We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A view to make you smile....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Sassolini
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Montevarchi
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A view to make you smile....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

My husband & I visited the Villa in April 2012, as part of a trip to Florence & Tuscany. What a wonderful find - and what terrific staff.

Special mention to George who looked after us beautifully at dinner each evening. Food was delicious. Company in this small, stylish hotel was fun.

Only 2 smallish things could improve the hotel - full size hairdryers and robes in each room.

Room Tip: You MUST request a room with a view / over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Littlejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    40
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
120
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

My husband and I went there for our honeymoon 4 years ago. Located in a middle of nowhere, on the hill of Tuscany, in a little village Moncioni this beautiful hotel is a real gem. The rooms are huge, the bathrooms modern and smart, the decor warm and cosy, the views spectacular. The staff is very helpful and attentive. We will definately come back one day!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Majaintulips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

After a week in the Tuscan hills in a self-catering property we enjoyed driving to Villa Sassolini and being spoilt. Very nice renovated building located in a small village outside of Montevarchi. We enjoyed our stay in a Double Deluxe and booked through Mr and Mrs Smith. While the room was lovely, very big and very tastefully decorated, we had no view and the room was quite dark. There was only quite a small window going out to the back of the house. The other guests were mostly honeymooners, maybe that made a difference in the choice of rooms.

The restaurant in the little park is lovely. We had very nice dinners there although beware of the mosquitos! Extremely romantic and great food. As the hotel is out of town in a very small village you definitely need a car to explore the surroundings. It would be a waste not to do so.

Very recommendable for couples if you want to stay in a quiet and romantic place but not too far away from the sights of Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

After driving for what seemed like ages through winding roads in the hills and mountains we arrived at Villa Sassolini... and it was wonderful! The architecture and decorations are at once quirky, beautiful, modern, and ancient - it's beautiful stone, glass, grays, whites, silvers, and textures and the hallways and stairs twist and turn, up and up.

The food and service are impeccable; and to accompany a wonderful dinner comes breathtaking views from the surrounding valleys and mountains. I only wish I could have stayed for more than 2 days!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank priskilly707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Villa Sassolini is absolutely perfect!

Location: It's situated on a hill top overlooking Tuscany and situated within one-hour of both Firenze and Siena. You can take a short drive and me immersed in the Chianti region for some fantastic wine-tasting or, if that isn't your thing, the Prada Outlet is just 10 mins away as well.

Ambience: My mother arrived after a long drive in from the Amalfi coast and were immediately enveloped by the warm, earthy feeling of the hotel. You can't help but be relaxed when you arrive. We stayed in Room 6 and the view was beautiful overlooking all the rolling hills of Tuscany.

Management & Staff: Wow! Wow! Wow! We stayed at Villa Sassolini for 3-nights and were completely taken care of by George and especially Andrea. One example of the level of service ... we had traveled to Florence one day and it was a rather cold & wet day so when we got back to the hotel the only thing we wanted were nice big bowls of soup to warm us up. Although this was not on the menu it wasn't even a question for Andrea ... our soup was served within 20 mins and was absolutely perfect!

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Tuscany!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CocoCoco75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Spent the last 3 nights of our Tuscany holiday here and found it a perfect place to relax. The subdues tones, stylist furniture and beautiful and, sometimes, quirky furnishings used throughout the hotel give it a calm and elegant atmosphere. Candles in the dining room and lounges at night added to the relaxing experience.

Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices and as the days were still warm, we were able to eat outside on the terrace. The dinner menu was varied and imaginative and the quality of the food and cooking very good.

Our room (no. 4) had amazing views over the garden and to the countryside and mountains beyond and was very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely with a generous walk in shower.

Best of all were the staff. Andrea, the Manager, and Romeo and George made us very welcome and were excellent hosts. We visited a medieval town recommended by Romeo and were not disappointed. We mentioned to Andrea that we loved fish and there was none on the menu so he offered to go to the market the following day and buy whatever we would like. We took him up on his offer and enjoyed fresh sea bass on our last evening.

This is a delightful boutique hotel where the staff are caring, knowledgeable about the area and treat you as friends. The attention to detail throughout the hotel was stunning and the location, though some may consider it a little remote, was beautiful.

If we have another holiday in Tuscany we will definitely book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views. They don't all have a bath but the showers are large and efficient. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytourist44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
98 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We had an amazing time! Service, food, rooms and location are just great! The manager Andrea was always around and gave us some advice for trips. We loved it and will definetely come back.

Room Tip: no elevator, so take low floor when you have difficulties to walk up the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelingyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montevarchi
4.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Valdarno
Hotel Valdarno
#1 of 3 in Montevarchi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
16.8 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sassolini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sassolini

Property: Hotel Villa Sassolini
Address: Strada Moncioni 85/88, 52025, Montevarchi, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Montevarchi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Montevarchi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
022 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Villa Sassolini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sassolini Hotel Montevarchi
Hotel Villa Sassolini Italy/Tuscany - Montevarchi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing