for one night without knowing much more about the hotel other than the pictures and the reviews. When we first arrived, we had a little difficulty finding the hotel but that was mostly due to me not having a detailed enough map. Once there, we laughed at how perfectly situated the hotel is to all of Anacapri and to the bus stops. When we were shown our room, i couldn't believe how beautiful the room was. I've traveled quite abit for business and pleasure and have never seen a cleaner room, especially bathroom, than the room we stayed in. The room had a beautiful terrace that overlooked a lemon tree garden with a partial view of the sea. In the back was a beautiful, very clean pool, that was recently built. Although we went to the Isle of Capri to see the sights and shop, i have to admit that the pool provided a wonderful break in the middle of the day to cool down and refresh. But, in my opinion, the best part of the trip was meeting the owner and her family. They are wonderful people who are truly happy to have you visit their island and make your stay at their hotel a pleasant stay. They speak very good English and go out of their way to make you feel like part of their family. If i ever get the chance to return to the Isle of Capri, i would stay there without hesitation. If you are like me and looking for a place to stay and relying on the reviews, then I hope you trust in mine because i don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouringPro78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We picked Casa Mariantonia to spend the second half of our honeymoon. It was our first time in Capri. We were greeted with the most welcoming staff and the owners and when we checked into our room, we were sure that the experience would be remarkable. This newly refurbished/designed hotel features individually decorated Italial style spacious rooms with all the luxury you may require for your holidays. The owners have receommendations for any of your needs and they are all genuine.
The hotel is located in Anacapri, but you have the bus stop just accross the hotel and you are connected to the attractions of Capri within minutes.
And the wonderful smell of the lemon trees from the garden. Not to be forgotten!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We've just returned from our honeymoon and this was one of the highlights of our trip! The whole family at Casa Mariantonia speaks nearly perfect English, but are fully immersed in Italian culture. In fact, the first lemoncello produced on the island of Capri was made from the lemons at the hotel. The brothers give excellent off-the-beaten-path adventure recommendations. If you're looking to avoid the crowds for which Capri is famous, ask for hiking recommendations, grab a bottle of water, put on some solid shoes, and prepare for spectacular view after spectacular view.

Enjoy a quaint breakfast on your balcony, including pastries, coffee, jams, and (if you request it) fruit, yogurt, and juice. The rooms aren't huge, but are comfortable and include ample closet space, a cozy bathroom (though not as small as many Italian hotel rooms offer). There is a computer in the front lobby and plenty of literature about Capri and what to do in the surrounding area.

Casa Mariantonia is located in the town of Anacapri, above Capri, and is quieter than the main town. For us this was a draw because we could go downtown to be around people, but when we were ready to rest, we returned to a quiet neighborhood. An added plus: upon arrival, one of the family members will pick you up in a car (free of charge) at the port and then help you understand the bus system to navigate the rest of your stay. Make sure you ask for a ride if you don't know your way around the island at first. It's not complicated, but it helps to get oriented with locals first.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinandnoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.5 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
909 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
1.1 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.2 mi away
Melia Villa Capri Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
#3 of 18 in Anacapri
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mariantonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mariantonia

Property: Casa Mariantonia
Address: Via Giuseppe Orlandi 180, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Anacapri
#1 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Mariantonia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A MEDITERRANEAN BOUTIQUE HOTEL with a relaxed pace Here at Casa Mariantonia, our family believes that true luxury is in a warm and genuine welcome, in the attention to details, and in offering our guests an authentic taste of Capri.Surrounded by an extensive garden of citrus trees and lush Mediterranean flowers, Casa Mariantonia provides a true haven of tranquility, in the heart of Anacapri. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Mariantonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mariantonia Anacapri
Casa Mariantonia Hotel Anacapri
Casa Mariantonia Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing