We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, great experience. Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Sassolini
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Montevarchi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, great experience. Excellent value”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Comfortable large rooms. Beautiful setting. Staff very nice and helpful, especially George.

Food delicious and reasonably priced. Hotel is isolated. Good for relaxing.

Only complain are the lounge chairs at the pool. They are pretty uncomfortable.

Overall great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Real919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    41
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
123
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

One Holiday company that takes its name from a husband and wife team would probably call this place shabby chic - chic it is but certainly not shabby. Get a sat nav to find the hotel (in hill top Moncioni west of Montevarchi) and be prepared for longish drives to visit any of Tuscany's well known tourist sites (Sienna, Arrezzo, San Gimignano). Off the beaten track it is - but the effort of getting there is worth it. Great views when you arrive, terrific service from Manager Andrea, perpetual motion George, Romeo and the team; nothing is too much trouble.
The hotel shows signs of sophistication (in a gentle way), charm by the bucket load and restrained elegance - there are clear stylish influences from the designer who converted this derelict village house in to to a top class hotel.
Rooms are all suites - plain and simple. Lots of room there is too, artful touches here and there and reliable plumbing (not a usual Italian strength we have found) !! Room 3 overlooks the small pool and beautiful garden, has the benefit of its own lounge and views down the valley - fantastic. The hotel itself has a small lounge with a well stocked library of anything art or hotels and is a great place to relax after dinner in a hotel where food is one of the strong points - breakfast is comprehensive, and dinner is divine.
Yes, the set dinner menu doesn't change much but if you are lucky enough to stay a few nights, challenge your taste buds, experiment and be rewarded with some terrific Tuscan fare. The wine list is strong on local Chianti Classico, but has plenty of choice from other regions. If you are lucky the team will offer you an off menu choice of your own - fish for us - which just adds to the thought that this is hotel that wants to please.
Villa Sassolini is an example of where the whole is most definitely greater than the sum of the individual parts. Sure, there are the odd gripes here and there (the pool is very small, not enough sunbeds for all guests) but improvise, relax and enjoy what is undoubtedly one of the best hotels in Tuscany.

Room Tip: Room 3 looks out over the valley and is a great place to wake up in !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at Villa Sassolini for 4 nights in May.

The Villa is positioned at the top of a hill in the small village of Moncioni. There is nothing more in the village other than a local shop so we felt to be in the real heart of Tuscany.

The Villa itself is gorgeous, a mixture of old and new with no detail left unthought of. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite at the top of the villa at the back so felt like our own tuscan hideaway.

Ours days started with breakfast on the terrace and were spent lounging by the pool or driving around the countryside discovering other villages and restaurants (only a light lunch is available at the hotel).

Andreas, the owner and manager, thinks of everything and is super helpful. The staff went out of their way to make us feel special. One morning my partner asked if there were pancakes at breakfasts to which he was told they did not know how to make. The next morning pancakes were sat waiting for him.

Dinner at the restaurant is very good with a fantastic wine list. Some nights dinner was served inside, some nights outside. My only recommendation would be that the menu changed more frequently as unless you are prepared to take on the narrow and winding roads at night this is the only dinner option. Having said that, the hotel did accommodate us by giving us 'off menu' options. George impressively waits on all tables single handedly.

A great base to unwind and explore the Tuscan countryside. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohannaSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed here for three nights for our honeymoon trip to Italy and we had the most amazing stay. The staff are fantastic, the rooms are brilliant and the food is just awesome. Everything is perfectly placed and lit and there is nothing you would want to change.

The owner Andrea(?) was delightful and was very helpful, George the waiter was just outstanding and provided an excellent service to everyone single handed, running from kitchen to table and bar to kitchen but only ever thinking of the customer, he was extremely good at his job!

One morning for breakfast I had a type of apple tart fresh from the oven and I asked if it was made by a member of staff and I was told "the lady who does the eggs made it this morning" so I would like her to know how yummy it was!!

Two nights we had the steak fillet and iv never had a steak that tasted that good, everything we tried was delicious!

Well done villa Sassolini, we hope to visit again one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e_bunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stylish villa decorated in a minimalist way. Unobtrusive sign on the entrance pillar masks the luxury inside. Food was VERY good. Wine selection was also good but a little expensive, we thought. The location in Moncioni requires a drive along winding roads, which can get tiring if you spend more than a couple of days here. This was the only drawback for us. Staff were courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vsylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I have travelled a lot around Italy and have to say that this is the best place I have ever been. Everything is perfect - the interior, the staff, the cleaning. I would particularly mention the bed - you really sleep well in it. The mattress, pillow and bed linen create a perfect combination for relaxed sleep. Andreas is very pleasant and always ready to help. The breakfast is very good too - you can choose among different types of cooked eggs (omelette, scrambled, etc) and accompany it with ham, cheese and fresh bread. Also you can have any coffee you want and it would be a really espresso or cappuccino, not 1 litter kettle with some brown liquid. We simply loved this place and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hindhead
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Spent five days here in Summer 2012 and would go back again and again! Beautiful small hotel villa that oozes style and sophistication. Very friendly and helpful staff who make you feel like a house guest rather than a paying traveller. Excellent location from which to explore the beauty of Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montevarchi
4.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
654 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Valdarno
Hotel Valdarno
#1 of 3 in Montevarchi
242 reviews
13.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
329 reviews
9.5 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
358 reviews
16.8 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sassolini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sassolini

Property: Hotel Villa Sassolini
Address: Strada Moncioni 85/88, 52025, Montevarchi, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Montevarchi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Montevarchi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
022 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Sassolini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sassolini Hotel Montevarchi
Hotel Villa Sassolini Italy/Tuscany - Montevarchi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing