We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed, great views, and fantastic host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Sassolini
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Montevarchi
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxed, great views, and fantastic host”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Felt compelled to write first review I've made on trip advisor- this hotel is just fantastic and Andrea is the warmest most attentive host you could wish for. A great honeymoon stop. Can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    40
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
123
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is definitely a hotel worth staying in.
Me and my husband were spending our honeymoon in Italy (oct.2013) and we planned to stay in several Boutique Hotels in Tuscany, Florence and Rome.
The hotel Villa Sassolini is cozy and has a very good taste on decoration. The food is incredible. We had dinner there 2 nights and it was by far the best tiramisu we had in Italy. Not to mention the food and wine, a Brunello de Montacilno Conti Costanti 2007 we tried there is in the top of our wine list and is a must try. Andrea, the manager of the Hotel was lovely and did us a great favour to ship our celphone, that we left behind, to the next hotel we were staying in without charging us anything. He also gave us an upgrade to an amazing room, number 10. George, the hotel's maitre, would always serves us with a smile, very polite and efficient, and would serve us breakfast on the terrace by the pool... The experience was unforgettable... The level of personalised service and hospitality made the difference. It's definitely worth the drive and we will go back soon! Grazie Mille Andrea & George!

Room Tip: if you have problem with stairs, stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The style of villa sassolini is very much that of a grandiose old villa which has been done up beautifully. You feel like someone has leant you their home for the week, very much hand off but always ready to lend a hand type staffing, few rooms means you are never fighting for a sunbed or the good table. Our room was stunning with a big four poster, open window to a valley view and well appointed modern bathroom with a serious power shower. The food was delicious with light salads and fabulous set menu dinner with local ingredients, actually better than most local restaurants we went to. It is not too hard to find with satnav, which I strongly recommend for that area of windy hills and few decent signposts! We did local shopping and riding stables, markets etc. relaxed by the pool and drank lots of chianti! I would love to stay here again as a couple but not recommended for families as the atmosphere is very relaxed and quiet. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bella b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We enjoyed our three night trip here as we managed to get away from the tourists at this remote spot. A small friendly boutique hotel, the room was lovely with a great view across the hills. From the pictures I had thought the hotel would be in the countryside but it is in a small village. Nice pool and gardens and areas for sitting. Food was also very good, on our last night they bought seafood for us specially which was a nice touch. George makes a mean Aperol spritz too!! Nice breakfast with the usual fayre plus eggs cooked to order if you wish. It is quite a drive from here to get anywhere but we actually preffered that as it felt less touristy. On our two days we did the pierro della francesca's in Sansepolcro and Arrezo and then a wine tour in Chianti. The chef was off the sunday we arrived, but we didn't want to head out that evening, Andrea kindly cooked us a spaghetti pomodoro which we had in our room. Nothing seems too much trouble for them here, you are well looked after.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmellasoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is our second trip back to this beautiful hotel and i cant wait for our next. Andrea, the hotel owner, remembered us from our first stay a year ago, and is a truly delightful host, helped by George who is also lovely. We were perfectly looked after in every way. It is the little touches that are important in a place like this. For example, Andrea taking the time to investigate and then email us answers to some of our very random questions about certain venues, during the day he knew we were visiting them!! But also, the hotel itself is totally charming. The rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The terrace and pool area are immaculately kept and a haven of peace! The living rooms/ library are cosy sanctuary and the restaurant is fantastic (though be sure to arrange in advance if you want to eat there since food is not necessarily served every day). Also, while the hotel is closed for the winter months, renovations are planned in time for next seasons opening, updating a few things within the hotel. Having said that, in a place like this, TVs that are not flat screen just dont seem to matter, since there are so many other special touches that make it well worth a 5 star rating.
Note that the hotel is out of the way and you really need a car (parking is easy) as I dont think there is much to do in the immediate surround, apart from a grocery shop opposite. But there are plenty of restaurants and bars within a 25 min drive. Also, importantly, the shoppers temples (!) are very close, the Prada outlet being 20 min or so away and "The Mall" around 40 min drive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadineabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Set in beautiful hills with a surrounding forest, Andrea, the General Manager of Villa Sassolini welcomed my wife and I very warmly from the get go. We loved walking from the hotel through the forest of hazelnut trees and olive groves to Starda, and spotted some deer on the way. We would have loved to have used the pool too, however the weather was too cold. The area is quite isolated but can be used as a great base to visit the wine areas of Chianti, and has some wonderful local food options in the surrounding hills.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My family spent 4 wonderful nights at the Villa Sassolini early this month. We would definitely return on our next visit to Tuscany. We would admit that it is close to nowhere. If your plans include visiting a number of the famous town/cities then you will spend a lot of time in a car. 15 Minutes from the nearest town (Montevarchi - which is not too far from the location of the Italian designer's outlet mall). The village of Moncioni is very small. However, the staff, restaurant and overall ambience more than makes up for the isolation. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was fantastic. We had 3 dinners there and were pleased with each one. The menu is somewhat limited but varied enough to offer different alternatives. The wine selection had a wide selection of local wines at different price levels. The breakfast offered a number of different breads, pastries, juices and cooked to order eggs as well as meats, cheeses and yogurt. The coffee was very good. The gardens are beautiful and the pool looked very inviting ( we didn't go in). The décor and finishing of the hotel is contemporary and done very well. Again, the location is a double edged sword but our party thought the quality of the experience was worth it and would go back again

Room Tip: This is an old building and the walls are thick. There were certain areas of our room where the Wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montevarchi
4.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Valdarno
Hotel Valdarno
#1 of 3 in Montevarchi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
16.8 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sassolini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sassolini

Property: Hotel Villa Sassolini
Address: Strada Moncioni 85/88, 52025, Montevarchi, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Montevarchi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Montevarchi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
022 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Sassolini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sassolini Hotel Montevarchi
Hotel Villa Sassolini Italy/Tuscany - Montevarchi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing